We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Thom Reed - UFO Monument Park
Save
Review Highlights
Funky Indeed

There's a sign on US7 for the covered bridge. Take it. The bridge is about 100 yards off US7. The... read more

Reviewed 1 October 2018
filmg
,
New England
Monument has been removed

who doesn't love alien abduction stories? Sadly the concrete monument has been removed, apparently... read more

Reviewed 5 November 2019
FireWireDiver
Read all 10 reviews
  
Reviews (10)
Filter reviews
10 results
Traveller rating
5
1
3
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
5
1
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews covered bridge history channel coincidence marker benches field
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 10 reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2019

who doesn't love alien abduction stories? Sadly the concrete monument has been removed, apparently under some scandal in the newspaper in early 2019. However the bridge - which is one of the oldest covered bridges remains and on the far side of the bridge is a new sign commemorating the REED's experience. A short distance past the bridge is an eerie crop field - coincidence? Not sure you believe the story? Look it up on youtube.....we are not alone. :)

Date of experience: October 2019
2  Thank FireWireDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ufomonumentpark, Owner at Thom Reed - UFO Monument Park, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2021

The Town of Sheffield installed the Monument in 2015 via the DPW and a Boston Law-firm. But for unknown reasons Nadine (A Sheffield Selectmen) put the Town in a vulnerable position when she lied to the papers asserting "Reed" installed the Monument. Nadine later confessed, and a new Park Centerpiece was added in 2019.
See documents: www.ufopark.org

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2019 via mobile

We came to the covered bridge and park. Cute little place to walk around with benches and lights. There is a monument marker from the history channel marking the UFO sighting. Interesting fact.

Date of experience: November 2019
3  Thank blondpole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2019

My wife and I were on a road trip around New England and just entering the outskirts of Sheffield on Route 7. As I drove I was compelled to glance to my left and saw a covered bridge down a side road. We decided to turn round and visit the covered bridge. We love seeing covered bridges. We parked up and we were taking in the scenery and taking photographs when I noticed the plaque mounted on a pole on the other side of the bridge. It had been dedicated by the History Channel and was to commemorate the first UFO siting by Thomas Reed and his family on 1 September 1969. The small park near the river is a beautiful place to visit. On researching the site on the Internet after reaching our hotel I discovered that the original concrete block and large metal plaque had been torn down and removed by the local council on 4 June 2019 because of a planning/boundary dispute. Anyway we really enjoyed looking at the parkland, the river and the covered bridge. We were both really interested in reading the plaque and experiencing the location of the first UFO siting. We then drove to our destination in Connecticut. During that evening in our hotel room we decided to watch the History Channel on the TV and there was a program about Thomas Reed and his experience with aliens! How spooky is that! In addition the date of the UFO incident of 1 September 1969 was the date that I started my first job and stayed with the company for 42 years. Coincidence or spooky?

Date of experience: September 2019
3  Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2019 via mobile

The road to the bridge is close while the bridge gets a new roof, not sure when it will re-open, perhaps by the end of August. The UFO plaque has been moved to the other side of the river, next to the east bank of the Housatonic.

Date of experience: July 2019
1  Thank Thaddeus13K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2019

A small park with big name sponsors, such as History Channels Ancient Aliens. What we talked about when back on the road, was the many familiar names who sponsor or are affiliated. That's what had us talking, so its very unique in that why.

Date of experience: May 2019
1  Thank Syfy-Cosplay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews