We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book now! This hotel is likely to sell out soon.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com
Booking.com
Hotels.com
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (581)
Filter reviews
581 results
Traveller rating
380
123
44
15
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
380
123
44
15
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bass quiche second floor main building twin lighthouses outdoor pool ocean balcony view muffins rockport benches sunrise privacy mile essex
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 581 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our patio was the best feature of the place. Right across from the water and Bass Rocks. BUT very noisy with what seemed like paper-thin walls. It is an older establishment. For people concerned with bathroom size, it's a joke! Tiniest, most uncomfortable room ever. No place or even hooks for wet towels. Grab and go breakfast was horrible, what with covid restrictions.

Room tip: There are no accessible rooms or amenities.
Date of stay: May 2021
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joji1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2021

Really uncomfortable bed.

Terrible Service (we couldn’t find anyone to check us in... we came back an hour later and still no one around)....and I was roaming around in my wedding dress. We eventually had to call the hotel to get someone on the phone and then wait for the person to make her way up the front desk.

Breakfast is pastries and yogurt, handed to you in a paper bag....nothing special. The main building that houses most rooms looks like a motel 6, but we stayed in what they call the mansion...a 3 story house.

Our room had a balcony but it was sealed off - so much for sitting out and enjoying the outdoors. The wooden balcony also looked dilapidated, rotted wooden posts with a pile of rusted nails on the balcony floor...not very nice to look at. The ad mentioned bath robes, but I could not find any. The room itself was also just...not a very nice looking room (the photos are very deceiving).

The view of the ocean was great. Everything else was really disappointing.

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Guest_100034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2020

Overall a very pleasant multi-day stay, our first hotel foray since the whole covid insanity began.

The hotel is easy to find, and less than five minutes away from gas, food, and the center of town. Check-in was easy and quick, with all of my questions answered before I could ask them. It was clear they were happy to have us there. There is ample parking.

The second-floor rooms are walk-up only; there are no elevators. And, there is an outdoor rooftop widows walk accessible in the middle of the main building.

There are some covid restrictions in place regarding housekeeping, specifically that they will not enter your room for daily service if you’re staying over. If you need any additional towels/supplies, just call and they are delivered in no time flat. Trash and other things are just left outside the door for housekeeping pickup. This process worked very well for our three nights there.

Breakfast is a bagged offering, in a number of flavors of muffins, available in the lobby. It’s a muffin, Kind bar, and a fruit cup. Not that impressive, but it got the job done and met all covid separation requirements.

There is a pool and spa tub, with times now regulated due to covid. There is also an outdoor gas firepit, and hammocks in the front yard. There are two benches across the street for hotel guests only.

The view is of the ocean, duh, with views to the north or south depending on what end of the hotel you’re on. We were to the south, so our views were to the north, the stunning multi-million-dollar houses of Bass Rocks, and the island to the north, including the twin lighthouses on Thacher Island. There is no beach here, only rocks. There are no paths to the water, and the walking the rocks is a challenge and could be extremely treacherous for small kids of those unsure of their feet. You can fish from the rocks, if you can work your way down to the water.

You get great ocean wave sound at the hotel, better/louder on the 2nd floor rooms. The one major drawback is that Atlantic Road is between the hotel and the sea…and it’s a pretty busy thoroughfare. So, along with the awesome sound of the sea, you get frequent non-awesome sounds of all manner of vehicles passing by.

The room was clean and tidy upon arrival, with no obvious damage and everything in proper working order. The TV is a nice, big LG that was super-responsive and quick, with a good selection of channels. The closet has undergone some work, and was not painted consistently, not a big deal, but a little screwy. A/C worked just fine. The mattress was quite firm, which I liked but my partner did not.

Checkout was super-easy as well.

Bottom Line: very nice place to stay right at the ocean.

Room tip: Second floor is best for views; corners are best for views to the north/south, depending on what you want
Date of stay: September 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank rugby007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager Newport Hotel Group, Owner at Ocean House Hotel at Bass Rocks, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2020

Thank you for being our guests at the Ocean House Hotel at Bass Rocks and writing such a great review. We are pleased to hear that our staff, our amenities, and the hotel itself met/exceeded your expectations. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We pride ourselves on providing engaging and personalized service and are thrilled that we were able to deliver on our promise. We look forward to hosting you again the next time you're in town!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2020 via mobile

Excellent location with a beautiful ocean view from the balcony. Great location, close to Main Street with great restaurants and cafe’s and to art colony. 20 minutes from Rockport and great place to visit.

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank malev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager Newport Hotel Group, Owner at Ocean House Hotel at Bass Rocks, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2020

Thank you for staying with us at the Ocean House Hotel at Bass Rocks. Thank you very much for letting us know that our history and location made a difference for your visit to Gloucester...we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2020

Facility and the location were exceptional. Views from the room brought a sense of calm in this current COVID environment. One would not know that this location, Gloucester, could offer such beauty and arousal for the fantastic ocean front scenary - compliments of the Ocean House Hotel at Bass Rocks. Would highly recommend this location for a stint away, especially off the summer season.

Room tip: any room has exception views but preferred the King bed - couple getaway
Date of stay: September 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Cjschermerhorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews