We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing seafood and burgers to die for”
Review of Black Cat Tavern

Black Cat Tavern
Ranked #14 of 207 Restaurants in Hyannis
Price range: US$11 - US$33
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Our casual waterfront restaurant is located right on the docks of Hyannis Harbor across from the Hy-Line ferries. Dine inside, where the look is all about classic seaside style, or outside on our heated patio while watching the boats sail in and out of the harbor. The menu features everything from thick, juicy burgers and garden-fresh salads to fresh native seafood and prime beef. Visit the Black Cat Tavern, year-round favorite among locals and visitors alike. Serving lunch, dinner and Sunday brunch with entertainment four nights a week in the lounge. Plenty of free parking with valet service offered for your convenience.
Reviewed 22 October 2017

Wonderful place for lunch. We were attended really nicely by their great staff and the food is delicious and portions really generous. The fried seafood is amazing and the burgers are out of this world. Well done to the Black Cat.

Thank Carlos_Gonzalez2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackcathyannis, Public Relations Manager at Black Cat Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2017

Thank you so much for your positive review! We're thrilled you enjoyed your meals and look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,799)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

84 - 88 of 1,799 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2017 via mobile

Typical "Cape" atmosphere in this tavern in Hyannis. It had all what I was looking for: oysters (I recommend those from Barnstable, just delicious), clam chowder, boiled or baked lobster, and more ... Try to get a table close to the bar. A bit pricey but definitely worth. Enjoy

Thank MFalcone62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackcathyannis, Public Relations Manager at Black Cat Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2017

We appreciate your review! Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
3
Reviewed 20 October 2017 via mobile

My wife and I showed up without reservation and were seated immediately. The place was packed! The bar had live music. The noise kind'a spilled into the restaurant creating a noisy environment for dinner.
There was plenty of food. My wife ordered the lobster risotto which was very flavorful and filled with chunks of lobster. I had the diver scallops, also with risotto, and her dinner was much better.

I recommend this restaurant.

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackcathyannis, Public Relations Manager at Black Cat Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2017

Thanks so much for your review! We're glad to hear you enjoyed our lobster risotto. See you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2017 via mobile

Great little find! Really cool funky cosy place and great food! Really friendly service and amazing chowder and stir fry. Wish I could have tried more!

Thank benjamesstark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackcathyannis, Public Relations Manager at Black Cat Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2017

Thanks so much for your positive review! We hope you'll stop in again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2017

Steak tips were cooked to order. Great service. The patio was heated and very comfortable. We previously had eaten inside and had a good experience. We went back again.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackcathyannis, Public Relations Manager at Black Cat Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2017

Thank you so much for your review! We're delighted you enjoyed your second visit. See you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Black Cat Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Black Cat Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing