We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lobster Roll Top Notch”
Review of The Gateway Tavern

The Gateway Tavern
Ranked #3 of 50 Restaurants in Wareham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$20
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Situated on the picturesque Weweantic River, the Gateway Tavern is a family friendly restaurant with plenty of seating in our dining room. Watch a game while gathered around the bar with friends, have a family dinner night out in our dining room or call in a take out order. Great Food, Portions and absolutely delicious! Waterfront Dining on our deck overlooking the picturesque Weweantic River! Lunch - Dinner - Daily Specials - Bar - Televisions - Take Out - Gift Cards!
Reviewed 18 October 2015 via mobile

Talk about a 6" sub-LOL
Subway has nothing on this Lobster Roll!
The baguette is over 6" long. It's filled with gigantic pieces of lobster in a light salad/sauce. I have never tasted an roll quite as delicious as this. While it was $24, it was well worth every penny. This is a must have roll in Wareham!

Date of visit: October 2015
Thank Fromthe44oh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (197)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

96 - 100 of 197 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2015

Nice patio in the warm weather. Would highly suggest eating outside as the inside is loud. Large menu and large portions. A lot of the same old same old but a few with different ideas. A basic restaurant. Not outstanding but good.

Date of visit: July 2015
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2015

Once again our family chose Gateway Tavern after an afternoon of apple-picking in nearby Acushnet. It was centrally located - one daughter's family lives on the Cape, another daughter is from Easton, and we had come from Rhode Island. The restaurant was busy, but we had called ahead for our party of 8 plus 2 high chairs, and we were seated immediately. Unfortunately, the deck overlooking the marsh is not amenable to high chairs - however, our waitress was cheerful and attentive and we were served quickly. Food was very good, and many of us took portions home. We'll come again.

Date of visit: October 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PFMcK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2015

We met friends here for lunch. We had seen some of their specials posted and were really looking forward to trying some. We arrived there around 12:30 on a Sunday 4 Oct. And were able to get a table on the rear deck, which was enclosed (and when needed has heaters). It was a beautiful day and service and the food was great. The Gateway has a pub/sports bar atmosphere and is very casual. We were very happy with our choices. Three of us ordered the Portuguese Little Necks which were awesome. My wife and I also ordered the coconut shrimp with sweet chili sauce to share. It was delicious and plenty. There were plenty of choices of beer both on tap and in bottles. We had a wonderful time and definitely enjoyed our meal.

Date of visit: October 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank thomasmV1958LM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2015

A casual restaurant that served comfort food in a congenial atmosphere. Outdoor eating available. Ample portions.

Date of visit: September 2015
Thank Mpollifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Gateway Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing