We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was a nice space.”
Review of Hostel Detroit

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Detroit
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hostel Detroit
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 March 2016

It was my first time visiting a hostel. It was really nice experience. I felt like I'm in home. The location was fantastic. The people was friendly. I parked my car safely in side where they have place to park.

Room Tip: Second story is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tarikalsaggaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (92)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 29 of 92 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2016

friendly, welcoming staff -- location looks ominous, but my rental car wasn't harmed at all (i followed advice and kept the interior empty) -- you can walk to woodward blvd's cultural amenities by taking temple blvd on foot for 30 min -- walking distance to corktown, which has numerous restaurants, only 10 min walk maybe -- clean and comfortable with 2 imacs and a serviceable kitchen.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank geo l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2016

The hostel is very welcoming, it has a nice interior decoration and plenty of visit suggestions and infos on Detroit. The hostel managers are very friendly and helpful, they are reachable at any time. The rooms are clean, you have a wifi-access, a little kitchen and small bathroom. The hostel is situated at 5 min by car from the Greyhound station and close to the downtown center which is convenient. I strongly recommend this hostel for students who want to discover Detroit !

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mélanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2016

This hostel is in Corktown, the oldest neighborhood in Detroit. Many of the older, burned out homes that used to be in the area have been leveled and wide fields are left.

We are a family of four, including two teens, that wanted to spend and inexpensive night in Detroit to hit the auto show. We spent $60 for each of our private rooms. They were clean -- it was like staying with friends in their older home. There were very few people there (it is the dead of winter in Detroit, after all) and we had a side of the house to ourselves. The couches were comfortable and the atmosphere laid back and pleasant.

This not a hotel. It does not have maid service or food. You can bring your own food and keep it in the refrigerator and cook it on one of their stoves.

For my first hostel experience, it was down right pleasant!

Negatives: The bathtub had a black ring around the top and the water never got warm. The cold water part could have been user error, but we couldn't wait forever.

Room Tip: You can book a private room or a shared room. Some rooms have bunk beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank swanfamily2908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2016

We have maybe moved on from the hostel period of our lives, but this hostel kind of made us wish that we hadn't. Its location is pretty cool, and it offers a good glimpse into local history. The staff was friendly, and the back balcony is a great place to sit at night and take in the comings and goings of the somewhat sleepy neighbourhood. Also good for travelers with a car, though it takes a minute to figure out the parking.

Room Tip: The doubles are pretty good and sequestered a little bit, feels almost like a B&B
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edward W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Detroit hotels
1.7 km away
The El Moore Lodge
The El Moore Lodge
#1 of 11 in Detroit
64 reviews
2.8 km away
Greektown Casino Hotel
0.7 km away
MotorCity Casino Hotel
MotorCity Casino Hotel
#11 of 34 in Detroit
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
MGM Grand Detroit
MGM Grand Detroit
#10 of 34 in Detroit
1,162 reviews
2.4 km away
Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront
2.1 km away
Aloft Detroit at The David Whitney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Detroit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Detroit

Address: 2700 Vermont St, Detroit, MI 48216-1230
Region: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Detroit
Price Range: RM 106 - RM 258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Hostel Detroit Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing