We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming spot”
Review of The Roadhouse Cafe

The Roadhouse Cafe
Ranked #16 of 205 Restaurants in Hyannis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Italian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Our menu offers everything from native seafood dishes, such as cioppino and blackened swordfish, to Italian specialties and pasta dishes, and a variety of choice steaks. If you're looking for a lighter bite, look no further than our Bistro where we offer salads, sandwiches and thin-crust gourmet pizzas in addition to our full dinner menu. A carefully culled wine list, 20 of which are available by the glass, and nearly 30 beer selections round it all out. House-made desserts, espresso and cappuccino are the perfect ending to a perfect evening at the Roadhouse Cafe. Whether it's a romantic dinner for two or a private party of 150, let the Roadhouse Cafe make your evening a memorable one.
Reviewed 14 December 2017 via mobile

A great restaurant near Main Street in Hyannis. Good menu options. Not great for big groups or kids, more of a date night kinda place. It’s dark and romantic but also good for girls night out. It’s been around forever and always delivers a good meal. Parking is convenient.

1  Thank ScituateGurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo C, Public Relations Manager at The Roadhouse Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2017

Thanks so much for your positive review! We look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (525)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 525 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2017

Had a great early dinner at the Roadhouse Café at 488 South Street in downtown Hyannis on Friday, the 8th of December, 2017 after work with my best friend for food and fun. Valet parking hadn't started up when we arrived, so we had to find a parking place on our own and walk back to the restaurant. Not a problem, even in the cold and the dark, and it saved us a gratuity. Hostess Lori showed great hospitality and flexibility in letting us switch to a tight booth in a quiet corner from the tiny table that had been preselected for us by whosoever was in charge up front when we walked in.
.
Expert waitress, Effie, did a great job. She sold both of us on special offerings that night, mine being Nantucket bay scallops in a delicious red sauce and my dining mate's being the special baked stuffed haddock, all without mentioning the prices of either. Both specials were especially great and my dinner mate’s plate and my bowl went back to the kitchen clean. I did take half of the asparagus home that came in a side plate and had them with breakfast on Saturday.
.
The check told me my scallops had cost almost $35 and the haddock almost $25. We had a coupon for ten dollars off; the tax was $3.49.
.
We were pleasantly surprised with salads that came gratis as we were in the early bird zone. Sadly, they came pre-dressed; no option for no dressing, another kind of dressing or having the dressing on the side. Fortunately, the house dressing is delicious. They sell it over the counter, but it has to be kept refrigerated. If you are here in the summer, bring your cooler.
.
Spoke with manager Lisa as the meal was winding down. I was concerned at the consistent shape of the scallops I was eating. Each of them was in the shape of a tiny cylinder, too similar in size and shape to be a product of nature, I suspected. Lisa assured me they were genuine scallops, fresh from Nantucket. They come shucked, she said, a product of an all too brief season.
.
The food was nutritious, delicious and priced appropriately for downtown Hyannis. The restaurant has great ambiance, including this night a roaring fireplace full of flame at the end of the bar in the back of the restaurant. The atmosphere was greatly enhanced by the seasonal decorations. All in all, it was a great experience, not just a great meal. Thank you to you three ladies out front, Lori, Effie and Lisa, and the magicians in the kitchen who made it so.
.
Hope to make it back here soon. Would be nice to see you here, too.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Robert J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo C, Public Relations Manager at The Roadhouse Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2017

Thank you so much for your review! We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed your meal with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon! Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2017

We had not been there in quite a while, but were very pleased that we returned this evening. Reservations are a must on busy nights, and we were seated promptly when we arrived. Our table was a little "busy". in the isle to the bar/lounge area, but not a problem. If you want a secluded table, they are few and far between, so ask in advance. Service was great and the food was better than we remembered. Prices are not cheap, but you get what you pay for.The Pork Osso Bucco was fabulous, and the Salmon specialty of the evening was ample and well prepared. Highly recommended location. We'll be going back next month when we'll be in the area for another evening event. ( Valet parking on busy nights)

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo C, Public Relations Manager at The Roadhouse Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2017

Thank you so much for your positive review! We're delighted you enjoyed your visit, and we look forward to seeing you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2017

We love this place usually and are locals. But the short rib was mostly fatty and not edible really. When you go for dinner you want to be able to cut into your meat and enjoy it. There was mostly fat and very little lean meat. Left most of it on the plate. And they need to do something with those ridiculous menus. Way too tall and awkward at the table. Too easy to spill your drinks with them. They need to add pages and make the menu management at the table. This is a known gripe of customers, so please fix it.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank 451jenh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo C, Public Relations Manager at The Roadhouse Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2017

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback and have passed these concerns on to management. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2017

Don't be misled by the café in the title. This place was awesome. Had the baby back ribs, and they fell off the bone. Try this place!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Peggy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo C, Public Relations Manager at The Roadhouse Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Thanks so much for your positive review! We're happy to hear you enjoyed your visit. See you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Roadhouse Cafe also viewed

 

Been to The Roadhouse Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing