We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Captain Farris House Bed & Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 May 2017

This was our first B&B on Cape Cod. Our decision was based on recommendations and reviews. The reviews,since owners/innkeepers Carol & Jeff Watson took ownership, were glowing. The reviews were not wrong. Our experience was exceptional. I made our reservations directly with Carol. She took the time to answer all questions. We choose the "Russell's Hideaway" room based on their website photos. We were not disappointed. Our room was spotless, featuring king bed, gas fireplace, sofa & chair, cable TV, DVD player (including a selection of DVDs), telephone, and radio alarm clock. Bathroom was very spacious and clean. We shared a semi-private balcony with our own set of table and chairs to watch the sunset. Although our room was located above the kitchen, we never heard a sound. Once we settled in, Carol and Jeff gave us a tour of the B&B. All areas were tidy, clean, and inviting. A selection of hot beverages and soft drinks were available 24 hours. Sherry/Port wine was very tasty. Breakfast was filling and pleasant to the eyes and palate. Fresh baked cookies filled the air in the afternoon. local area restaurant menus were available along with Carol & Jeff's own recommendations. They always offered to make dinner reservations. An extensive selection of area attractions and maps were displayed. Location was one block from scenic Route 28 connecting upper and lower Cape Cod. A couple of miles from Route 6. Overall, we could have not have been more satisfied. Carol and Jeff are most gracious hosts and truly take a genuine interest in their guests. We shall return!

Room Tip: Website photos were current and accurate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Anthony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CJWatson47, Owner at Captain Farris House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2017

Thank you SO MUCH for your kind review! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you visit us again soon! All our best!!

Carol & Jeff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (297)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 297 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2017 via mobile

A couple months back my wife and I had the opportunity to visit this amazing Inn. The innkeepers carol and Jeff were wonderful people. The inn was beyond beautiful, and romantic. This place is filled with old but beautiful woodwork and antique furnishings. Carol and Jeff made us feel so comfortable there, like we were a part of they're own family. The food they prepared for us was to die for I felt like I was at a five star restaurant, everything was so freshly prepared. I especially looked forward to the yummy baked goods prepared for a great snack. I will definitely recommend this place to anyone looking for a great getaway with that special someone or just because you deserve it!!!

Nick and jess

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Nicholas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CJWatson47, Owner at Captain Farris House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2017

Thank you SO MUCH for taking the time to provide your review! We really appreciate your kind words and we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay! Looking forward to the next time!!

Best, Carol & Jeff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2017

Okay, I may not be a B&B maven -- I've only stayed in 15 or 20 of them over the years. But of this number, Captain Farris stands head and shoulders above the others. The beds are fantastic. The breakfasts are scrumptious. And the hosts, they don't come nicer or more charming.

Room Tip: One of the rooms comes with a 2-person Jacuzzi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Watsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CJWatson47, Owner at Captain Farris House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2017

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback! So glad that you enjoyed your stay and that we made the cut! lol We look forward to the next time!

Best regards,
Carol & Jeff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2017 via mobile

Captain Farris House was recommended to us by a work colleague who had been there many years before. We checked out the website, but were wary as we've been fooled by misleading photos on websites before. No such worries this time!
We were late arriving, having been caught in traffic driving down from Boston. Owners Jeff and Carol waited to welcome us and took the time to show us around and make sure we were settled in properly. Our room was well appointed, very tastefully furnished and scrupulously clean. Over the 3 days we were there, nothing was too much trouble for Jeff or Carol. They took time to recommend places to eat and visit, and they had menus from local restaurants so we could make informed choices on where to go. The quality and presentation of the food at breakfast time was exceptional. We didn't eat lunch because the breakfasts were so good. The levels of service were impeccable, Jeff and Carol are genuinely nice people and did everything they could to make our stay comfortable and enjoyable.
You will find cheaper B&Bs if you look for them, but we doubt you will find a better one.
We would wholeheartedly recommend this place to others!

Ian and Dee

Stayed: April 2017
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CJWatson47, Owner at Captain Farris House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2017

Dear Ian and Dee,
Glad that you arrived back home safely! We truly enjoyed your visit and so glad that you chose the Captain Farris House after your co-worker recommended us! I'm thankful that we lived up to her recollection! We hope that our paths cross again! until then...God Bless!

Best,
Carol & Jeff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2017

We booked a suite, because this was the only room that was left at the weekend. We loved the two rooms, the decoration, the bathroom, the wonderful breakfast and our phantastic hosts Carol and Jeff!!
It was a wonderful weekend!!!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cora P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CJWatson47, Owner at Captain Farris House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2017

Thank you SO MUCH for taking time to provide this great review! We really appreciate it and are so glad that you enjoyed your stay! We hope that you return to visit again soon! Best, Carol & Jeff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Yarmouth
2.8 km away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#6 of 21 in South Yarmouth
276 reviews
4.2 km away
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 21 in South Yarmouth
623 reviews
3.8 km away
Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites
Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites
#7 of 21 in South Yarmouth
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Ocean Club On Smugglers' Beach
Ocean Club On Smugglers' Beach
#3 of 21 in South Yarmouth
404 reviews
10.9 km away
Brewster By The Sea
Brewster By The Sea
#4 of 10 in Brewster
552 reviews
0.7 km away
All Seasons Resort
All Seasons Resort
#10 of 21 in South Yarmouth
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Farris House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Farris House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 308 Old Main St, Bass River Village, South Yarmouth, MA 02664-4530
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > South Yarmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in South Yarmouth
Price Range: RM824 - RM1,170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Captain Farris House Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautifully restored bed and breakfast is ideally located on mid Cape Cod in the historic Bass River Village of South Yarmouth. Each room/suite is individually decorated and comfortable, all with private baths. Most of our rooms have double Jacuzzis,fireplaces and walk out decks. Each morning enjoy our seasonal full breakfast served at your own table for two. Afternoon teas and cookies and evening cordials also included. We are located close to beaches, Nantucket and Martha's Vineyard ferry, fine and casual dining, shopping and all that Cape Cod has to offer. Open year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Captain Farris House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Farris House Cape Cod Hotel South Yarmouth
The Captain Farris House
Captain Farris House Bed & Breakfast South Yarmouth, MA - Cape Cod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing