We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$114
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$94/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Charlie's Motel(Frostburg)(Great Value!)
US$50
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$250
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$50
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$54
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$63/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$50
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (92)
Filter reviews
92 results
Traveller rating
45
29
15
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
45
29
15
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoal minehistoric hotelthe gapchain hotelsold jailthe great allegheny passage bike trailadjacent restaurantquaint townoak staircaseroom was comfortable and cleanwithin walking distancerestaurants and barsbike storagehot waterdesk clerkhotel lobbychecking in
Filter
Updating list...
86 - 91 of 92 reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2009

This is a beautiful hotel that feels like home. We stayed this past weekend and had a beautiful pink and white room. It was so clean, not a speck of dust. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. This cannot be compaired with the chain hotel/motels in the area. It is beautifully decorated and puts you in a festive mood as soon as you walk in the door. Restaurants are so close, you don't have to drive anywhere. The Princess Diner across the street is a great value and the food is very good.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Dancer52_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2009

My husband surprised me with a weekend getaway, and chose the Failinger Hotel Gunter knowing how much I love Victorian Inns and furnishings. I loved it from the first second that I entered into the basement doorway. It was creepy, but in a wonderful way that made it seem as if I was walking into an enchanted manor house of sorts. I loved the furnishings and Victorian decor. There was a decorative surprise around every corner, lots of hidden nooks and crannies. The staircase in the front lobby is nothing short of breathtaking. I loved my room. It is true that all of the larger chain amenities are absent, but who cares? This hotel offers so much more in charm and elegance, and is comfortable and cozy too. The staff were terrific and warm and friendly. I would definitely go again, and recommend it to my friends and family.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank VickyVictorian5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2008

I just returned from a trip to frostburg university for my son's orientation. feeling overwhelmed with this new experience. I picked a hotel within walking distance to the college.The Failinger Hotel Gunter. It is decorated in victorian style There are only about 14 guest rooms for rent.the others are apartments where people live all the time. It is a 4 story building.It has two porches 1 on the 2nd and 3rd floors. they over look the main street. they are a great place to sit in the evening and enjoy the breeze. The room we stayed in was so pretty.It had two double beds. with pink comforters and a white canopies over the beds. The room was done in pastels. I had such a home like feeling.It felt like i was staying at a friend or relatives guest room.It did not have the cold generic feel of the chain hotels. The staff was so friendly. They know there guest by name. They take time to talk with you with genuine interest in you. They also have a nice continental breakfast. if you are looking for contemporary flash this is not for you.If you want to stay somewhere that feels like home away from home than this place is for you.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank belinda1534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2007

Charming Main Street USA hotel. Feels like you stepped back in time.Rooms are clean and decorated shabby chic.Doesn't have all the big hotel extras. They however do offer a very nice light breakfast for guests. If you don't want to eat there they are conveniently located across from The Princess diner which is another step back in time. Reasonably priced rooms. Extremely quiet. In a very safe quaint college town. The museum however is a bit creepy,dusty, and musty and located in the basement.Makes it a bit eerie when entering the hotel after hours.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
6  Thank debrameg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2007

This hotel fits right in with the rest of Main Street, Frostburg. It's not luxurious and is a little quirky in its Victorian decor. The service here was very nice and I will stay here again. Since it is on Main Street, most everything is in walking distance. I felt perfectly safe coming and going in the evening. I did wonder if it is haunted, in good way. There is an interesting museum in the very lower level. Different and interesting. If you want all of the creature comforts of the chain hotels, this might not be a good place for you. It's more local and I enjoy it for that.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank travel-food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews