We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Seaside Suite” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Winnetu Oceanside Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Edgartown
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Winnetu Oceanside Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Edgartown
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely Seaside Suite”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

We booked a King 1-bedroom Suite in the main hotel. It was very nice. Very functional with a kitchen and fridge. The only thing we wish is that the bedroom would have been on the side facing the water instead of being on the side closest to the door. It was for the most part clean. The only thing we noticed was that some of the towels had brown stains on them. They looked like they had been washed but that the stains didn't come out. However, they gave us enough towels that we just searched for the ones without the stains. Our room included breakfast buffet. The service wasn't very good there and we didn't go back. The location is fantastic - just a short walk to South Beach which is a gorgeous beach. Some fun things are they have free s'mores night by a firepit. That was really fun. We liked having a kitchen and fridge.

Room Tip: Choose the top floor for best ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelbug100607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    508
    83
    27
    16
    9
See reviews for
366
163
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amherst, New Hampshire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2011

We've stayed on Martha's Vineyard several times in the past however this was our first trip with children (ages 3 and 1.5). We decided on the Winnetu because of the fabulous reviews and were so happy with our decision! The property is beautiful, very close to the beach with lots to do! Both of our children loved all of the activities from the daily face painting & fire truck rides to the smores at the end of each night. The entire staff, from the front desk & concierge to the face painters and smore makers, was delightful, The rooms were very nice and housekeeping was very friendly, We really enjoyed everything about the resort and are already in the process of booking for next summer!
As a side note: the clam bake should not be missed! It was one of the best, most memorable nights of the trip!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank April S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clifton Park, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

We decided to elope in Martha's Vineyard, we got married at the Winnetu Resort on the outdoor patio overlooking the grounds and ocean.

Roderick, the General Manager and his staff couldn't do enough for us. There were just four of us for the wedding and they treated us like it was a formal wedding occasion for 200 people. They helped make our day very special, and all the little personal touches they added never went unnoticed; like sending our floral arrangement to the restaurant where we dined afterwards, and writing a personal note wishing us a wonderful stay upon our arrival, and sending breakfast to our room even when they dont offer room service. They were very attentive and super friendly.

Our room which overlooked the ocean was fabulous, beds comfortable and room was super clean! The ocean is a short walk from the resort and it is just beautiful stretch of sandy beach. We made our advance registration for next year for our 1 yr anniversary- looking forward to it.

This place is very family and kid friendly, which helped out my sister and brother-in-law since they brought the kids with them. Jut a great place!!

Room Tip: We had an East Chop room with an ocean view and king size bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lintilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunterdon County, NJ
Level Contributor
77 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

My boyfriend took me here for me birthday, and I have to say the staff were some of the most accommodating I've ever experienced. We'll definately be back.

Room Tip: Although we didn't stay in one, apparently the rooms on the third floor have some fabulous ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank theseacret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
livingston, nj
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

We have visited Martha's Vineyard several times over the past 10 years or so and we always wanted to stay at the Winnetu (family friend has a place on the island, so we would always stay there) this time we finally stayed for two nights. The place is GREAT! The staff is wonderful, the rooms were clean and the pool was warm! We swam in October! Location to beach is right across the street and it is a quiet location. I would stay there again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jackie l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edgartown
13.5 km away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
4.5 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
4.6 km away
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Hotel
#2 of 4 in Edgartown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
12.3 km away
Summercamp Hotel
Summercamp Hotel
#3 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 km away
Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard
11.7 km away
Pequot Hotel
Pequot Hotel
#1 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
4.3 km away
The Hob Knob
The Hob Knob
#1 of 10 in Edgartown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winnetu Oceanside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winnetu Oceanside Resort

Property: Winnetu Oceanside Resort
Address: 31 Dunes Rd, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539-8600
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Edgartown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Edgartown
Price range (per night): RM1,993
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only resort located directly at South Beach, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard. Opened in year 2000, featuring 54 air-conditioned studios and suites and one and two-bedroom cottages. Over 80 private townhouses and homes also available for rent. Offering a complimentary Children's Day Program (in season); Parent/Toddler Program; heated swimming pools; tennis; yoga and fitness classes; Fitness Center; Concierge Services; life-size, outdoor chess; putting green; and shuttle service to Edgartown. Optional activities include: Children's Evening Program; Teen Program; weekly clambakes; sunset water taxi cruise to Edgartown; and Two-Island Adventure Trip to our sister Resort on Nantucket, The Nantucket Hotel. Ocean-view, family-friendly, casually upscale restaurant, The Dunes located on-site. Resort open mid-April through late October. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Winnetu Oceanside Hotel Edgartown
Winnetu Oceanside Edgartown
Winnetu Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing