We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet, vintage roadside Cape Cod”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Colonial Village Motel & Cottages
Ranked #15 of 19 Hotels in Dennis Port
Reviewed 15 June 2012

The Colonial Village Motel & Cottages is a convenient place to stay, close to good restaurants, the beach, and typical, homey Cape Cod towns. We have stayed here at least 4 times and always enjoy our stay. There is never any traffic on the road out front to speak of. Also, even though someone isn't at the front desk 24/7, the managers are very accommodating for late arrivals, as we typically have been. It's also a step back in time to probably the 60s or 70s and the grounds are always beautiful. It's just a sweet, vintage roadside, Cape Cod inn. If you're looking for "modern", this is definitely not the place, but it is clean and cozy.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WWCitizen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (76)
There are newer reviews for Colonial Village Motel & Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 53 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2011

We stayed her in September for 2 nights. Booked direct with motel and got a good rate.
Many other places nearby were a lot more expensive and there is a reason why.
Don't get me wrong, the motel is very clean and tidy, but very dated with pink bathrooms, and windows in our room that would not close. There is no in-room or out-of-room coffee available,or in-room hairdryer, but a hairdryer was available to borrow at reception.
There is no safe or deposit box, which is a bit of a problem for us but we found many hotels on our holiday did not have this facility either. Hence we had to carry our valuables around all holiday.
They offered us the code for free internet use but as we hadn't brought our laptop we didn't need this, but handy to have.
There was no breakfast offered but not a problem as we had a great meal at Buckies in the village.(Great launderette opposite Buckies).
The staff was very helpful and pleasant at the Colonial Motel.
We didn't use the pools so can't comment.
Would I go back again? If I was on a budget and wanted to be near the beach and in a lovely little village, with also a short drive to Whale Watching? Definitely. If I had a bigger budget, there are some beautiful houses and b&bs to rent nearby.
Thankyou to the staff, especially Susan.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Canada420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

I realize I shouldn't be able to complain too much, since the price was right, the room was clean, and everything worked. But the bed had the most uncomfortable mattress I've ever tried to sleep on, and the pillows were even worse. Ended up with a terrible night's sleep, even trying to sleep sitting up in the chair at one point, hoping that would be more comfortable. Was also a little disturbed to see the front desk clerk smoking a cigarette right outside the door of one of the non-smoking rooms. I wouldn't recommend this place, even though the price shouldn't have made me expect much more.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lawyer79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We stayed after the end of season and so while the pool and spa were still open, there were no tourists to contend with. We stayed in one of the motel rooms. The room was very functional and we noted a number of steps that had been taken to "winterize" that probably wouldn't have happened during season (i.e. fresh paint on the windows). The motel was quiet and the area was good. The Wee Packet across the street was great.

The rooms were clean and in dated but decent shape. For the price, it was a great value.

No breakfast onsite was offputting at first, but the local options were FAR better than what could have been done onsite. The internet was nearly useless though and the parking lot is very small. The most problematic thing was the hall light outside the door to our room. It lit the room up like a Christmas tree even with the shade down. Our 2 year old definitely had trouble getting to sleep with it being so bright. We did have to ask for more towels for the pool, as an FYI.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spicy_rev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

My wife and I booked two nights at this dump. We left after 2 nights and realized we forgot a big bottle of specialized shampoo. We went back the next day and the creep at the counter told us that they threw it out. Translated, thast means he or one of his staff decided to take it home. He said they throw everything out that's left behind in a room....but only 24 hours later??????? Show a little respect for your guests, realizing that perhaps after an item is not claimed after 48 hours, then you can keep it or throw it out. This was a very expensive shampoo and you can bet that one of the staff kept it. Just the arrogance of this creep was a turn-off. On another note, we left after 2 days because the room stank. Pretty rundown and filthy.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tommybommys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dennis Port
1.1 km away
Oceanside Motel
Oceanside Motel
#17 of 19 in Dennis Port
26 reviews
1.1 km away
Holiday Hill Inn & Suites
Holiday Hill Inn & Suites
#8 of 19 in Dennis Port
112 reviews
1.1 km away
Pelham House
Pelham House
#12 of 19 in Dennis Port
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Corsair and Cross Rip Oceanfront
5.9 km away
All Seasons Resort
All Seasons Resort
#10 of 21 in South Yarmouth
345 reviews
2.1 km away
The Garlands
The Garlands
#16 of 19 in Dennis Port
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonial Village Motel & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial Village Motel & Cottages

Address: 426 Lower County Rd, Dennis Port, MA 02639-2114
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Dennis Port
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 19 Hotels in Dennis Port
Price Range: RM318 - RM775 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Colonial Village Motel & Cottages 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a private setting near an ocean beach, our motel and cottages are a perfect choice for your Cape Cod vacation. At Colonial Village Motel and Cottages you can choose a motel room, kitchenette or cottage. All registered guests at Colonial Village enjoy full use of our indoor and outdoor pools, sauna, and Jacuzzi. We offer a get-away location in the heart of Cape Cod with sandy warm water ocean beaches within walking distance. Our five acre grounds are quiet and relaxing with spacious motel rooms and optional kitchenettes. We also have lovely cottages that provide very comfortable sized rooms in the shade of a private, stately pine grove, perfect for families and family reunions your family will remember for generations. We are one of the few Cape Cod motels that offer both beautiful indoor and outdoor pools. We are proud to offer the ambience of Olde Cape Cod with continuously renovated rooms and modern amenities. Beautiful sandy warm water beaches, including Seaview Beach, Inman Beach are a 5 minute walk away, and the famous one mile long West Dennis Beach is a 5 minute drive away. Whether you are looking for daily motel accommodations or weekly lodging, Colonial Village is the perfect choice for your summer vacation on Cape Cod. If you prefer the relaxed shopping and foliage of the Spring and Fall, Colonial Village is in the center of all of Cape Cod with many antique stores, art galleries, and gift shops nearby . We are also just a 2 minute walk to the new, beautiful Sea View Park, offering a children's playground, scenic walking and jogging trails, public gardens, picnic areas, and access to Seaview Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Colonial Village Motel & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial Village Motel & Cottages Hotel Dennis Port
Colonial Village Motel And Cottages
Colonial Village Hotel
Colonial Village Motel & Cottages Dennis Port, MA - Cape Cod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing