We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
By the Sea Guests
Nearby Hotels
Pelham House(Dennis Port)
US$215
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kingfisher Oceanside(Dennis Port)(Great Value!)
US$251
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Hill Inn & Suites(Dennis Port)(Great Value!)
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$165
US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oceanside Motel(Dennis Port)
US$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coachman Motor Inn(South Harwich)
US$175
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
GuestLodge(West Dennis)(Great Value!)
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (172)
Filter reviews
172 results
Traveller rating
126
24
4
10
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
126
24
4
10
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate beachbed and breakfastsweet treatscape codenjoyed everydayeach morningthe entire stafflittle bit of heavenawesome breakfasthappy memorieschicken sausagehomemade cookiesrooms were spotlessliving roomnext yearhome away from homerooms are small
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 172 reviews
Reviewed 9 November 2017

Arrived here to a lovely welcome. The location is superb....right on a little private section of beach with direct access from the garden room and terrace.. We stayed for 10 days in a well appointed 2 bed suite. The rooms were spotless and so well maintained by the housekeeping staff,who were a delight. Our daughter and grandchidren joined us for 7 days (aged 4 and 2) and they loved this place.A store at the side of the hotel was a childs "alladin,s cave..full of bukets ,spades ,beach toys for children of ALL ages .The beach was raked every morning and found in pristine condition. Ample loungers and beach chairs to while away a day or more on the oceans edge.. This lovely place is full of charm and will hold happy memories for us for a long time to come. Modern "resort" ..its not...but a lovely ,quaint residence that oozes charm. Staff are wonderful and helpful. Always around but never intrusive . The suite we had had a sea facing balcony which proved the most fab place to enjoy a sundowner or two!!Cannot wait to rturn...thank you . Maggie and Alan ( Scotland)

Stayed: September 2017
Thank bootsnsaddles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017 via mobile

Had a quick getaway, thought immediately of By The Sea. Caught the last weekend of the season for the B&B - what an awesome breakfast! This is becoming our favorite stay - comfortable rooms, great location Oceanside, nice amenities. Very friendly and caring staff!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Dadmanly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2017 via mobile

We enjoyed our visit, and the staff did all they could to help our visit as tourists. The facility has a great location but is a little weary. The breakfast was OK, but not what you expect from a top notch B & B.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jwvv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017

We were very excited about staying here, hoping to find a Cape Cod destination to return to. What appealed to us was the private beach, the location and above all, the breakfast, which sounded so sumptuous on the website. However, most of our stay here was a huge disappointment. Breakfast mostly offered overly sweet pastries, e.g. grocery-store danishes, and very salty egg dishes. Even the fresh fruit had a generous serving of sugar on it, plus a sweet sorbet – and it was a tiny amount of fruit in the first place. The pancakes were made with a pancake mix – that’s not what you expect, if you pay such a high room rate. The tables were crammed with stuff, which made it easy for kids to knock things over. A couple of tables in the breakfast area were not set, which would have helped in seating fewer people per table and allowing more room. We happily skipped the last of three breakfasts and went somewhere else. The snacks they advertise on the website consist of mostly cookies and bites of cakes, again very sweet, and old, stale fruit. I have rarely eaten an orange that tough.

The inn was advertised as family-friendly, which entirely was not true. The staff was not attentive to kids’ needs and treated us as second-class guests. We were the only family with small children and clearly a “nuisance” to the other guests. One guest asked to be re-seated, because she couldn’t “take the noise”. The same guest asked to be moved to another room, since she was “kept awake all night” by us – I wonder whether she heard seagulls. Clearly, those were the guests that the inn wanted to return.

The beach is very small and the water isn’t very appealing. We had stayed on the Nantucket Sound last year and the water was much nicer. Most people on the beach were reading and seemed to want it very quiet – I barely dared to read to my children, since I thought we would disturb people. Beaches can be noisy! There is also no staff around to help with umbrellas and chairs – it is tough to handle all of that with small kids in tow.

The rooms are not worth the money. I was reluctant to put anything into the dresser, since it smelled strongly with a sour note to it. Don’t want to imagine what it could have been….. The beds were not very comfortable and one of it had a very noisy plastic mattress cover, which made it hard to sleep.

Service was poor overall. The only nice thing was the information about the Cape provided upon check-in. On the morning we left, I packed the car in pouring rain and nobody offered any help. Instead, the entire staff had sat down for their own breakfast in close view of our car, but it was too much effort to get up…. No worries, we will not return!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank VacationPlus2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017

Where do I start about By The Sea Guests B&B? Rooms are small but neat, airy and comfortable and very clean. Staff is fantastic-cheery, helpful and hardworking. Breakfasts are simple, fresh, varied and delicious. Oh, and the little cookies, cakes. coffee, tea and lemonade available 24 hours. Right on the beach. Great view. Great location.
What did I forget? Bottom line, well worth the price and you will have a good, relaxing time with other interesting and entertaining guests.

Room Tip: There are suites (larger) and B&B rooms. I'd trade size for the great breakfast.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JIK0905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews