We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“They promise but don't deliver” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Super 8 la Vale/Cumberland Area

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Super 8 la Vale/Cumberland Area
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in LaVale
Hoffman Estates Il
1 review
“They promise but don't deliver”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2009

We made a reservation for one night and when we checked in we asked for a possible second night 2 days later after our visit. The receptionist told us if we booked the second night while we were there we would receive a 10% discount. When we returned the same lady told us that she didn't make that reservation, when i showed her the previous bill that had her number on it she changed her story and said that her manager told her she couldn't do that discount.....DISHONEST!!
As a matter of fact the key cards she made us didn't even work after we came back from dinner.
I also agree with the other reviewer about the safe charges...A RIP OFF!!
The room was OK the location is good......I would like to say you get what you pay for but i expected a little better service from the staff.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chuckpav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    96
    74
    44
    27
See reviews for
112
79
39
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rosedale,Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2009

I would stay here again. Teresa was wonderful, I called a few days prior to my stay, she made my reservation. The rate was great and conveniently located to shopping and local eateries. Once there I walked up to the desk and she greeted me by saying "I know who you are", I smiled. It must have been the worn out from traveling, tired, hungry, sleepy look. Thanks again, this makes my monthly trips to Cumberland more affordable and comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StrawberryKiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prospect
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2008

Used a traveler's coupon book for this motel. Even with the coupon it was $53. They charged $10 for our little dog and even a $1.05 for room safe that we didn't even notice being there. All rooms are charged regardless of if you want it. The towels were scratchy and thin. The carpet was dirty and the street facing rooms were very noisy. Not worth $70. Will go elsewhere next time, this one is not up to Super 8 standards.

  • Liked — internet
  • Disliked — price, room size
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank shugct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these LaVale hotels

KY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2008

We stopped at this motel for a night during a trip up north. It didn't meet my expectations for the price we paid. For one, we were given a room which was not cleaned (some body had vacated the room on the same day- garbage in the room, sheets / towels not clean etc)

When we pointed this out, we were given another room. The room was cleaner, but the sheets were still not clean. They were crumbled even though an attempt was made to set them straight. I was hoping that they would replace the sheets after every stay. Perhaps i am asking for too much. The AC unit was quite old and smelled quite moldy. You could see through the vent that it was not clean. We didnt start it during the night.

In all, ok for an emergency, but i wouldnt recommend it if you have alternatives.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — AC - bed linen
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hsc_ky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHESTERTOWN
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2007

We planned a weekend getaway to ride the Western MD Scenic Railroad and attend the Springs, PA Fall Festival just outside of Grantsville. It was Parents Weekend at Frostburg State University, so many hotels raise their rates and have limited availability. The Super8 was just $60 a night compared to $150 at the Comfort Suites. We stayed 3 nights, so this was quite a savings! Check-in was easy and friendly. Super8 has changed from full-size beds to queens which was wonderful. They have also invested in nice comfortable mattresses. Typical room layout, with 2 beds, an armoire, desk and an extra chair. Simple bathroom layout, tub, toilet and 3 ft. vanity. The room was always clean when we returned each day and smelled fresh. The TV had plenty of channel selections. We only have a couple negative comments. The water pressure was not sufficient, but we were on the 3rd floor and it may be better on the 1st or 2nd. The towels were small and noticeably rough. My husband and I joked about them, wondering what you do to make a towel so much like sandpaper? The continenal breakfast was minimal at best. Just cereal and store-bought donuts, jce and coffee. I'd suggest driving over to the Martin's Supermarket Bakery- Great variety of homemade donuts; cream-filled, boston creme, glazed,chocolate, caramel, and even coffee rolls or cinamon rolls for just 42cents each. They even have a coffee bar at the other end of the store. (Purchase the donuts in the bakery area or you'll pay more) Back to the summarize the hotel. Our stay was clean and comfortable. No pool, fridge or microwave, but we didn't need these amenities this trip. We paid $180 compared to $450 for our 3 nights, so we felt it was worth giving up these luxuries. We would stay here again!

  • Liked — The price
  • Disliked — The water pressure
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 5StarDad-3StarBudget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near LaVale
0.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Braddock Inn
7.6 km away
Ramada Cumberland Downtown
Ramada Cumberland Downtown
#2 of 4 in Cumberland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
11.8 km away
Sleep Inn & Suites Cumberland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#5 of 5 in LaVale
3.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
1.2 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 5 in LaVale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
7.3 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 la Vale/Cumberland Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 la Vale/Cumberland Area

Property: Super 8 la Vale/Cumberland Area
Address: 1301 National Hwy, LaVale, MD 21502-7604
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > LaVale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in LaVale
Price range (per night): RM263 - RM356
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 la Vale/Cumberland Area 2*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and AAE Travel Pte Ltd so you can book your Super 8 la Vale/Cumberland Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Lavale
Super Eight Lavale
Lavale Super 8
Lavale Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing