We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch in a charming setting”

The Dan'l Webster Inn Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
The Dan'l Webster Inn Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 70 Restaurants in Sandwich
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$40
Cuisines: American, Contemporary, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Traditional favorites share the menu with contemporary cuisine. Lovely dining rooms offer a choice of settings; candle-lit rooms, fireside dining in the Music Room or garden side dining in the sun or moonlit Conservatory combine with outstanding service and innovative cuisine to produce a positively exceptional dining experience. We welcome guests in all our dining rooms dressed from casual to their Sunday best. The Dan'l Webster Inn serves contemporary American cuisine for lunch and dinner daily, year round. Start your day in elegant style with a delightful Breakfast. Recipient of The Wine Spectator's prestigious Best of Award of Excellence, features wines that will please even the most discriminating guest. The Inn, recognized as a Distinguished Restaurant of North America, offers familiar favorites such as the most tender prime rib and filet mignon available along with seasonal and creative dishes from our constantly changing Chef's Special Menu
Reviewed 9 August 2017

My husband and I stopped at the Inn to celebrate our anniversary and were very pleased with the food, the staff, and the setting. It is an upscale venue and just right for a special outing.

Thank Isabella3890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimSt, Executive Assistant at The Dan'l Webster Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2017

Dear Isabella3890 ~
Happy Anniversary and thank you for choosing us to spend it with! I'm happy to read that your lunch was great and the setting charming!
Thank you and see you next year! :)

Sincerely;
Andrea Tierney
Dining Room Manager

Submitted by:
Kim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (661)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 69 of 661 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2017 via mobile

Wow!!! While the ambiance was old and could use some updating, the food and service were beyond compare! The lobster chowder was delicious! The lobster grilled cheese was spectacular. Really not a bad option there and the service was way above par. We were concerned because it was the only place open in Sandwich on Monday, but luck was in our favor. Have no complaints at all.

Thank laxskimom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimSt, Executive Assistant at The Dan'l Webster Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2017

Dear laxskimom ~
Thanks so much for sharing your fabulous comments with us. "WOW" and an "OMG" not to mention the "delicious" and "spectacular"... what more could we ask for?
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments.

Sincerely;
Andrea Tierney
Dining Room Manager

Submitted by:
Kim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2017

Higher end restaurant. Several seating choices. Excellent food, well prepared. Great bar and tavern for drinks, etc.

Thank Mayburycapecod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimSt, Executive Assistant at The Dan'l Webster Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2017

Dear Mayburycapecod ~
We appreciate your recent review on your visit with us. We are always glad to hear when our guests find our food excellend and well prepared. We love our Tavern too!

Thank you for taking the time!
Sincerely;
Andrea Tierney
Dining Room Manager

Submitted by:
Kim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017 via mobile

We started out with scallops wrapped in bacon which were excellent. It had a little salad with mustard Vinegarette which was equally as great. Our entree was the stuffed shrimp (stuffing w/scallops) which was outstanding. Awesome lunch - can't wait to go back! Next time however I will opt for inside dining as the patio was small and it was very hot.

Thank Frank P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimSt, Executive Assistant at The Dan'l Webster Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2017

Dear Frank P ~
We appreciate you taking the time to share your great lunch experience with us. We are always happy to hear when our guests find our food "excellent". Thank you.

Sincerely;
Andrea Tierney
Dining Room Manager

Submitted by:
Kim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2017 via mobile

We went for lunch. You have a choice of the dining room or the tavern which gives you a choice of in the bar or casual dining area. The menu is the same in all 3 places. We chose seating in the tavern dining. The service started our very attentive. But the waitress was not very familiar with the menu. The lobster chowder was amazing. I would go back again for that and a cocktail. But then it took ages to get lunch. My husbands pizza liked great - nice thin crispy crust and he loved it. I had the chicken pot pie. Ok but large squares of chicken breast that was dry, but the flaky top and the gravy were good.

1  Thank Celeste J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimSt, Executive Assistant at The Dan'l Webster Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2017

Dear Celeste J ~
Thank you for taking time to share your comments with us. I do apologize for your server not being very familiar with the menu. Training is always on-going. I will be sure to pass your comments on to our Executive Chef. Our lobster chowder is a great choice and glad you enoyed it.
Thank you again for your comments and we will definitely follow-up on all the points you made; thank you for letting us know.

Sincerely;
Andrea Tierney
Dining Room Manager

Submitted by:
Kim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Dan'l Webster Inn Restaurant also viewed

Sandwich, Cape Cod
 
Sandwich, Cape Cod
Sandwich, Cape Cod
 

Been to The Dan'l Webster Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing