We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel!”
Review of MGM Grand Detroit

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
MGM Grand Detroit
Ranked #11 of 33 Hotels in Detroit
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 8 November 2012

This hotel is beautiful. The staff is amazing, we were in the concierge suite and it was huge! When you walk in you walk down this hallway (yes, in the room) and straight ahead is a bathroom and to the left is the livingroom area. Couch, Chair, Table and four chairs with the table (which does not feel crammed), a full mini bar and ALSO an empty fridge just in case you have food or beer in our case to keep cold without worrying about the minibar. The bedroom was very spacious with a blackout window so when the sun rises in the am you are not blinded by the bright light, t.v in both the livingroom and bedroom as well as the bathroom! The bathroom had a deep tub which the t.v was hanging on the wall. Double sink bathroom and the shower and toilet are side by side by both seperated and have doors to both, the shower has mulitple shower heads which was neat. I am very satisifed with our stay and will stay here again!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tink89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

904 - 908 of 1,130 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2012

We really enjoyed our anniversary night downtown Detroit. We were there for a wedding and wanted to be in the center of the city. The room was beautiful and I really enjoyed the shower and bathroom area. There were drinks, ( coffee and tea ) in the greeting area of the hotel. Everyone was very helpful. My husband enjoyed the spa and had a massage as I played in the casino before our function. We had drinks in the nearby Sports Bar and enjoyed that. We also had a wonderful room service breakfast as we lounged around the next day. They were kind enough to give us a later check out. The hotel is right in the middle of everything and a good place to stay if you are going to Detroit.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank detroitchicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

My brother and I recently stayed at the MGM Detroit the night before we ran the local Marathon. The hotel was beautiful! The room had a couple of tiny issues that were promptly resolved by Toraine at the front desk, and the rest of the service was as good as I've ever had. The downfall we experienced was when we were looking for a high quality meal to have the night before our big race, the only options were a sports bar and a buffet as the other restaurants were being renovated. We settled on the buffet and were very disappointed by the lack of choices we had with regards to a healthy pre-race meal. We were looking for meal like a simple pasta dish which was not available. The one thing I've always been able to count on at casino's is their high quality food, which we didn't have access to during this visit. Since the hotel did offer a special rate for marathoners, perhaps they can consider the specific needs of runners for next years race, which I would like to stay at the MGM again - given proper meal choices, of course.

Room Tip: If your meals are important to you, make sure the restaurants are done their renovations before comm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doroots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

I was here on a business trip. Personally I don't like casions or cigarette smoke so I can't say I was fascinated with this aspect of the hotel. However, if you're into this kind of stuff, this is definitely a good place for you (in the Detroit area).

The TAP sportsbar is really nice.
The spa,pool and gym are top-notch!
The rooms are spacious and clean.
Service here is really good.

It's a little annoying that you have to go through the casino if you want to get food (exception is the TAP bar). The breakfast place was pretty average.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

The location was perfect, as I had tickets for the Yankees-Tigers series. It was a short trip to Comerica Park. The Staff were very courteous and met all of our accommodations.

Everything you would expect from the MGM Grand and it was worth the money spent.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Todd R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Detroit hotels
1.5 km away
Greektown Casino Hotel
1 km away
MotorCity Casino Hotel
MotorCity Casino Hotel
#10 of 33 in Detroit
713 reviews
0.8 km away
Aloft Detroit at The David Whitney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center
0.7 km away
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
1 km away
Detroit Foundation Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MGM Grand Detroit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MGM Grand Detroit

Address: 1777 3rd St, Detroit, MI 48226-2498
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Detroit
#1 Romantic Hotel in Detroit
#2 Green Hotel in Detroit
#6 Luxury Hotel in Detroit
Price Range: RM788 - RM1,844 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — MGM Grand Detroit 4.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
While in Detroit, get down to business at the ultimate entertainment destination, MGM Grand Detroit. Surround yourself in timeless design in our ultra-chic hotel. Dream big on king-size beds with 300 thread count sheets, relax in our oversized marble baths with dual rain shower heads. Or indulge yourself in a garden of earthly delights within our signature restaurants, or nightlife options. Last, lavish yourself within Immerse, Detroit's only resort style Spa. Immerse Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your MGM Grand Detroit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mgm Grand Detroit Hotel Detroit
Mgm Grand Hotel Detroit
Detroit Mgm Grand Hotel
MGM Grand Detroit Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing