We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Motel in Ocean City”
Review of Sea Hawk Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sea Hawk Motel
Ranked #31 of 104 Hotels in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 September 2009

We booked the Sea Hawk motel 8/24/09 - 8/29/09. We were a group of 13 and booked 4 efficiencies on the 3rd floor. We were all very satisfied. The efficiencies are not huge, but it worked for our family of 3. The rooms were very clean. The bedspread and shower curtain were changed daily along with sheets and towels. The beds were very comfortable. The kitchen had everything we needed except a coffee maker, so we brought our own from home. Not a problem. The pool area is very clean and nice, but a little noisy since it's right on the highway. The only area I noticed that needed attention was the entry to the elevator. The ashtray was always overflowing. Not a huge deal. There was plenty of parking. There are several restaurants/shops within walking distance which is very nice. The staff were super nice and always helpful when we needed something (like an extra blanket). The price is very reasonable. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KCashVa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (260)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

217 - 221 of 260 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2009

I found the Sea Hawk to be a good value for the price paid. The room had 2 queen beds, sofa bed, TV, stove, microwave, and full size refrigerator. There was a supply of dishes, pans, mugs. The Motel is located 1/2 a block from the beach on the quiet family side and several miles away from the boardwalk and crowds. I did not hear any noise at night and this appeared to be a motel frequented by families. The pool is very small, as are most pools in smaller motels. The staff was friendly and allowed use of a change room and parking after we had checked out. There is also an outdoor shower to rinse off and many restaurants, stores, fast food, etc nearby. A bus route runs along the front street. The motel is an excellent choice. Only those not wanting to walk, drive, bike or bus to the boardwalk should avoid this place.

Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
2  Thank ae2j1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2009

I stayed at the Sea Hawk Motel for the second time this summer and it was just as great as the first time. Me and my family all love it. First of all, the employees at the hotels are just very friendly and nice. Too the rooms are very clean and very practical because of the little kitchen(refrigerator , microwave and Oven). The pool is very clean and hot. The only things at the hotel that could of been better is that the water from the shower was getting cold and then extremily hot, the pool is closing at 8 o'clock(too early).
Over all the hotel was fun and i would recommend it to anybody.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank peacegirl123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2009

This motel, located on 125th St in Ocean City is currently rated at #2 in terms of popularity on travel advisor. Based on our experience, this past 4 nights, I dont think it belongs in the top 20. The low daily rate of $155 per night was the main draw admittedly, and the rooms were cleaned daily and the grounds were clean. This is a family run motel, and so the front office was friendly and helpful, but the rooms were small, outdated, the beds not firm enough for anyone over 200 lbs, the clientele sometimes not the best (our boogie board and beach chair were stolen from our front door overnight.), and our car was also keyed in the parking lot. I am not sure if this was just a random teenager or what, but in any case, this is not what I expect when I go on vacation to a nice hotel at the beach resort of Ocean CIty, MD.

Let me say that in previous stays in Ocean CIty, that we stayed at the Hilton, whose rooms are almost brand new and three times the size of the Sea Hawk. Yes, the Hilton is more than three times the price of the Sea Hawk Motel, but is more than three times as nice as well in terms of size, view privacy and amenities. The Hilton is a hotel where you hate to leave. In contrast, we could not wait to check out of the Sea Hawk Hotel.. The Sea Hawk Hotel's only pool is adjacent to Coastal Highway and is really too small to be considered usable. In fact, its dimensions are no more than 20 x 30 feet. and 5 feet deep at the deep end. The Sea Hawk does have a 1.5 block walk to the beach at 125th st., but at least it is on oceanside. Also, the Sea Hawk does not have laundry facilities, so be prepared to use a laundromat, and bring your own toulet paper, paper towels, and can opener. The kitchen in the efficiency is rudimentary at best, and you will find yourself eating out almost every night., because the kitchen and related cooking equipment is not the same as what you are used to at home. On the plus side, the Sea Hawk is located across the street from a brand new all you can eat crab house, called Old Mill Crab House. Old MIll is expensive, but if you are hungry for blue crabs, you will enjoy the dinner. With the money you save by staying at the Sea Hawk you can definitely afford to eat out, so if you dont mind roughing it in an average non full service hotel, stay here at the Sea Hawk, and have extra money for eating out, or whatever else you like to do. If, on the other hand, you value quiet, privacy, ocean views, full service, no crime, safes in room, awesome pools, better location, but higher rates, stay at the Hilton. I think next time I will save my money for the Hilton. Hope this review helps everyone.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tegemeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2009

I have been going to Ocean City for most of my life. We had met some new friends while travailing to Chicago. They came out with their two teen girls this summer for a visit. The girls had never been in the ocean before so the trip was a big one for them. We have stayed in many places over the years and some of the hotels, even the big ones have not always been very clean.
This place was just what the other reviewers had said, older hotel, but great service and very clean. They even let us check in at 11:00. There was plenty of parking and the walk to the beach was very short. We plan on staying here every time we come to the beach.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank treedoctor3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.1 km away
Cayman Suites
Cayman Suites
#19 of 104 in Ocean City
338 reviews
5.2 km away
Sea Bay Hotel
Sea Bay Hotel
#32 of 104 in Ocean City
422 reviews
0.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Ocean City
Holiday Inn Express Ocean City
#34 of 104 in Ocean City
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Comfort Inn Gold Coast
Comfort Inn Gold Coast
#43 of 104 in Ocean City
334 reviews
0.4 km away
Coastal Palms Inn & Suites
Coastal Palms Inn & Suites
#73 of 104 in Ocean City
226 reviews
7.9 km away
Thunderbird Beach Motel
Thunderbird Beach Motel
#69 of 104 in Ocean City
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Hawk Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Hawk Motel

Address: 12410 Coastal Hwy, 124th St Oceanside, Ocean City, MD 21842-4709
Region: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
#18 Family Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range: RM217 - RM731 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sea Hawk Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Sea Hawk Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Hawk Hotel Ocean City
The Sea Hawk Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing