We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B I've ever stayed in”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Captain Farris House Bed & Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 April 2017

Okay, I may not be a B&B maven -- I've only stayed in 15 or 20 of them over the years. But of this number, Captain Farris stands head and shoulders above the others. The beds are fantastic. The breakfasts are scrumptious. And the hosts, they don't come nicer or more charming.

Room Tip: One of the rooms comes with a 2-person Jacuzzi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Watsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CJWatson47, Owner at Captain Farris House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2017

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback! So glad that you enjoyed your stay and that we made the cut! lol We look forward to the next time!

Best regards,
Carol & Jeff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (297)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 26 of 297 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2017 via mobile

Captain Farris House was recommended to us by a work colleague who had been there many years before. We checked out the website, but were wary as we've been fooled by misleading photos on websites before. No such worries this time!
We were late arriving, having been caught in traffic driving down from Boston. Owners Jeff and Carol waited to welcome us and took the time to show us around and make sure we were settled in properly. Our room was well appointed, very tastefully furnished and scrupulously clean. Over the 3 days we were there, nothing was too much trouble for Jeff or Carol. They took time to recommend places to eat and visit, and they had menus from local restaurants so we could make informed choices on where to go. The quality and presentation of the food at breakfast time was exceptional. We didn't eat lunch because the breakfasts were so good. The levels of service were impeccable, Jeff and Carol are genuinely nice people and did everything they could to make our stay comfortable and enjoyable.
You will find cheaper B&Bs if you look for them, but we doubt you will find a better one.
We would wholeheartedly recommend this place to others!

Ian and Dee

Stayed: April 2017
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CJWatson47, Owner at Captain Farris House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2017

Dear Ian and Dee,
Glad that you arrived back home safely! We truly enjoyed your visit and so glad that you chose the Captain Farris House after your co-worker recommended us! I'm thankful that we lived up to her recollection! We hope that our paths cross again! until then...God Bless!

Best,
Carol & Jeff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2017

We booked a suite, because this was the only room that was left at the weekend. We loved the two rooms, the decoration, the bathroom, the wonderful breakfast and our phantastic hosts Carol and Jeff!!
It was a wonderful weekend!!!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cora P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CJWatson47, Owner at Captain Farris House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2017

Thank you SO MUCH for taking time to provide this great review! We really appreciate it and are so glad that you enjoyed your stay! We hope that you return to visit again soon! Best, Carol & Jeff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2017 via mobile

We recently arrived a day early and they were very friendly and helped us get in and find a nice place for dinner. The inn is very clean and breakfast was delicious. The inn keepers are very nice and helpful. We would highly recommend it.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Luckycat07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CJWatson47, Owner at Captain Farris House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2017

Thank you so much for your review! We are so glad to know that you enjoyed your stay. We hope that you come back and visit us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2017

Let me start by saying this place is super clean.Theses people are going to be very successful with this business. They are not just nice they are super nice. Me and my wife are not fans of inns because you don"t get much privacy but when i read the reviews i decided to go to this inn. WE really enjoyed our stay and we going back very soon. Jeff and Carol go out of the way to make sure you are happy with your stay and they are very generous and the food is excellent. Jeff and Carol thank you are very much for making us feel at home and wishing you the very best in your Captain Farris Inn Business . Anthony and Evelyn Nigro

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank airwOIF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CJWatson47, Owner at Captain Farris House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2017

Dear Anthony and Evelyn, Thank you so much for your kind words and feedback. We truly enjoy our guests and we are so happy that you recognize the care and time that we take to make sure that you enjoy your stay. Looking forward to the next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Yarmouth
2.8 km away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#6 of 21 in South Yarmouth
276 reviews
4.2 km away
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 21 in South Yarmouth
623 reviews
3.8 km away
Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites
Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites
#7 of 21 in South Yarmouth
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Ocean Club On Smugglers' Beach
Ocean Club On Smugglers' Beach
#3 of 21 in South Yarmouth
404 reviews
10.9 km away
Brewster By The Sea
Brewster By The Sea
#4 of 10 in Brewster
553 reviews
2.5 km away
Blue Rock Resort
Blue Rock Resort
#5 of 21 in South Yarmouth
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Farris House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Farris House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 308 Old Main St, Bass River Village, South Yarmouth, MA 02664-4530
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > South Yarmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in South Yarmouth
Price Range: RM822 - RM1,167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Captain Farris House Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautifully restored bed and breakfast is ideally located on mid Cape Cod in the historic Bass River Village of South Yarmouth. Each room/suite is individually decorated and comfortable, all with private baths. Most of our rooms have double Jacuzzis,fireplaces and walk out decks. Each morning enjoy our seasonal full breakfast served at your own table for two. Afternoon teas and cookies and evening cordials also included. We are located close to beaches, Nantucket and Martha's Vineyard ferry, fine and casual dining, shopping and all that Cape Cod has to offer. Open year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Captain Farris House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Farris House Cape Cod Hotel South Yarmouth
The Captain Farris House
Captain Farris House Bed & Breakfast South Yarmouth, MA - Cape Cod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing