We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crab soup is delicios”
Review of City Lights

City Lights
Ranked #7 of 106 Restaurants in Cumberland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 1 June 2017

We asked a local (Amanda) who recom nded this restaurant. Boy, was she right! My wife had a bowl of their crab chowder. It was simply the BEST. Lots of crab, and a hint of sherry. It was so good, I was tempted to take some to go! I had the Mediterranian chicken wrap. Full of a seasoned chicken, feta cheese and olives wrapped in a roasted tomato tortilla. The only disappointment was a fairly mundane hamburger. We ate outside on a delightful day!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank russellp117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debra S, Owner at City Lights, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2017

Thank you so much for your kind words. We work hard to try to give our best and appreciate such a response.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (118)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 118 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2017

We sat in an outdoor area under a stand of trees in a pedestrian only area in the middle of Cumberland. Beautiful night and the location alone is worth the price of admission. Food was very good- they had a burger and beer special the night we were there and we were accommodated with vegetarian(mushroom ) burgers which were very good. Menu is varied and interesting. Nice spot, very good and friendly service. We'd definitely go back.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bene-Vino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debra S, Owner at City Lights, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2017

It is always great to know that our staff is listening to our customers needs. Believe it or not but the City leaders want to take out our beautiful trees and open the street to traffic. Of course, they know what is best for my business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2017

I had the stuffed mushrooms with sausage in a marinara sauce. YUM! We read the cheese board menu. Impressive, but since I really wanted the mushrooms we skipped it this time. I had an Angus cheeseburger with fries. The burger was good, except for the store standard tomatoes which were big, but as store tomatoes are, not exciting. The fries were great, warm crunchy on the outside, just great. The waitress kept our drinks filled constantly. And we got to watch the prom dinner dates come in ...

Thank Char M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debra S, Owner at City Lights, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2017

Thank you for the lovely review. We have very hard working and dedicated employees who we take a lot of pride in. We will share your review with them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2017

After exploring the downtown, we stopped in at City Lights for dinner. We had the Angus cheeseburger and the Angus shaved prime rib sandwich. Both were delicious, as were the stuffed mushrooms appetizer. The atmosphere is nice, but you can feel comfortable in blue jeans or prom gowns.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MikeM_inMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debra S, Owner at City Lights, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2017

Thank you for this lovely review. We try to make everyone feel welcome and your review is greatly appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2017

A nice place to relax and have a great meal. Outdoor seating available, two levels inside, a full bar. I chose the filet, and it was delicious and so tender, it almost melted in my mouth. Pleasant wait staff, service was quick and efficient.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Linder24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debra S, Owner at City Lights, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2017

Thank you for this lovely review. Our staff are wonderful hard working employees who take pride in their work. I am glad you had a nice evening.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed City Lights also viewed

 

Been to City Lights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing