We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Miuch Potential...”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in East Orleans
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Nauset Knoll Motor Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in East Orleans
Reviewed 22 January 2016

We are mixed on this place. On one hand, we liked the location. Don't think you will have an ocean view, the drifts on the beach are too high to see the water over but you can kind of hear it and you can certainly easily walk. The room itself is spacious which was nice and we liked the location overall-- Orleans is a good base. However, the room needs updating-- I don't mean modernized, just basic replacement of things that are worn out. It also could use a good cleaning. It felt like that hadn't been done in awhile and our allergies picked up. We didn't expect this to be a modern and updated and we do enjoy the vintage/retro feel of places on the cape. We just felt it's potential and charm was unmet as a result of the problems. Some dusting/lysol and a little replacement of worn out things and with this location it would be so wonderful.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank GlobalNomad2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (26)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 26 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2015

We recently spent a long Labor Day Weekend Here. Over the past 40 years we have stayed in just about every Hotel on the Outer Cape, and quite a few on the Lower Cape.
Nauset Knoll has one thing that no other Hotel on the Cape can claim, and that is the view. It is breath taking to say the least. Over looking, and just a few steps to Nauset Beach, it's location can't be beat. Nauset Beach in our opinion is the one of the best beaches on the Cape, very clean beach, restroom facilities and of course Liam's Snack Stand.
Having given you all the positives, the rooms at Nauset are dated, or as we like to say Frozen in Time (the 50's). It was clean, and there was a small refrigerator, but thats it. No A/C, no wifi. It's luxury camping. Would we go again? Maybe, can't get the view out of our minds.

Room Tip: The ends rooms seemed larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank boei58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2015

I'm scared to write a review because this place is a gem and I don't want to blow their cover! My bathroom had glass doorknobs, I was beside myself. Jeannie, she is just the best, really, she made my room change seamless! Thank you Jeannie! The rooms are immaculate and simple, if you want to wine and dine this is not for you. This is where you come to unplug all technology and take late and early walks on the beach. It's where you connect back with nature and realize all of our gadgets, iphones, laptops, tablets really take years off our lives. I felt like a 5yr when I was leaving because I didn't want to leave. Like the other posters said, it's a step back in time. And Nauset Beach is amazing! The beach is pristine, cold and clean and many many seals swim by all day long. There is Liam’s on the beach which has great fast food and lobstah bisque and lobstah rolls. Everyone was eating their famous onion rings. Let me not forget to mention the night sky and the stars....wow! So bright it felt like you could reach out and touch them. This place is captivating.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank rebec b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2015

This is the only lodging located within the Cape Cod National Seashore. The rooms are bare-boned but squeaky clean. Every room has a large picture window overlooking the sea. The beds were comfortable. The motel provides toiletries, bath towels, bedding and a small fridge. No coffee pot. I stocked up on instant coffee and used hot water from the tap, but we had no cups to drink our coffee from. There is a vending machine and ice machine.This place is terrific if you come prepared. Short walk to the beach over the public beach parking lot. Would stay again if I wanted to be on the beach, otherwise a quaint inn might be nice. PS, the on-site managers are delightful!

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank GinWilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2014 via mobile

Nauset Knoll is a old style "Motor Lodge" owned by the US Government as part of the National Seashore. It has an unbelievable view and easy walk right down to beautiful Nauset Beach below. Need to bring your own toiletries, hair dryer, coffee maker & cooler as the old motel style rooms appear unchanged since the 1960's, but are very clean. All in all a great value overlooking one of the best Cape Cod National Seashore beaches. Orleans and nearby Eastham offer many other attractions, restaurants, shopping & other bay side & ocean side beaches. If you love the Cape and want a very quiet motel setting with a spectacular view of the ocean side at an affordable rate....this is the place!

Stayed: September 2014, travelled with family
9  Thank Glen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Orleans
3.7 km away
Eagle Wing Inn - Cape Cod
5.3 km away
Skaket Beach Motel
Skaket Beach Motel
#1 of 8 in Orleans
440 reviews
0.5 km away
Ship's Knees Inn
Ship's Knees Inn
#3 of 5 in East Orleans
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
The Parsonage Inn
The Parsonage Inn
#2 of 5 in East Orleans
255 reviews
0.9 km away
Nauset House Inn
Nauset House Inn
#1 of 5 in East Orleans
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nauset Knoll Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nauset Knoll Motor Lodge

Address: 237 Beach Rd, P.O. Box 642, East Orleans, MA 02643
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > East Orleans
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in East Orleans
Price Range: RM356 - RM594 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A lodge with Cape Cod-style units with sweeping views of the ocean. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Nauset Knoll Motor Hotel East Orleans
Nauset Knoll Hotel
Nauset Knoll Motor Lodge East Orleans, MA, United States

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing