We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Shima loved it”
other travellers have booked this property
A perfect getaway for any season or reason!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A perfect getaway for any season or reason!
Beautiful new oak laminate flooring just installed.  Very spiffy! The gracious living space
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
172 reviews
A perfect getaway for any season or reason!
Beautiful new oak laminate flooring just installed.  Very spiffy!
The gracious living space
Relax on the full size couch
Comfortable living
Blue predominates at the cottage
Room for you and your companion animals
A country view through the floor to ceiling windows
French doors separate the living area from the kitchen
Flat screen TV with over 200 channels
Guest Toby enjoying cottage amenities
A cozy corner nook
Queen size bed with a good firm mattress
Eat-in kitchen area
Kitchen work area
Full size oven in a very well equipped kitchen
The blue bathroom
View from eat-in dining area to living area
A variation on a theme!
4-legged view from living area to kitchen area
Breakfast nook
Le bathroom bleu again!
Friendly feline door stop
Friendly Cavalier King Charles spaniel adorn the book case
Mexican planters in the living area
Another view of the cottage and main house
July at Cavalier Cottage
View from your window of the landscaped garden, firepit and E. Oxbow Road (plus hosepipe bonus)!
Oriental poppies brighten up the Cottage garden
Beautiful, peaceful Oxbow Road
Mountain streams and wooded terrain abound
Owner and host with trusty companion Gwen
Enjoy the private garden space
Rhodos in full bloom and a garden sculpture to view
Welcome to Cavalier Cottage B&B
Avery, puppy mill rescue, the newest clan member.
Avery, Hailey and Rose
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Charlemont, Massachusetts

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 172 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
jarlan
Chilmark, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Shima loved it”
Reviewed 23 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

It was wonderful to stay where our dog, Shima, was welcomed and considered an honored guest. There was a bowl for water on the kitchen floor and a cookie jar full of dog biscuits. The cottage had everything we needed for our stay and the location was central to where we needed to go. We will be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It's on a quiet road and dog friendly
Liked least: It's a bit dark as there are only windows in the front.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Apr 2016
Thanks so much for your kind review. Look forward to welcoming you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alishac20...
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We loved Cavalier Cottage!”
Reviewed 22 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We had a great stay over Easter weekend at Cavalier Cottage. We brought along with us our dog and cat and they loved it too! Pat greeted us as soon as we pulled in the driveway and showed us everything needed for our stay. We were just looking for a little weekend getaway, somewhere to relax, and where we could take our pets, and this place fulfilled that and more! The cottage has everything you could need. The English scones were so delicious each morning and we left craving more! Pat was so nice and friendly. We went during the off season so we mostly stayed at the cottage and relaxed but would love to go back either in the winter or summer to do more in the area. If you are looking for a place where your pets can be as comfortable as you will be, look no further!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Apr 2016
Alisha and Wilson,

It was a pleasure having you ALL stay at the cottage. Look forward to welcoming you back later during the year.

Pat
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gail R
Sturbridge, Massachusetts
1 review
“Peacefully perfect getaway for us and our beloved pets!”
Reviewed 15 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We had an excellent stay at the Cavalier Cottage. Patricia made us delicious scones everyday served with juice! It was lovely and peaceful. Very clean, well kept, just have to bring your clothes and toothbrush, all top of the line, all natural, kitchen and toiletries are provided. It is close to many amenities and great restaurant's. The Deerfield river close by was wonderful place to walk along and enjoy the beautiful sounds of the swiftly running waters along the shores took away all the stress of the world! We would go back again in a moment. Must love Dogs! Your well kept dogs are welcome.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everythin
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Apr 2016
Gail,

Thanks so much for your kind review. Look forward to welcoming you all back.

Pat
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris B
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“So Perfect!"”
Reviewed 5 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

So perfect for us! We searched and searched for a pet friendly place, and although the search is limited, I'm glad this little gem exists. So accommodating and welcoming, it was absolutely perfect!"

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The dog friendly atmosphere
Liked least: the bedding
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Apr 2016
Sam & Chris & Tilla,

Thanks so much for your gracious review. Do hope you'll return.

Pat
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R B
Long Island, New York
1 review
“Beautiful room, beautiful area”
Reviewed 21 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

The room was spacious with an attached kitchen and bathroom. My wife and I are gluten free, and Patricia accommodated us with gluten free bread and cereal. We have a 5 month old who cries a bit at night, but the house is structured so that it didn't bother anyone to let her cry it out a bit. We loved the theme in the room - primarily white and blue with a variety of very similar busy patterns on many of the objects in the room. Being someone who appreciates geometrical patterns, I had a blast studying each of the different patterns in the room. Overall a great room to rent with an artistic flair.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The decor
Liked least: That I didn't have a small pot to boil milk in to make hot cocoa? There wasn't much to grieve about!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing