We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$90
US$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$94/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Charlie's Motel(Frostburg)(Great Value!)
US$50
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$54
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$63/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$53
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (432)
Filter reviews
432 results
Traveller rating
289
88
29
15
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
289
88
29
15
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmeatloafsavage riverdog biscuitswheel driveloft bedroomheated floorseach morningmountain retreatbreakfast muffinsgas stovepeace and quietfly fishingwestern marylandrelaxing weekendcross country skiingselect registrysmall refrigerator
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 432 reviews
Reviewed 12 November 2017 via mobile

Wow... they have nailed it! Beautiful facilities, incredible staff and delightful owners. Subtle touches throughout. This is not a fussy place, and the quaint and rustic appeal made for a welcoming and relaxing weekend. The food was out of this world... One word. MEATLOAF!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank CJ C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2017

We stayed in a cabin and enjoyed a great dinner at the lodge. It is a great place to go when you want to get unplugged. Delicious muffins and juice at our cabin door for breakfast. Lots of thoughtful touches such as a flashlight on the cabin key ring.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Joan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily N, General Manager at Savage River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2017

Hello Joan V,

Thank you so much for the great review! We really appreciate you taking the time and are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay!

Emily

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2017 via mobile

We rented a yurt to celebrate our 19th anniversary. The yurt did not disappoint...we loved the design, the wood stove, the comfortable chairs and couch, and the king sized bed. We enjoyed hearing the rain fall on the canvas and the wind blow in the trees. We liked walking through the woods on trails that were seconds away from our front door.

We had dinner in the lodge both nights. The first night everything went smoothly. Good wine, good service and the food was delicious. Only complaint is server didn’t seem to have even a basic knowledge of the beers on tap other than their names.

The second night at dinner was a totally different experience. Our server seemed to be not properly trained. I ordered the draft cider I had heard about the previous night. After several minutes he came back and asked if I wanted the cider hot or cold. Huh? I said I was expecting a draft cider which of course would be cold and he said no, it comes out of a jug. I gave up and ordered wine. On the way out we looked at the bar and indeed saw a cranberry cider on tap that I would’ve enjoyed. Once we ordered the wine and appetizer we got the wine but waited and waited and waited for our appetizer. It took 45 minutes for that even as we watched diners who came in after us get their appetizers. So it really just wasn’t a pleasant experience especially for what we paid.

Overall we would love to come back and probably will. The relaxing atmosphere and convenience of the restaurant were just what we wanted. But for the price I would think a couple small changes would go a long way. First, with the muffins...pats of butter or a mini jar of jam should be standard at a place with this price point. Second, the basket should include additional coffee creamers. We were fighting each other for the last creamers. A couple sets of silverware in the sink area would be nice. And finally, additional staff training at the restaurant. For such a pricey place and good food the servers should be knowledgeable about what they are serving. They were friendly but just didn’t seem to have the info they needed.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2017 via mobile

Just had a wonderful weekend in one of the luxurious cabins at savage river. The cabins are comfortable with a soft bed and roomy bathroom. They are one bedroom lofts with a pullout sofa for another couple. There isn’t a kitchenette but there is a separate sink and counter for coffee and hot chocolate. The bathroom is spacious. The porches are wide and perfect for watching time pass. The best part is the cabins are dog friendly. Apparently the yurts are not. But there are multiple small amenities and details they do to cater to your dog. A muffin and orange juice is delivered to your door in the morning and includes dog biscuits.
Will definitely be back. And definitely bring the dogs again.
If it’s important to you - there are no TVs and Internet is spotty but it just contributes to actually stopping and enjoying being with others and nature.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Christina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017

We stayed in a yurt and once we opened the door, it was just a warm welcome! Loved the fireplace, heated floors, listening to wildlife outside our window. Went in Oct, there were a bizillion stars out at night and just beautiful- hiking, great customer service! Also went to see the Flight 93 memorial, about an hr away- very moving. Can't wait to come back next Fall- thank you

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank melinda f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily N, General Manager at Savage River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

Hello Melinda F,

Sounds like you packed a lot into your weekend trip! So glad you found us and were able to enjoy the Lodge and the yurt. When guests asks what my favorite accommodation is, yurt is always the answer when the weather turns frosty! Those heated floors are so lovely in the cold weather.

Flight 93 is certainly special; a must-see when so close by.

Hope to see you soon!
Emily

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews