We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Find - Relaxing and Close to Historic Ellicot City”
Review of The Wayside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Wayside Inn
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
“Great Find - Relaxing and Close to Historic Ellicot City”
Reviewed 6 July 2011

Wayside Inn was a lovely find for a quick get-a-way to Ellicot City. While not in the heart of the historic downtown area (there's no place to stay there as far as we knew), the Wayside Inn was just a few minutes drive away on a quiet street with plenty of off-street parking and a beautiful little pond and green grass to sit outside and enjoy a few minutes of nature. The staff were more than accomodating with my tricky dietary needs, asking questions to be sure they were serving me something I could eat but that was "special". And my husband and I agreed that the food was delicious. A great find and a place we would frequent again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank livestotravel_w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    2
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
73
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 May 2011

We came to The Wayside (Bed and Breakfast) for our anniversary and needed to relax and have no pressure. The room and jacuzzi were just what we needed. Champagne and chocolate covered strawberries on the back deck. The owner gave great recommendations for where to eat that night. The next morning we came down for a late breakfast and he let us take our time, there was no rush to check out. In fact, he left for an appointment and asked us to lock up when we left.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank berrybery5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2011

My husband & I celebrated our 6th Wedding Anniversary at the 'Gorgeous' Wayside Inn in Ellicott City, MD. The Wayside Inn is a Historic, Luxurious 18th Century Home and the first Bed & Breakfast we've ever experienced! Let me tell ya, we were NOT disappointed! We selected this Bed & Breakfast based on their website and the reviews of other guests. The Inn is beautiful, warm, cozy & the accomodations were wonderful! We received superior customer service! These days, as we all know...that is rarer than a bald eagle! We were spoiled by the Innkeeper, David from the moment we met him.

Next there was the breakfasts!!! If ANYONE raves about someones cooking, you got my attention! LOL! So that was a contributing factor in us selecting this Maryland Bed & Breakfast! I totally agree with the other people who said David was an EXCELLENT Chef and Susan was a marvelous hostess! David started us off with a "Sunshine Cocktail," which included yogurt, fresh strawberries, blueberries, grapes, pineapples & granola!

Our next course, David served us Country sausage with French Toast marinated in Buttermilk(?)...MAN! Was it GOOD! It left me craving for more!

They even had a Flavia coffee & tea maker with its on-demand selection of many coffees and teas on the second floor for guests to use anytime.

We later ventured into Historic Ellicott City to "walk-off" that Fabulous breakfast...lol...No, but to take in the sites and puruse some antique shops.

Sunday's breakfast was a tasteful Egg Souffle' with grilled ham and a warm croissant...Yum Yum!!!

Innkeeper/Owners Dave & Susan Balderson have owned the Inn since 1998. All aspects of our stay was absolute perfection from beginning to end. (If you stay in the Terrace Room in the summer time be prepared to use the Fireplace as it gets a little chilly down there.)

Although the rate we paid was $209 a night, it is on the high end, but in our opinion you get what you pay for and we thought it was well worth our hard earned money. So if you wish to experience a wonderful stay that will SPOIL you with hospitality and delicious food make a reservation for the Wayside Inn soon!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AuntBunny65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Big Sky, Montana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2011

Warm and friendly hosts, beautiful and interesting B & B, quiet and secluded yet easily accessible. It was the perfect place to stay when visiting in the Baltimore area.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snowmaxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Churchton, Maryland, USA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2010

We eloped to Ellicott city in September of '95. We celebrated our 15 year anniversary returning to the city in which we were wed. We stayed in the "Ellicott Room" at The Wayside Inn. The room was awesome, the service was awesome and it was only 2 miles from historic Ellicott city. I highly recommend this B & B to anyone wishing to explore the beauty and wonder of Ellicott City Maryland.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BetsyMonaghan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ellicott City
1.9 km away
Residence Inn Columbia
Residence Inn Columbia
#2 of 2 in Ellicott City
128 reviews
2.5 km away
Sonesta ES Suites Columbia
3.6 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Columbia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Hampton Inn Columbia
Hampton Inn Columbia
#4 of 12 in Columbia
444 reviews
4.6 km away
Sheraton Columbia Town Center Hotel
8.7 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Columbia / South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wayside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wayside Inn

Property: The Wayside Inn
Address: 4344 Columbia Rd, Ellicott City, MD 21042-5910
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Ellicott City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Ellicott City
Price range (per night): RM755 - RM1,012
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Wayside Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two hundred years of history await you at the Wayside Inn. Conveniently located in historic Ellicott City, Maryland, and within a short drive of either Baltimore or Washington, D.C., the Wayside Inn is the perfect place for you to escape to the past. A historic building providing modern amenities and fabulous, full breakfasts combine for an unforgettable escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Wayside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing