We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loud, busy, and quite good”
Review of Black Cat Tavern

Black Cat Tavern
Ranked #16 of 212 Restaurants in Hyannis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$33
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, View
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Our casual waterfront restaurant is located right on the docks of Hyannis Harbor across from the Hy-Line ferries. Dine inside, where the look is all about classic seaside style, or outside on our heated patio while watching the boats sail in and out of the harbor. The menu features everything from thick, juicy burgers and garden-fresh salads to fresh native seafood and prime beef. Visit the Black Cat Tavern, year-round favorite among locals and visitors alike. Serving lunch, dinner and Sunday brunch with entertainment four nights a week in the lounge. Plenty of free parking with valet service offered for your convenience.
Reviewed 27 July 2016

This place is right at the exit of the ferry and so it is the first place that travelers encounter as they come off the ship.This being the case, it is always hopping. the food was good and fresh. We enjoyed two different fish specials as well as their "award winning" clam chowder. It was all good. The service was prompt and helpful. If you can overcome the noise and hubbub you will enjoy your meal. This is not the place for a romantic dinner.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank tbv77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackcathyannis, Public Relations Manager at Black Cat Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2016

Thank you for your honest review, we truly appreciate the feedback! Hope to see you back in the future for more seafood and chowder.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,908)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

670 - 674 of 1,908 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2016

All I can say about this place is YUMMMM!! The food was excellent and the service superb. Our waiter was always nearby if we needed anything. Be careful when you first arrive and they seat you. The hostess will ask if you want water, then she walks over with a $12 bottle of water for the table. We didn't open it so the waiter removed it from our tab.
We sat outside in front of the restaurant, almost on the sidewalk, but it was really cool. You got to enjoy the view as well at the boats right across the street.
You can't go wrong with this place. If you're in Hyannis, definitely stop in and have something to eat. They have the restaurant where we ate, and right next door the same place, but much more casual (paper plates, plastic utensils, etc.) - I think that area is pet friendly.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Purplerooster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackcathyannis, Public Relations Manager at Black Cat Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2016

Thank you for your review, we are glad to hear you enjoyed your time spent with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2016

The food was wonderful and the staff was very informative and helpful in the selection of what to have. Ryan, the Valet was great as well!

Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackcathyannis, Public Relations Manager at Black Cat Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2016

Thank you for your review Lisa, we hope to see you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2016

I eat here every time I come to Cape Cod and it hasn't let me down once! I highly suggest the stuff whole lobster - or if you are on a tighter budger, the stuffed shrimp. It has the same yummy lobster stuffing (think crabcake, but better)! If you are into artisan salads, they have a beet/goat cheese/walnut salad that is making my mouth water as I type this! Neat atmosphere - very busy however, so be prepared to wait if you go during prime dining hours. They only take reservations for groups of 6 or more. They do have a nice outdoor bar where you can have a drink along the harbor while waiting for your table. Definitely a must-go when in Hyannis!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lexipup12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackcathyannis, Public Relations Manager at Black Cat Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2016

Thank you for your review and constant support, we truly appreciate it! We look forward to seeing you again for more lobster.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2016 via mobile

The food was very good, it was extremely busy and crowded, so the A/C inside could not keep up. Next time we'll request the outside w/the breeze.

Thank MicheleAndrade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackcathyannis, Public Relations Manager at Black Cat Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2016

Thank you for your review Michele! We hope to see you again soon, perhaps the Shack out Back for some live music and outdoor dining.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Black Cat Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Black Cat Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing