We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,477)
Filter reviews
1,477 results
Traveller rating
877
424
111
43
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
877
424
111
43
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmcnamara terminalan early flightsecurity checkpointflying deltamain terminalpark and flyconnecting flightprivate securitycheck pointnext morningheavenly bedann arborvalet parkingclub floorrental carlobby restaurantbeautiful lobby
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
918 - 923 of 1,477 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Stayed for our second time from canada for a flight out of DTW. Can not say anything but good things. Clean, comfortable, convenient and priced right for all you get. Great valet parking, could not get in and out of airport quicker.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jpbonvacCAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D, Manager at The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Clean..convenient...great value...just what we were hoping you'd say. We can't wait to see you again.

Sincerely,

Paul DiNapoli
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

I first thought -- "how good can an airport hotel be?" considering all the great reviews on here.
Well now I know why.

Pros
Modern and cool design, tall bamboo in the lobby, pond/water in the lobby, comfortable room/bed, interesting views from the windows, quiet (i didnt hear any planes), good service

Cons
Expensive parking at the airport, lounge not open on the weekends,

To make sure you don't make the same dumb mistake I did, if you are renting a car, pick it up after you check out so you don't have to pay $20 to park it across the street at the airport lot. There is no hotel parking available.

When I tried to roll up the shades covering the window, the shades broke. Then as I'm trying to sleep, the shade was detaching one thread at a time every other second. A constant clicking sound that started going faster until the entire shade fell off. The front desk was very nice about it and offered to send someone up to fix it but I just wanted to go to sleep.

The view from the room was a line up of planes which was interesting. There was also a flood light that came through the windows but the blackout shades took care of that. I personally enjoyed the view.

The bed, as usual, was extremely comfortable (I have the Westin bed at home).

Minus 1 for the broken curtains and closed lounge, but the staff/service was attentive and accommodating so that was very much appreciated.

I would stay here again without hesitating.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank herzog00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D, Manager at The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks very much for your feedback. So glad you enjoyed your stay, but we certainly do apologize for the defect with your in room blinds. Please let us know when you'll be returning, as we'd be happy to provide a complimentary upgrade due to that inconvenience.

Sincerely,

Paul DiNapoli
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

This is a contemporary and slick hotel right at the Detroit Metro Airport's Delta terminal. I've stayed here a few times before a trip and used their park and fly package which offsets the rates because airport parking costs are such a crime! The real bonus is that this hotel has to be one of the most comfortable to sleep at with a lovely contemporary flare. The only down side is that the airport security doesn't open early enough for most of my flights. Still, it's not that far to the terminal's security.

Room Tip: I've never had a bad room so book it and don't worry...
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JDsAtNoWhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D, Manager at The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much and we look forward to seeing you again soon. As you mentioned, all of our rooms have excellent views and our Dema Restaurant is wonderful too.

Sincerely,

Paul DiNapoli
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Our stay at the Westin Detroit Airport was quiet, convenient, clean and comfortable. We simply had to roll our luggage from baggage claim at the airport into the hotel, which was a short distance since we took Delta. We rented a car but were able to deliver the bags to the hotel and didn't have to drag them with us to Hertz, which was a small luxury. The room was large, with a big desk, plenty of bathroom counter space. There were sufficient electrical sockets to charge electronics. We were able to have the room at half price if we pre-paid on Westin's website, which was a cost-efficient option. Our trip brought us to the northern suburbs of Detroit, as well as to Ann Arbor. The hotel was easy access for both, as it is simple to get to the airport by highway. As with other Westins, the bed was comfortable and the towels were thick and soft. One had to pay attention and listen carefully to hear any airplane engine noise, so it was not an issue. The only shortcoming that I can recall is there was only one person at the front desk at check-in, and everyone had to wait in line for some time to get their room.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edyrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D, Manager at The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you and we're pleased that you enjoyed your visit. Our staffing model is usually perfect, but we'll certainly review the situation that you mentioned to enhance our arrival process. We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Paul DiNapoli
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

I was stranded at DTW and Delta put me up at the Westin. You step out of the terminal and into a tranquil, stylish lobby that puts you at ease. The rooms are standard Westin - plush linens, huge flat panel TV, quiet interior. The gym is on par with any facility you would pay to join outside of a hotel.

I am a HHonors diamond and will be hard pressed to stay off DTW if the Westin is available...it's quite comfortable.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
Thank Friendaza1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D, Manager at The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments and we're thrilled to have won you over!

Sincerely

Paul DiNapoli
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews