We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely and peaceful hideout - Pet Friendly AND...”
other travellers have booked this property
A perfect getaway for any season or reason!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A perfect getaway for any season or reason!
Beautiful new oak laminate flooring just installed.  Very spiffy! The gracious living space
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
173 reviews
A perfect getaway for any season or reason!
Beautiful new oak laminate flooring just installed.  Very spiffy!
The gracious living space
Relax on the full size couch
Comfortable living
Blue predominates at the cottage
Room for you and your companion animals
A country view through the floor to ceiling windows
French doors separate the living area from the kitchen
Flat screen TV with over 200 channels
Guest Toby enjoying cottage amenities
A cozy corner nook
Queen size bed with a good firm mattress
Eat-in kitchen area
Kitchen work area
Full size oven in a very well equipped kitchen
The blue bathroom
View from eat-in dining area to living area
A variation on a theme!
4-legged view from living area to kitchen area
Breakfast nook
Le bathroom bleu again!
Friendly feline door stop
Friendly Cavalier King Charles spaniel adorn the book case
Mexican planters in the living area
Another view of the cottage and main house
July at Cavalier Cottage
View from your window of the landscaped garden, firepit and E. Oxbow Road (plus hosepipe bonus)!
Oriental poppies brighten up the Cottage garden
Beautiful, peaceful Oxbow Road
Mountain streams and wooded terrain abound
Owner and host with trusty companion Gwen
Enjoy the private garden space
Rhodos in full bloom and a garden sculpture to view
Welcome to Cavalier Cottage B&B
Avery, puppy mill rescue, the newest clan member.
Avery, Hailey and Rose
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Charlemont, Massachusetts

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 173 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Bronxdocs
Bronx, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely and peaceful hideout - Pet Friendly AND People-Friendly”
Reviewed 28 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

I found Cavalier Cottage because I was looking for a place to stay where I could bring my two dogs. What I found was a delight; a cottage that I would happily return to even without pets! Cavalier Cottage is on a quiet road (very few cars went by) with a beautiful garden, located between Charlemont and Shelbourne Falls. We had daily lovely breakfast of scones, and the home was one of the quietest, most comfortable, and peaceful places I've stayed in. The kitchen was very well appointed and we could have easily cooked many meals; Patricia was wonderfully helpful. I'm looking for a way to return to Western Massachusetts and stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven, Connecticut
Reviewed 14 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kathryn S
Wallingford, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Loved Cavalier Cottage!”
Reviewed 31 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We really enjoyed our long weekend at the Cavalier Cottage in Charlemont MA. Patricia did everything possible to make our stay delightful and the homemade scones each morning were delicious. Our dog felt right at home too. We can't wait to go back again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Dog friendly, private, quiet woodsy location
Liked least: Can't think of anything we didn't like.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jarlan
Chilmark, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Shima loved it”
Reviewed 23 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

It was wonderful to stay where our dog, Shima, was welcomed and considered an honored guest. There was a bowl for water on the kitchen floor and a cookie jar full of dog biscuits. The cottage had everything we needed for our stay and the location was central to where we needed to go. We will be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It's on a quiet road and dog friendly
Liked least: It's a bit dark as there are only windows in the front.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Apr 2016
Thanks so much for your kind review. Look forward to welcoming you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alishac20...
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We loved Cavalier Cottage!”
Reviewed 22 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We had a great stay over Easter weekend at Cavalier Cottage. We brought along with us our dog and cat and they loved it too! Pat greeted us as soon as we pulled in the driveway and showed us everything needed for our stay. We were just looking for a little weekend getaway, somewhere to relax, and where we could take our pets, and this place fulfilled that and more! The cottage has everything you could need. The English scones were so delicious each morning and we left craving more! Pat was so nice and friendly. We went during the off season so we mostly stayed at the cottage and relaxed but would love to go back either in the winter or summer to do more in the area. If you are looking for a place where your pets can be as comfortable as you will be, look no further!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Apr 2016
Alisha and Wilson,

It was a pleasure having you ALL stay at the cottage. Look forward to welcoming you back later during the year.

Pat
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing