We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great getaway spot, minutes to ski areas”
other travellers have booked this property
A perfect getaway for any season or reason!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A perfect getaway for any season or reason!
Beautiful new oak laminate flooring just installed.  Very spiffy! The gracious living space
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
164 reviews
A perfect getaway for any season or reason!
Beautiful new oak laminate flooring just installed.  Very spiffy!
The gracious living space
Relax on the full size couch
Comfortable living
Blue predominates at the cottage
Room for you and your companion animals
A country view through the floor to ceiling windows
French doors separate the living area from the kitchen
Flat screen TV with over 200 channels
Guest Toby enjoying cottage amenities
A cozy corner nook
Queen size bed with a good firm mattress
Eat-in kitchen area
Kitchen work area
Full size oven in a very well equipped kitchen
The blue bathroom
View from eat-in dining area to living area
A variation on a theme!
4-legged view from living area to kitchen area
Breakfast nook
Le bathroom bleu again!
Friendly feline door stop
Friendly Cavalier King Charles spaniel adorn the book case
Mexican planters in the living area
Another view of the cottage and main house
July at Cavalier Cottage
View from your window of the landscaped garden, firepit and E. Oxbow Road (plus hosepipe bonus)!
Oriental poppies brighten up the Cottage garden
Beautiful, peaceful Oxbow Road
Mountain streams and wooded terrain abound
Owner and host with trusty companion Gwen
Enjoy the private garden space
Rhodos in full bloom and a garden sculpture to view
Welcome to Cavalier Cottage B&B
Avery, puppy mill rescue, the newest clan member.
Avery, Hailey and Rose
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Charlemont, Massachusetts

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 164 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Heather M
Providence, Rhode Island, United States
2 reviews
“Great getaway spot, minutes to ski areas”
Reviewed 25 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Berkshire East is a nice vacation spot and Cavalier Cottage is a great place to stay. The accommodations are set up like an apartment with a living/sleeping area, and fully equipped kitchen and bathroom areas. You'll have excellent wifi, including Netflix and cable, as well as a delicious daily breakfast of English scones, jam, and juice. We found the cottage remote enough for peace and quiet, but just a few minutes from amenities. We took a day trip to Mt. Snow, which was only about 50 minutes away. In all, we had a great stay!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sabrina F
New York City, New York
1 review
“Great getaway with our feline baby!”
Reviewed 4 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Not many places are pet-friendly, and when they are they are "friendly" only to dogs. Cavalier Cottage welcomed our feline baby and made her feel at home. The cottage is warm, cozy, charming, with all items you could possibly need for a relaxing vacation (full kitchen, extra linens, even books and board-games! The area is lovely and offers so much to do and see. Hope to be back in the summer months!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jan 2016
Thanks so much for your kind review. It was a pleasure having you all stay especially Sambucca!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
red311
Brookfield, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful location, spacious, super-well-appointed cottage”
Reviewed 17 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I will definitely go back to this lovely cottage when I am next in the area. Quiet, pastoral, rolling hills. Take a walk down the gravel road and slow down a bit. A few miles off the highway but a welcome distance from both hustle and bustle. Pet friendly not an exaggeration, I'm sure you'd be welcome without a pet but still...
Lots of room, spacious kitchen with everything you need if you want to cook, stay in and enjoy the Berkshires. Spacious and roomy enough for a multi-day visit without feeling confined. Fresh scones and juice delivered every morning, truly excellent.

Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherri S
1 review
“We had a amazing time!”
Reviewed 21 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Thank you Pat for opening up a B&B which allows us to bring our 4 legged family member. Spock loves to travel and he felt extremely comfortable at the Cavalier Cottage. We were very impressed with the accommodations. Loved our morning treats as well. We plan on coming back in the summer and hopefully the dogs will get a chance to play. Loved the peace and tranquility of the area. So glad we found you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: A prefect place to travel with your pet
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Oct 2015
Thanks for your kind review Sherri - Look forward to your summer return with Spock.

Pat
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly K
Branchburg
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Perfect Pet Friendly Cottage in Mass!”
Reviewed 9 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Our stay at the Cavalier Cottage Bed and Breakfast was absolutely perfect. No other words to describe it. My husband and I (and our 2 pups) are avid hikers. We traveled from NJ for a long anniversary weekend getaway to hike some of the State parks in the Berkshires. Not only is the cottage spotless, it is by far the nicest cottage we've ever stayed in. It is located on a very quiet road, literally in the middle of the woods. Our cell phones had no service (we didn't mind this at all as we were looking for an escape from the craziness of our busy lives) but Pat provides you with free Wi-Fi just in case you need to get in touch with the outside world.

Bonuses that we enjoyed:
- Pet friendly and no breed restrictions at all. We often find that hotels, cabins or cottages are not willing to accept our 65lb sweet rescue pit bull, let alone not charging us a ridiculous charge for having 2 pups. This was a blessing for us to find not only a cottage that accepts our pups but for them to have free range of the cottage. We were even able to leave them in the cottage while we went for dinner one night which is not allowed in most hotels/cabins/cottages, especially without a crate.
- Cleanliness of the entire cottage...and I mean spotless. The decor was perfect and the bathroom was very clean with on hand supplies just in case you forgot something (like I always do). They was plenty of organic shampoo and soaps for us to use.
- Access to yard for pups. We had access to the property so the pups could have free range to sniff around and do their business!
- Location to several State parks for hiking/adventure and Shelburne Falls. We hiked the Mohawk State Forest (you must get up to Todd Mountain...it is certainly not for casual hikers but it was amazing to be at the top and see the views!) and Savoy State Forest. Both were beautiful hikes during the beginning on peak Fall foliage season. We headed into town (a very short drive) for dinner one night which was very convenient. Shelburne Falls is a cute little town...make sure to check out the Bridge of Flowers.
- Quiet. Yes, for us this is a bonus. We live and work in fairly busy areas of New Jersey so for us to be in the middle of the woods was a pleasure.
- Free WiFi and Netflix along with regular cable (w/ HBO). This was a nice bonus to have at the end of a very long hiking day. We were able to rent a movie or just browse what was on T.V.
- Last but not least, Pat. Pat, the owner of Cavalier Cottage, is wonderful. She has several dogs, all of which are adorable!! She was very kind and welcomed my husband, me and our 2 pups with open arms. Even though she lives in the adjourning cottage with her pups, it was always so quiet. Pat truly made our stay an enjoyable one.
Oh and I almost forgot to mention Pat's delicious English scones and orange juice that she makes/sets out for you every morning for breakfast...these were a treat!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$130
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing