We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“interesting place on the quiet Main St of town”
Review of Gunter Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gunter Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Frostburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 May 2010

The Gunter is an old fascinating hotel loaded with antique furnishings, and people! There are 19 apts in addition to the hotel rooms. It appears the residents are quite elderly. our rooms 308 and 309 were adjoining, quiet , down a long hall on the third floor. Beds were okay, could use updated mattresses... but the decor was ...... fanciful! One room had white netting canopied over the beds! Told that each room was decorated in a different style. Bathrooms small but adequate. morning light was awfully bright due to inadequate window coverings. I needed to use a computer, and was sent to the local library a block away. Breakfast was included, and decent! fresh fruit salad & homemade muffins. Nice big lobby to hang in. Bike storage was inside the front door .

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank loveitoutdoors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (89)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

83 - 87 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2009

This is a beautiful hotel that feels like home. We stayed this past weekend and had a beautiful pink and white room. It was so clean, not a speck of dust. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. This cannot be compaired with the chain hotel/motels in the area. It is beautifully decorated and puts you in a festive mood as soon as you walk in the door. Restaurants are so close, you don't have to drive anywhere. The Princess Diner across the street is a great value and the food is very good.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Dancer52_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2009

My husband surprised me with a weekend getaway, and chose the Failinger Hotel Gunter knowing how much I love Victorian Inns and furnishings. I loved it from the first second that I entered into the basement doorway. It was creepy, but in a wonderful way that made it seem as if I was walking into an enchanted manor house of sorts. I loved the furnishings and Victorian decor. There was a decorative surprise around every corner, lots of hidden nooks and crannies. The staircase in the front lobby is nothing short of breathtaking. I loved my room. It is true that all of the larger chain amenities are absent, but who cares? This hotel offers so much more in charm and elegance, and is comfortable and cozy too. The staff were terrific and warm and friendly. I would definitely go again, and recommend it to my friends and family.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank VickyVictorian5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2008

I just returned from a trip to frostburg university for my son's orientation. feeling overwhelmed with this new experience. I picked a hotel within walking distance to the college.The Failinger Hotel Gunter. It is decorated in victorian style There are only about 14 guest rooms for rent.the others are apartments where people live all the time. It is a 4 story building.It has two porches 1 on the 2nd and 3rd floors. they over look the main street. they are a great place to sit in the evening and enjoy the breeze. The room we stayed in was so pretty.It had two double beds. with pink comforters and a white canopies over the beds. The room was done in pastels. I had such a home like feeling.It felt like i was staying at a friend or relatives guest room.It did not have the cold generic feel of the chain hotels. The staff was so friendly. They know there guest by name. They take time to talk with you with genuine interest in you. They also have a nice continental breakfast. if you are looking for contemporary flash this is not for you.If you want to stay somewhere that feels like home away from home than this place is for you.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank belinda1534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2007

Charming Main Street USA hotel. Feels like you stepped back in time.Rooms are clean and decorated shabby chic.Doesn't have all the big hotel extras. They however do offer a very nice light breakfast for guests. If you don't want to eat there they are conveniently located across from The Princess diner which is another step back in time. Reasonably priced rooms. Extremely quiet. In a very safe quaint college town. The museum however is a bit creepy,dusty, and musty and located in the basement.Makes it a bit eerie when entering the hotel after hours.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
6  Thank debrameg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frostburg
37.9 km away
The Lodges at Sunset Village
2.4 km away
Hampton Inn Frostburg
Hampton Inn Frostburg
#1 of 6 in Frostburg
500 reviews
2.3 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Frostburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 km away
Best Western Braddock Inn
19.7 km away
Casselman Inn
Casselman Inn
#1 of 2 in Grantsville
78 reviews
38.2 km away
Inn At Deep Creek
Inn At Deep Creek
#1 of 3 in Oakland
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gunter Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gunter Hotel

Address: 11 W Main St, Frostburg, MD 21532-1384 (Formerly Failinger's Hotel Gunter)
Region: United States > Maryland > Frostburg
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Frostburg
Price Range: RM353 - RM535 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Gunter Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1896 and opened on New Year's Day in 1897, the historic Gunter Hotel is currently under new ownership and being renovated and restored. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Gunter Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Failingers Hotel Frostburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing