We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Basic Comfort Inn”
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Grantsville
Reviewed 4 October 2015

We stayed here on our way to the coast. It filled our needs as the room was pretty clean and the staff was nice and helpful. The room had all the usual amenities and everything worked. The breakfast is pretty basic as well and we enjoyed it. It is very close to the highway exit so one does not need to go on a hunting expedition to find it. Unlike the historical house in town, they have showers in each room. This was the deciding factor for us along with the fact that it is smoke free. I would stop here again.

Room Tip: Don't get a room too close to the lobby as someone ran the vacuum at 2:30 AM
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sliphorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 36 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2015

Pleasantly surprised. Clean and very comfy beds. I am kind of a freak about cleanliness and this met my satisfaction. I would recommend if you are passing through. Pool looked nice but didn't indulge. Breakfast was typical but got us going.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoanBat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2015

Like the title says - what has happened to this place? Let's start off with the staff - gone are cheerful greetings replaced with a woman with a scowl on her face that said nothing until I did. Even after I said Hello, she just said in a nasty tone, "What Can I Help you with?" Uhhhhh with luggage and my laptop in hand could it be that I'm checking in?!? Similar treatment when checking out too. It was as if I was bothering the desk clerk. Again, not what it used to be like here at all. There are still "DO NOT DO THIS" signs everywhere from the piano, on the elevators, on the handicapped pool equipment, to even one in the pool area telling you DO NOT DESTROY the pool rope. It even says there is video surveillance to incriminate and charge the perps that do so. C'mon. I think the owners and management need to watch an episode of the Hotel Nightmares TV series. It just leads to an overall unwelcoming atmosphere when you combine that with the attitude of the front desk clerk woman.

Next strike - the room, and the floor it was on. It smelled like a diesel truck had been revving exhaust fumes all into an air intake vent. Mix that with used motor oil. There were stains all over the chair and ottoman, the drapes were badly in need of washing, the toilet had a black film around it, the tub was chipped all over, the shower head was completely rusted off its base and sprayed all over, the shower would not drain, there were pieces of the ceiling that had flaked off onto the floor, and to top it off the mattress was so old that the front sat 6 inches higher than the rear, and the springs were starting to come through. The wifi is terrible. It is slow, and it kicks you off constantly.

Onto the breakfast area. Friendly staff here, but seemed to be the only pleasant ones in the entire facility. Still had a decent spread of fresh items. Only saving grace from a terrible review.

Has there been a change in ownership or something? I have stayed at this property for over 30 years and have never received such rude service and a poorly maintained room.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank JKF56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2015

Stayed one night here on way home from Kentucky. The lobby area is very modern looking and it appears they spent a lot of money making it nice. Breakfast is included with your room and was very good. Eggs, sausage, Danish, waffles, pancakes, cereals, fruits, juices, bagels, and very good coffee was all available. Better than most motel spreads for sure. The room was okay but perhaps was the one aspect of the place in need of some attention. Bed was very comfy, but bathroom in need of upgrading. Reasonably priced accommodations and friendly service. All in all, not a bad experience.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank woody046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2015

My family and I stayed there for two nights recently. The staff was friendly and the overall appearance was neat and clean. The room itself could have been better...weird smell, uncomfortable bed and clearly some areas of the carpet and the bathroom were missed during cleaning. The free breakfast was fine as long as you stuck with non-cooked items...breads, cold cereal and yogurt. The eggs and sausage were terrible. We skipped out on the breakfast the second morning and went to a restaurant instead.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank T4395OPlisat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grantsville
25.6 km away
The Lodges at Sunset Village
3.9 km away
Casselman Inn
Casselman Inn
#1 of 2 in Grantsville
78 reviews
35.2 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Hazelton/Bruceton Mills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 km away
Gunter Hotel
Gunter Hotel
#2 of 6 in Frostburg
89 reviews
24.2 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 5 in LaVale
244 reviews
23.4 km away
Best Western Braddock Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 2541 Chestnut Ridge Rd, Grantsville, MD 21536-2034 (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Region: United States > Maryland > Garrett County > Grantsville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Grantsville
Price Range: RM 312 - RM 436 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Grantsville
Comfort Inn Grantsville
Grantsville Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing