We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One night stay only”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Howard Johnson Williamstown
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Williamstown
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
96 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“One night stay only”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2010

The manager was very accomodating and the complimentary breakfast was fine,but there were a few issues. Initially we were given a room that smelled terribly...I called the smell "cat urine;" my husband was kinder and called it very musty. We immediately requested a room change and the manager was very apologetic and helpful in relocating us. The new room was fine, but I did notice housekeeping had been a bit lax--there were small candy wrappers on the floor by the bed that had been left, obviously, by a previous guest. Not a huge deal, but it kind of grossed me out anyway.I also had a hard time sleeping because the pillows were so hard and flat. They definitely needed to be replaced. So, overall, I cannot recommend this motel, although I thought it would have been a reliable chain. We only stayed one night and it was OK for that, but I would not have stayed longer based on the issues listed.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rhodytraveler10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    65
    67
    56
    51
See reviews for
95
89
29
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2010

We had a very large room. Very friendly and attentive staff. Went out of their way to make our stay comfortable. A nice outdoor pool. A very nice place to stay while visiting Williams College.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SFriedr251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NH
Level Contributor
85 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2010

This was a last resort stop for us staying in town on short notice. Outside appearance is neat but building is old and dated . Apparentely run by a foriegn family "Indian" . Very friendly although they charged my credit card for the stay before I even saw the room. Red flag went up instantly. Room was tiny ,old furniture and a very strong smell of disinfectant. My spouse thought it was a mold problem. It was clean though but the mattress was a cheapo very uncomfortable. If I was not at a function where I was drinking I would have driven home, so we had a few laughs and sucked it up.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NHguy33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Williamstown hotels

Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2010

Was not happy to be staying here anyway, but was one of the only places in the Berkshires area that did not have a 2-night minimum (high season).
Arrived to find wet towel hanging on back of bathroom door. Dirty hand towel (make-up or something on it) on towel rack.
Bottom sheet in bed was not fitted - kept sliding around/off - annoying.
Only 1 partial roll of toilet paper in room - not enough to last 1 night
Deadbolt on door was very hard to turn and get to work
Ice machine did not work (no sign on it indicating it was broken)
Location very close to downtown - less than 2 mins to drive there.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SMH_sevilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trumansburg, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2010

On a whim, my husband and I stopped in Williamstown for the night so we could go to the Picasso show at The Clark. We chose the Howard Johnson's because the price was right, so we weren't expecting it to be such a nice place to stay! The manager was incredibly friendly, the room was spotless and comfortable, and the pool area was very cute! You could recline on a lounger and see the mountains on both sides. There was also a very well-kept picnic area on an old shuffleboard court. For an old rehabbed motel, this place was a gem.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LRS3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Williamstown
0.8 km away
The Orchards Hotel
The Orchards Hotel
#5 of 13 in Williamstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
2.7 km away
The Williams Inn
The Williams Inn
#4 of 13 in Williamstown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
5.8 km away
Holiday Inn Berkshires
Holiday Inn Berkshires
#2 of 3 in North Adams
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 km away
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
#1 of 3 in North Adams
4.5 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
0.3 km away
Williamstown Motel
Williamstown Motel
#1 of 13 in Williamstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
0.9 km away
Willows Motel
Willows Motel
#2 of 13 in Williamstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Williamstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Williamstown

Property: Howard Johnson Williamstown
Address: 213 Main St, Williamstown, MA 01267-2608 (Formerly Four Acres Motel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Williamstown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Williamstown
Price range (per night): RM235 - RM757
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Williamstown 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Howard Johnson Express Inn hotel in Williamstown, Massachusetts is surrounded by the scenic Berkshires Mountains and offers clean and comfortable accommodations with best services and amenities. This hotel near Williams College in Williamstown, Massachusetts is completely renovated and offers spacious rooms & suites with several amenities such as free high speed Wi-Fi internet, free continental breakfast, free access to business center, wheelchair accessible rooms, free handicap parking, cable TV with HBO and a beautiful outdoor pool with a scenic mountain view; best of Williamstown, MA Hotels. This Williamstown, MA Motel is conveniently located near Williams College, Chapin Library, Williamstown Theatre Festival and Sterling and Francis Clark Art Institute. At Howard Johnson Free continental breakfast is served daily and it comes with great healthy breakfast choices ranging from coffee and fruit juices, to cereals and a variety of freshly baked goods. There are more than 30 restaurants serving fine dining are located within 2 miles from this hotel Garden picnic area and long, quiet walking trail is located at the back of the main building. Also, we offer computer with internet access in the lobby area for guest use. Check-in time is 3 pm, check-out time is 11 am and pets are not allowed at this hotel. Howard Johnson is so perfectly located that Williams College is only one mile away and it is a perfect get away if you are going to Tanglewood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Williamstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Williamstown Hotel Williamstown
Williamstown Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing