We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a quick getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rocky Gap Casino Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Flintstone
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2017

We enjoyed our time at Rocky Gap. Our room was very nice, with an enjoyable view of the lake and 1st tee. The casino wasn't friendly but I came out a little bit ahead. Thoroughly enjoyed the various firepits outback, great place to meet people for interesting conversation, and a few drinks. The registration process could be tweaked...a place this size could certainly have more than 3 registration stations. We checked in around 6 PM, the woman in front of us was told her room wasn't ready yet...REALLY?? Check-in starts at 4PM. Personally, we had no problems with check-in or our 3rd party reservation. The breakfast buffet had a good selection..from fruit and yogurt to chicken fried steak and MTO omelets. We will definitely return and bring some friends!

Room Tip: Try for a room on a higher floor (3 and up)
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anitabliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,238)
There are newer reviews for Rocky Gap Casino Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 31 of 1,239 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2017

The setting is gorgeous. The room was comfortable, and we appreciated having a fridge and a microwave. Lots to do...if you are not a gambler, there is a small sand beach (sunbathing only, no water access), boat and paddleboard rentals, a combination indoor/outdoor pool with a hot tub, a spa and gym, and golf. The entrance to the state park is right next door, complete with a large beach and swimming area. I wish that there were more restaurants nearby, we felt kind of tethered to the hotel for dining, but that is not the fault of the resort. We are not into the buffet thing, and the steakhouse looked kind of blah for the prices they were charging, so we stuck with the sports bar. The food there was decent, and they offered indoor and patio seating, which was nice. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017

My wife and returned from a three day visit to the Rocky Gap Casino Resort. I had read reviews by others advising of an average visit, and I would have to say I would agree with them.

Upon our arrival we pulled into the entrance area and was met by several young valets. As I removed our bags from the car, I also removed a small cooler containing several soft drinks, a few bottles of ice water, and a bottle of champagne. We were told that only "6 pack" size coolers were allowed. Somewhat dismayed at this regulation, I put the cooler back in the SUV and removed the bottle of Champagne to put in my luggage. I was then quickly told that no outside alcohol was allowed. Now, I have been to hotel resorts all over the country (ie. New York,Miami, Las Vegas, etc.) I have never been denied the opportunity to bring in a bottle of wine or champagne to our room. Somewhat disheartening.

The room we were issued was nice and roomy. It included a refridgerator, microwave and in room safe. All, very nice. The staff at the various restaurants were also extremely pleasant. One strange instance occurred when we returned from a day in Cumberland around 2:30 pm. We found the room still unmade. I asked a maid nearby if we could expect it to be cleaned shortly. She replied she thought so, but could do our next if we wished. We agreed and went downstairs to have a drink at one of the restaurant bars. When I asked for a drink I was told the bartender was on break and should return shortly. They did offer to go get her, but, not willng to disrupt her break, I advised we could wait. Well 5 minutes became 10 minutes, Again they offered to go get her, but I am amazed that during a busy afternoon (there were a number of customers having a late lunch) there was only one person who could tend bar.

We also noticed a number of stains in the hallway capet leading up to our room. Not very inviting.

The casino was very nice. Also pleased to see that no smoking was permitted in the facility. The dealers at the roulette tables were very friendly and entertaining. Glad to see that for most of the night there was only a $5 minimum at the table. You did have to pay for your drinks, but at just $5 that was fine. My wife advised that the slots were very "tight" and she went though her daily allotment pretty quickly. I guess she was spoiled by Vegas.

We went into downtown Cumberland the first evening to walk arould and was surprised to see not many visitors on the walking mall area. Tuesday morning we went to the Canal St. area to rent bikes for a bike ride on the C&O Canal. Afterwards we had lunch at the Crabby Pig next to the bike shop and had a very enjoyable lunch. However while talking to a waitress, we learned why tourist traffic in downtown Cumberland was so slow. Crime and drugs! She mentioned that a number of shops that had been there for years had recently closed. She advised against walking downtown at night. This same advice was give to me on Wednesday morning while playing golf at the resort, by a playing partner who was also local to Cumberland. So, my advice would be it may be okay to visit Cumberland during the daytime, but avoid going downtown at night.

Overall I would give the resort 3 stars; (the golf course, although a bit pricy for the area was very nice). My wife enjoyed her spa treatment. Not sure if we would return. We'll have to think about that.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dwalters872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2017

Upon arrival, I was surely inspired by the beauty of the landscape, the view of lake, and just the simple, and serene beauty. Unfortunately, I did not experience the same level of awe when it came to my room (217). Quite pricey, I did not expect that I would experience a slow/broken drain in sink which mad brushing teeth etc, a plain hassle. Bed was broken or not sitting properly as it dropped to floor as I got into bed for the night. Never, not even in a Super 8 motel, have I experienced anything similar. In regards to Casino, the slots were tight, and not many good games. I believe that the machines may be rigged for the rich, or rather, the exclusive resort club members to win something...thus, the reason you may read a review where someone stating the slots paid off. No one was winning anything around me. This was an highly anticipated getaway, a break from business I needed for months. I could have gone anywhere, but, really thought I'd enjoy it here. I recommend only for the rich or well off, not for those who would frequent all the other well known casinos I need not name.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank C T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017

Stayed two nights, Friday and Saturday night, on a mailed offer. Unable to check in a little early (about 90 minutes), arrived a little sooner after 4 hour ride:

-Had issue with free slot play. It was loaded to player card because I was never told by two employees (one at guest check in and next day at cashier) that it would expire at midnight the day it was loaded (I was trying to save til last day of trip).
-Casino a little on the tight side (machines).
-Property in very nice condition, inside and out.
-Room basically clean but but saw some issues that I overlooked (and so did housekeeping apparently)
-A lot of young employees at front desk, cashier cage, floor servers and servers at Signatures. I have been in customer service all my life, whether your in a tipped position or not you have to at least smile and make it seem you are happy to see the customer. Plenty of days I didnt want to be at work but once you clock in you have to "flip the switch" and go into customer service mode. I rarely saw a smile or pleasantry while at the property and especially at Signatures. The girls were walking around like they were being held hostage. The only smile I saw was the bar manager who made the forced smile when making eye contact with customers, which is better than nothing so I give her that.

Overall its a nice property with some very nice features which may have outgrown itself by the looks of the crowd over the weekend. Also other than the pool and some outdoor activities, I was surprised at the number of kids on property. Not sure if property is suitable for little ones and what was offered, it seemed more of an adult facility. Some families may have been from the State Park next door, I'm not sure. One kid we noticed was at the pool practically ALL DAY and that's where most of the kids seemed to hang out. But the pool opens up to a bar and outdoor sitting area so there was alot of yelling and wandering tikes. Maybe adult swim time could be considered.

Have visited several times and enjoy property, just feel like employees could be more welcoming and happy to see the customers (on this visit).

Room Tip: Handicap room at the end of a very long hallway. If your in a wheel chair or have a hard time gettin...
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank rlgman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flintstone
5.9 km away
Sleep Inn & Suites Cumberland
10.3 km away
Ramada Cumberland Downtown
Ramada Cumberland Downtown
#3 of 4 in Cumberland
639 reviews
10.8 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 km away
Best Western Braddock Inn
37.6 km away
The Country Inn of Berkeley Springs
The Country Inn of Berkeley Spri...
#2 of 4 in Berkeley Springs
187 reviews
16.7 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 5 in LaVale
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocky Gap Casino Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocky Gap Casino Resort

Address: 16701 Lakeview Rd NE, Flintstone, MD 21530-1059 (Formerly Rocky Gap Lodge and Golf Resort)
Region: United States > Maryland > Flintstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Flintstone
Price Range: RM491 - RM813 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rocky Gap Casino Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A popular resort that promises cozy comfort in the woods - it is situated in the heart of Rocky Gap State Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Rocky Gap Casino Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocky Gap Lodge And Golf Hotel Flintstone
Rocky Gap Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing