We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Book now, pay at stay
US$200
US$182
Doubletree.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$287
US$271
Westin.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Book now, pay at stay
US$218
Doubletree.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Inn on Ferry Street(Detroit)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$179
US$174
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$276
US$260
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$197
US$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$246
Westin.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$249
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (226)
Filter reviews
226 results
Traveller rating
127
60
17
15
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
127
60
17
15
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfire pitgated parking lotconcrete floorcool vibeboutique hotelindustrial feelcoffee barnewly renovated hotelmichigan aveuber rideroom was cleancool hotelclose to downtownholiday inngreat showerbars and restaurantsmini fridge
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 226 reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2018

The rooms are very basic and industrial. Friends that we traveled with were a little put out by that, but the rooms had everything we needed. The beds were very comfortable, and the room had a fridge which is always a nice thing. The gym was well appointed for a hotel of that size, and was never busy while we were there. The best thing about this property is the restaurant and bar. The staff were excellent, and there are creative dishes which are different than many chain hotels. There is a coffee bar that we didn't have time to try. The only problem we had while there was the robe in our room was dirty, and there was only one for two people.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank centennial5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Trumbull and Porter Hotel Detroit, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2018

Hello centennial5,
Our goal is to provide an urban oasis where guests can easily enjoy the city and have a relaxing place to retreat to at the end of a fun-filled day. Thank you for bringing the issue of the robe to our attention. You can rest assured that we're sharing your feedback with our housekeeping team right away. When you stay at Trumbull and Porter Hotel, clean robes should be ready upon arrival. We apologize for any disappointment because when guests stay with us, we want them to enjoy their stay to the fullest. We'd welcome the chance to earn 5 stars in your book and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2018 via mobile

This is not a typical hotel both inside and out
It looks like being renovated not too long ago
There are many small eateries nearby, but a little bit far from the downtown area
There is no disgusting carpet in the room, just cement and the area rug, it is not a bad thing
The onsite restaurant cooks hearty a la cart breakfast and brunches
Overall, not bad except the location

Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
Thank Eric J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Trumbull and Porter Hotel Detroit, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2018

Hello Eric,
Thank you for including us in your Detroit plans; it was our pleasure to offer you a clean and welcoming place to call home! You're right; we have been completely renovated and are thrilled you appreciate our urban modern style- complete with handmade rugs. We hope you were able to enjoy the complimentary slippers too! We appreciate you sharing your experience with us. While we love calling Corktown home, we understand that the area isn't for everyone. With our (delicious) onsite restaurant, Red Dunn Kitchen, you don't have to walk further than our courtyard to enjoy a local's favorite, and we're so glad to hear you enjoyed your breakfast. The next time Detroit is calling your name, we hope to welcome you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2018

I was in Detroit for business and took a chance on this place. I'm glad I did! It was a great place. Very young and cool vibe but very welcoming to everyone. Best hotel coffee bar ever. And the food in the lobby is well beyond what you'll get at any popular branded hotel. Very inventive menu. Hit the bar at happy hour and you won't be disappointed. The surrounding neighborhood "Corktown" is kind of trendy upcoming kind of place with some breweries and bistros within walking distance. Overall, staying here was a great experience.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CraigyLem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Trumbull and Porter Hotel Detroit, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2018

Hello CraigyLem,
It's hard to beat "best hotel coffee bar ever", and we're sharing your praise with our team. Thank you for the 5-star smile! When you stay at Trumbull and Porter Hotel, we think you should have the best of both worlds: a comfortable place to call home and exceptional dining just steps away. Corktown, and all her quirky delights, is our favorite spot in Detroit - we're happy you love it, too! Come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2018 via mobile

My first trip to Detroit was full of unfair preconceived ideas, that the city with no small help from the Trumbull & Porter Hotel quickly quashed!

Having spent more years than I'd like to remember travelling on business and hunting out small, different hotels with character this hotel stands close to very top, even if on this occasion luck rather than planning ended up with myself and a colleague checking in at the start of the week.

The rooms are paired back, minamalist, basic but amazing comfortable. There is no in room coffee facilities but the hotels own coffee shop more than makes up for this!

The one thing we struggled with was the bar and restaurant. How do you go out and expore a city when the food and service 2 minutes from your room is this good, totally unfair!

Every staff member we dealt with was went out thier wat to help and the place has a sense of personality and style missing from so so many other places!

I toyed with not writing a review for this hotel as when you find something this good you don't actually want to share, but that would be incredibly selfish! I just hope next time I pass through Detroit this place has rooms available

Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
Thank Matthew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Trumbull and Porter Hotel Detroit, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2018

Hello Matthew,
Our team is all smiles after reading your many kind words! We would absolutely love to have you stay with us again! We're biased, but we love your taste in travel-- looking for unique and character-filled hotels. We couldn't be happier knowing you found just that at Trumbull and Porter Hotel. Our love for Detroit shines through and through; we're so happy it showed you a brighter side to our up-and-coming city! Thank you for your 5-star recommendation of our hotel. There's nothing better than knowing when your guests enjoy their stay, and this review is a high point of our week!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2018 via mobile

What a great experience. The rooms were cozy, clean, and comfortable with the some excellent touches that you will never ever get from a chain hotel. There is also an excellent restaurant connected to the lobby.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
1  Thank Jonathan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Trumbull and Porter Hotel Detroit, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2018

Hello Jonathan,
You're making us blush (we love it)! You've hit the nail on the head, we love Detroit's unique's style and fully embracing it has been an absolute joy. We can't help but smile to know it enhanced your time with us. Cozy, clean, and comfortable - we understand how important these are for a wonderful getaway, and it was our pleasure to provide them for you. You're in excellent company, The Red Dunn Kitchen is quickly gaining a fantastic reputation for top-notch cuisine. We'll be sure to share your compliment with their team. We hope your travels bring you to our door again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews