We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.comUS$229
PricelineUS$229
Hotels.comUS$229
FindHotelUS$229
eDreamsUS$229
CheapTicketsUS$229
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (272)
Filter reviews
273 results
Traveller rating
176
63
24
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
176
63
24
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews antique shops view of the river essex river crane beach walking distance to great restaurants modern conveniences wingaersheek beach nice room comfy bed stayed one night great place to stay relaxing stay rooms are clean wonderful weekend beautiful location double shower jayne
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 273 reviews
Reviewed 26 May 2021

Met friends here for two nights to share this incredible spot and catch up with the past year! The rooms were fine, service wonderful ,location great and view spectacular! We couldn’t have asked for more!

Room tip: Enjoy the out of doors here...sitting area, outside restaurant next door, river cruise and many nearby attractions.
Date of stay: May 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 70,773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2021

Rooms are quaint and clean. Staff friendly extremely helpful. The pictures on their website do not do it justice. Exactly the place we were hoping for. Will be returning in the future. Thanks Gayle and Barry.

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Myles814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2021

I never been to Essex but have heard of Gloucester MA and saw Shea’s on Hotels.com and the property was what I was looking for for me and my boyfriend. The rooms open to the Essex river and watching the boats, So peaceful. Will love to stay here again.

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Destination728654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2021 via mobile

Amazing stay!!! Love it here. So friendly and beautiful. Can’t beat it. Rooms are very clean and wonderful. The restaurant is so delicious. Best clam chowder I’ve ever had! Have stayed several times and have never been disappointed!

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank agegerg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2020

Cheers to Gayle who helped us with all the re-booking and cancellations we had for our wedding party due to covid! She is a joy to talk to in person and very responsive via email and phone.

The rooms themselves are very quaint and charming. I also love the fact that they included all the things anyone would need (eye masks, robes, make-up removal wipes, etc).

We enjoyed our time there and look forward to staying again for some future anniversary!

Date of stay: October 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 322amyq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gayle McKinley, General Manager at Shea's Riverside Inn & Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2020

Thank you Amy and Bobby!! It was a roller-coaster ride for the two of you for sure, but, you made it through and worked it out and I'm so pleased we were able to work with you and be included in your Wedding Day celebration.

You and your guests were a pleasure to host and I very much look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Stay well, and thank you so much. I'll think of the two of you when I see rainbows over the Essex River for a long time to come (-:
Gayle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews