We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (460)
Filter reviews
460 results
Traveller rating
259
128
43
16
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
259
128
43
16
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews city flats cool hotel unique hotel room layout comfortable bed lobby bar night cap within walking distance shops and restaurants modern decor large shower master suite would highly recommend this hotel minute drive hope college holland state park lake michigan
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 460 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2018 via mobile

This hotel is perfectly located to be able to enjoy Tulip Time. Lots of shops and restaurants nearby. The rooms are large and comfortable. The bathrooms are also very spacious. There is a nice bar area to either enjoy some food and drinks. The staff is very friendly. I already made my reservation for next year.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2018

This is a nice place. Great, great location for Tulip Time with right-next-door walking or wheeling to all shops, restaurants, the parade, and Hope College. The parking is on a level, open lot and they reserve all spaces for hotel guests. Even at the height of Tulip Time there was easy parking with room to spare.

Inside, a gentle, peaceful, happy, clean, innovative hotel with considerate staff, and a simple and effective floor plan. Plenty of light in the rooms. High ceilings, huge baths, comfortable beds.

I stayed four nights, with one in a Junior Suite and three in the Master Suite. Slightly more expensive than other rooms, they are worth the expense. The master suite has a balcony, no furniture on it, so it's a nice balcony for just standing outside. There's not much to look at, but it felt good to stand there anyway. Inside the master, three leather recliners with controls. And cupholders, a big TV, and a small bar area. Again, nice. Bed is a double, very comfortable without being overdone. Way across on the otherside of the room is this massive bathroom. A luxury, not necessary for anyone in any house, but, boy is it nice on a vacation.

Food and bar are reasonable for a small hotel. Not a huge "wow" factor, but more of a cool factor. The food is made to order, and the drinks are good, and again, the hotel is just one or two blocks from the high activity area at Tulip Time, and this makes for a welcome respite, and is a good place to meet.

Front desk is also good. They know the area, and they work to accomodate guests and provide answers and solutions to my questions. And they were nice about some of my questions, to which the answers were pretty obvious.

I spent a fair amount of time at this town for a festival - four nights - and I liked City Flats, and would recommend it to anyone attending this event next year.

as a note, I posted a review to a City Flats, in Khartoum Egypt. Well, right review, but in the completely wrong country.

Stayed: May 2018
Thank Worldflite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2018

When considering a hotel stay whether for business or pleasure there are certain details that are completely necessary. Clean and comfortable are the first to come to mind and then probably functional. We booked a standard King room only to find out that not all Standard King rooms are created equal. Upon entering the room you will find a large circular door on rollers. This door is what separates you from the main area and the bathroom. We did not have a door for extra privacy in the toilet area however we did learn that other standard king rooms do have an additional door for the Toilet area...again ours did not. Probably not a big deal if you are by yourself but if traveling with your significant other it can be a little awkward as the circular door offers little noise barrier. So my advice is to call in when reserving your room if you find this to be an important detail! Also in order to get the lights to work independently you have to turn on the main light switch located by the front door which turns on every light in the room and then shut off the rest of the lights you do not need on throughout the room. I found that out at 2 a.m. when I needed to use the restroom...again things I wish I would have known prior to arrival.
Other than that it's a good location with a decent restaurant lobby bar in a really great town~Enjoy!

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank drumdan2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2018

Visited Holland for the first time for the Tulip Festival. City Flats was the perfect location. In the heart of the city and within walking distance to the events, transportation and restaurants. An eco-friendly Hotel was a plus! Very clean, stylish and vibrant room and the bed was amazing! We entered the room to find bottles of water, apples and granola cookies. We will most certainly stay here again if in the area.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank mad12157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2018 via mobile

Attended a reception for 120 on the fifth floor of City Flats. Food was very good and service was excellent. The layout made it a little cramped and the speaker could not be heard over the din, but besides that, we enjoyed ourselves. Views of the city were very nice.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled on business
Thank Cadbanker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews