We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stopped for late lunch”
Review of Savage River Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Savage River Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Frostburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 13 November 2017 via mobile

We had read about the Lodge and needed lunch traveling home to visit family. We were very pleased at the menu here - lots of interesting choices. My husband got a meatloaf sandwich, wrapped in bacon with an excellent barbecue sauce. He loved it! I got the blended burger - mushrooms and beef. It had local goat cheese, roasted tomatoes, onion and fennel marmalade and a barbecue sauce. It was the most flavorful burger that I've had in a long time. This recipe has been entered in the James Beard blended burger competition, and it should win. It is amazing. Side salad was also really tasty with a house made cucumber ranch dressing. Too full for dessert, but there were some nice options. Dining room is comfortable and elegant and our server was attentive and cheerful. We had a great lunch and enjoyed the drive to the Lodge. We would love to come back to stay in a yurt!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank kt-pintail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (412)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 412 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2017 via mobile

Wow... they have nailed it! Beautiful facilities, incredible staff and delightful owners. Subtle touches throughout. This is not a fussy place, and the quaint and rustic appeal made for a welcoming and relaxing weekend. The food was out of this world... One word. MEATLOAF!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank CJ C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2017

We stayed in a cabin and enjoyed a great dinner at the lodge. It is a great place to go when you want to get unplugged. Delicious muffins and juice at our cabin door for breakfast. Lots of thoughtful touches such as a flashlight on the cabin key ring.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Joan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily N, General Manager at Savage River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2017

Hello Joan V,

Thank you so much for the great review! We really appreciate you taking the time and are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay!

Emily

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2017 via mobile

We rented a yurt to celebrate our 19th anniversary. The yurt did not disappoint...we loved the design, the wood stove, the comfortable chairs and couch, and the king sized bed. We enjoyed hearing the rain fall on the canvas and the wind blow in the trees. We liked walking through the woods on trails that were seconds away from our front door.

We had dinner in the lodge both nights. The first night everything went smoothly. Good wine, good service and the food was delicious. Only complaint is server didn’t seem to have even a basic knowledge of the beers on tap other than their names.

The second night at dinner was a totally different experience. Our server seemed to be not properly trained. I ordered the draft cider I had heard about the previous night. After several minutes he came back and asked if I wanted the cider hot or cold. Huh? I said I was expecting a draft cider which of course would be cold and he said no, it comes out of a jug. I gave up and ordered wine. On the way out we looked at the bar and indeed saw a cranberry cider on tap that I would’ve enjoyed. Once we ordered the wine and appetizer we got the wine but waited and waited and waited for our appetizer. It took 45 minutes for that even as we watched diners who came in after us get their appetizers. So it really just wasn’t a pleasant experience especially for what we paid.

Overall we would love to come back and probably will. The relaxing atmosphere and convenience of the restaurant were just what we wanted. But for the price I would think a couple small changes would go a long way. First, with the muffins...pats of butter or a mini jar of jam should be standard at a place with this price point. Second, the basket should include additional coffee creamers. We were fighting each other for the last creamers. A couple sets of silverware in the sink area would be nice. And finally, additional staff training at the restaurant. For such a pricey place and good food the servers should be knowledgeable about what they are serving. They were friendly but just didn’t seem to have the info they needed.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2017 via mobile

Just had a wonderful weekend in one of the luxurious cabins at savage river. The cabins are comfortable with a soft bed and roomy bathroom. They are one bedroom lofts with a pullout sofa for another couple. There isn’t a kitchenette but there is a separate sink and counter for coffee and hot chocolate. The bathroom is spacious. The porches are wide and perfect for watching time pass. The best part is the cabins are dog friendly. Apparently the yurts are not. But there are multiple small amenities and details they do to cater to your dog. A muffin and orange juice is delivered to your door in the morning and includes dog biscuits.
Will definitely be back. And definitely bring the dogs again.
If it’s important to you - there are no TVs and Internet is spotty but it just contributes to actually stopping and enjoying being with others and nature.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Christina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frostburg
8 km away
Gunter Hotel
Gunter Hotel
#2 of 6 in Frostburg
89 reviews
30.3 km away
The Lodges at Sunset Village
16.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites La Vale - Cumberland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 km away
Hampton Inn Frostburg
Hampton Inn Frostburg
#1 of 6 in Frostburg
500 reviews
8.5 km away
Allegheny Trail House B&B
Allegheny Trail House B&B
#2 of 3 in Frostburg
20 reviews
30.8 km away
Lake Pointe Inn
Lake Pointe Inn
#1 of 2 in McHenry
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savage River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savage River Lodge

Address: 1600 Mount Aetna Rd, Frostburg, MD 21532-3817
Region: United States > Maryland > Frostburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Frostburg
Price Range: RM1,037 - RM1,085 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort - Privacy - Relaxation. We often hear these words when people talk about the Savage River Lodge. Nestled within more than 700 acres of Western Maryland's Savage River State Forest, the lodge is a peaceful retreat from a busy world. Once you're here, you'll find all the elements of relaxation and comfort--fantastic food, sink-into accommodations, your own private cabin, and exceptional hospitality. Whether you prefer to watch nature from your rocking chair or spend your day in pursuit of your favorite outdoor activity, you'll take home the spirit of the forest...and the Savage River Lodge. Our eighteen luxury cabins and the nearby lodge building, surrounded by the forest, convey a rustic, lived-in comfort. Our amenities and appointments, however are decidedly upscale and infused with a genuinely friendly and relaxed hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Savage River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savage River Hotel Frostburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing