We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center
Nearby Hotels
US$160
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$151
US$131
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$226
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$242
US$219
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$229
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$148
Doubletree.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$299
US$284
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$75
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,743)
Filter reviews
1,743 results
Traveller rating
456
637
364
151
135
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
456
637
364
151
135
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfood courtvolt barpeople moverren cencoach insigniathe concierge loungecvs pharmacyhigh riseview of the rivergeneral motorsworld headquartersacross the rivergm headquartershigh floorjazz festivallarge hotelfloor to ceiling windows
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 1,743 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

My colleagues and I were treated very well by a bartender named Tony on Tuesday night. It was almost closing time when we arrived at the lobby bar. He was very helpful & kind. The food he helped us choose was fabulous!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled on business
Thank Susan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Nice hotel in the heart of downtown Detroit. Close to many restaurants and attractions. The shopping is limited in the immediate area. The people mover is connected to the hotel to get you around downtown. Parking is either valet or self serve for $20 . I dont believe it is in/out service. The rooms are nice and walls are thick enough not to hear the rooms next to you. There is a food court in the building . Just be advised that the hotel shares the entire building with several companies like GM and blue cross blue shield so there are more people than most ppl when you in the open areas . There is also lots of security for the above reason

Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
Thank Steven C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamMarriott, Manager at Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Dear Steven C,

It was a pleasure having you as our guest at Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center. We are glad to know you had a pleasant time with us and that our location worked well for your needs. We hope to be your hotel of choice whenever you are back in this area.

Joleisha Bradley
Director Room Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

Stayed with my teenage dancers for a convention over a long weekend. The hotel itself is very large. The different towers are beautiful and take some time to get to. There were several conventions and the elevators were very crowded. We had a room in the high tower, which had a breathtaking view of Windsor and Detroit. It took time to get to the room. The room was very clean and a bit small, but very nice. The nicest person we encountered was the room service person, Tammy. She was very professional and friendly. The front desk staff was nice, too. The absolute worst was the travel lobby valets. Keep in mind, they were the first people we encountered. We drove from the suburbs in a heavy snowstorm. It is very confusing when you pull up to figure out where to park, where to check in, and where to leave your car when you check in. When I told the Valet that I planned to park in the structure, the other valets were not helpful after that. In short, those in red coats were more pleasant than those in black coats. What a terrible start to our stay. Please fix this! Nicely tell guests the options, where to drop off and park, and where to go to check in. What is wrong with those in black coats?! The travel lobby is a very unpleasant place, when coming and leaving. Fix it and it will be a pleasant stay from beginning to end. Also, the WiFi was terrible. It did not work well in the room and it was too expensive. And in the lobby and ballrooms, it should have been free. Instead, we did not know the password and could not use it if even paid for it in the room.

Room Tip: Unbelievable views in the high towers!
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VThomas99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018

I had to wait a minut for someone to come to the front desk. The rooms are average but the location is convenient to downtown.I can honestly say the breakfast is great but lounge closed early when I tried to get something to eat that night.They need to be fully staffed so when people go to check in they want how to wait.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank lrobinson120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamMarriott, Director Room Operations at Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2018

Dear Lrobinson120,

Thank you for choosing our hotel and taking the time to rate your stay. We are sorry we did not live up to your expectations, or ours, and we hope you will give us another chance to provide you with the excellent service you should always expect from us. Please accept our apologies for the problems that inconvenienced you and impacted your rating.

Joleisha Bradley
Director Room Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018 via mobile

Overall, a good hotel, with one notable exception - housekeeping.

Overall, a solid standard experience, with one very odd note. Apparently housekeeping goes home at 11pm. I called down at 10:30pm for a foam pillow, as I am allergic to feathers. Waited 30 min until 11pm. Called again, they said they would be up shortly. Called at 11:10. They told us housekeeping had gone home at 11pm. For somebody with allergies, this is a massive problem. And totally unacceptable.

For any business travelers with long days, you know sometimes you need housekeeping - and sometimes days run quite late.

I used towels to make a pillow. Not comfortable.

When I called down to get a towel the next day, it took 40 min to come up.

When a hotel can’t take care of it’s guests for the fundamentals late at night, or in a timely manner, it’s probably not a good hotel for business travelers.

But, as a total leisure spot, I would say the views are interesting. We had a partial view of the river, and that was nice. I imagine some rooms have amazing views.

The building itself was very interesting. Check in was friendly and lovely. Room was clean and what one would expect of a business oriented hotel.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews