We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“The best hotel we have ever stayed at in OC” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Breakers Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ocean City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Breakers Hotel
Ranked #3 of 108 Hotels in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
baltimore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The best hotel we have ever stayed at in OC”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2011

The Breakers is by far the best hotel we have stayed at in OC. The room was huge for our family of 5 with a beautiful bathroom. Beds were super comfortable with lovely linens. Shower was great with lots of space in cabinets for your toiletries. Cleanest hotel ever. Bathrooms were immaculate. The staff was super friendly and could not have been more helpful. Parking was a pleasure. Small lot was close to hotel with lots of spots even for August. We had no trouble finding a spot. We definitely want to stay here in the future. Can't wait!!

Room Tip: We had a family suite with 3 queen beds but no balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mje672
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    265
    51
    13
    7
    23
See reviews for
196
97
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

Very clean.. we read all the reviews and they said the same thing over and over.. Clean and spacious.. that was the selling point for us..

A little expensive.. our room was an inside unit, we didnt know this.. assumed a non view meant the parking lot.. Would stay again, but only if I could have a balcony.. to pay that much and not even have a window that opened was odd.. for less money I could have stayed one street off and probably had a window bigger than a "port hole" on a cruise ship. But the rooms were as described..very clean and very spacious. I would recommend if you can get a balcony.. even if it is of the parking lot.. to me a balcony atleast feels like you are at the beach.. ohh and I almost forgot.. dont stay out after midnight.. they lock the doors and you have to call the front desk, wait for someone to come down and let you in.. the Dough Roller is great.. right down stairs!!

Room Tip: Get a balcony and dont stay out after midnight.. they lock the doors
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mallshoesshop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

We stayed at the Breakers Hotel over Memorial Day weekend.

We had read all the reviews on trip advisor and were a little worried based upon some of the reviews we read about the staff, etc. We arrived early (11am - check in is at 3pm)and though our room was not ready yet, we were given a parking pass so we could enjoy our day at the beach while our room was being serviced. The front desk was very nice and helpful, nothing like some of the previous reviews had stated.

The rooms - FABULOUS! I am a neat freak and they totally passed my test. Everything is immaculate! The bathrooms were huge as was the room. We had an oceanfront suite with two queen beds and a pull out.. two tv's...

We did not have any issue's with housekeeping at all, and in fact found them to be very accomodating.

There is no room service, but they do have vending machines with snacks/soda's. Also, has a very nice indoor pool.

This is a very clean and nice hotel. Perfect for those with families that want to get away from the late night partiers. And the location - perfect! Right on top of the Dough Roller. It doesn't get any better than this!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank THEROOKIEKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Plains, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

This hotel was fantastic. It was clean, comfortable, quiet, and nicely located. The hotel staff was also very warm, from the front desk to the gentleman taking care of the pool.

A wonderful experience.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wileych
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

My boyfriend and I decided to stay at The Breakers Hotel with another couple in July of 2011. We had heard from a family friend that the hotel was one of the cleanest in Ocean City, and was right on the boardwalk. While the hotel was definitely pricey (almost $600 for two nights in a standard room), the boardwalk location and the cleanliness of the hotel could not be beat. However, we were disappointed to find that the staff was very rude, and treated us like we were an inconvenience to them.

When we first arrived, the woman who checked us in proceeded to explain the rules about the foot washing station, and handed me the key. She then decided to grab the key out of my hand to replace it with another one! A few minutes later, we found some previous stains (although minor) on the carpet, and went to the lobby to inform the staff that it was not our doing to avoid a charge at the end of the trip. The woman at the desk pretty much ignored us, and treated our concern as if we were foolish and incompetent. Also, later that night we had called down to request a few extra pillows (there were only four pillows in the room, one for each person). The staff at the time told us that we should have had some extra ones in the closet, which we did not. Finally, an attendant came to the door and said that she had one extra pillow- the last one in the entire hotel. We found this to be a little unbelievable, which it was. The next day, I had walked by an open linen closet to see a stack of extra clean pillows!

All in all, The Breakers is definitely a clean and convenient hotel. However, do not expect to be treated well, regardless of the high price you're paying.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kgreenbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
2.7 km away
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
#2 of 108 in Ocean City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,861 reviews
4.1 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ocean City
3.1 km away
Hilton Suites Ocean City Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City
2.0 km away
Grand Hotel & Spa
Grand Hotel & Spa
#20 of 108 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,680 reviews
1.3 km away
Courtyard Ocean City Oceanfront
Courtyard Ocean City Oceanfront
#11 of 108 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Breakers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breakers Hotel

Property: The Breakers Hotel
Address: 3rd Street & Boardwalk, Ocean City, MD 21842
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ocean City
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
Number of rooms: 37
Also Known As:
Breakers Hotel Ocean City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing