We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Clark Currier Inn(Newburyport)
US$195
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$250
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Market Street Inn(Newburyport)
US$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beachway Motel(Salisbury)
US$199
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$138
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seabrook Inn(Seabrook)
US$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Compass Rose Inn(Newburyport)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (428)
Filter reviews
428 results
Traveller rating
235
111
53
11
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
235
111
53
11
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main streetgreat locationgas fireplacejacuzzi tubstandard roombagelsrestaurants and shopsin towncontinental breakfast isair conditionerenjoyed our staynew englandcan't beat the locationpark your carfirst floorstreet parkingqueen bed
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 428 reviews
Reviewed 20 March 2018 via mobile

Do you like quaint? History? Walks A long the rivers edge, nature trails, unlimited shops , great restaurants, all within walking distance from a delightful Inn in downtown historic Newburyport, Massachusetts. Yup, that's what you will find at The Essex Street Inn! My husband and I stayed there last night everyone was so nice and helpful, our room was clean and comfortable and I will stay there again! You really should check with Alex or Kathy and book your room!
We had a terrific tree hugger pizza, and house burger at Stone Crust Artisan Pizza on pleasant street around the corner from the inn, what a great staff of young adults, and the food was awesome!! Reasonable prices too!
That's all I'm gonna show you the rest you'll have to discover yourselves!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank ggharrigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy H, Operations Supervisor at Essex Street Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2018

We thank this guest for their recent stay and taking the time to post this review. We are pleased to hear that they enjoyed the Newburyport area and the our quaint Inn that is truly a hidden gem in the heart of it all.

Our hope is that others who read this review will take it upon themselves to wish to discover the beauty and charm the Historic Newburyport, MA and the Essex Street Inn have to offer our guests.

Thank you,
Kathy Hitchings
Operations Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay, and will be going back again in April or May. They offer a wonderful rewards program as well. The location is excellent, everything is within walking distance. It is great, you park your car and leave it there. The staff are all very friendly and helpful. The breakfast is great. We loved it, and can't wait to go back.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank Mastronunzio213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy H, Operations Supervisor at Essex Street Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2018

We thank this guest for their recent stay and taking the time to post this review. Our location is definitely a plus especially to visitors who opt to take public transportation when visiting. We are pleased to hear these guests are members of our Royalty Rewards program and not only look forward to them staying with us again and again. Hope they will take full advantage of all the perks this program has to offer by visiting our 4 other New England Hospitality properties.

Best,
Kathy Hitchings
Operations Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2018

The Essex Street Inn had wonderful accommodations for my 2-night stay. It was a beautifully done early 1800's building (There are 3 that are adjacent.) that was very clean and friendly, flexible staff attended to our needs. The room included both a fireplace and hot tub, which we enjoyed.And it's right in town so a very easy walk to restaurants, pubs, a theater and waterfront area.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Rich T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy H, Operations Supervisor at Essex Street Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2018

We appreciate this guests recent stay and thank them for taking the time to post this review. Our suites with Jacuzzi's and fireplaces are popular especially in the winter season and are happy they took full advantage of these amenities and were pleased with their accommodation choice.
We look forward to having them return in the future.

Kathy Hitchings
Operations Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2018 via mobile

Top notch service & accommodations from check in to stay to check out. Room was spacious, clean and included a fireplace that not only looked romantic but efficiently heated the room, a bonus for my heat-seeking wife. The breakfast included is not your standard, limited assortment but included cheese, HB eggs, various juices, etc. Loved it. Will be back!

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Kevin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy H, Operations Supervisor at Essex Street Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2018

We thank this guest for their recent stay and posting this excellent review of this stay.

We look forward to them return in the near future.

Kathy Hitchings
Operations Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2018 via mobile

The Essex Street inn. Is one of the best places to stay. We go at least four times a year, just for a quick getaway or for a few days. Conveniently located to mane amazing restaurants and shops. Park your car and walk to every thing. The staff goes above and beyond to make your stay enjoyable

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Ann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy H, Operations Supervisor at Essex Street Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2018

We thank this just for their recent stay and taking the time to post this review.

We are pleased to hear that once again these guests had a great visit and do look forward to seeing them again soon !

Kathy Hitchings
Operations Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews