We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kalamazoo
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in Kalamazoo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 May 2017

I stayed in this hotel about a year ago and was not impressed. I have just completed a 4 night stay and felt like I was at a Days Inn. There is no pride in this property. I had to ask for an ice bucket liner my first night. The ice bucket was NEVER emptied/cleaned or liner replaced during the entire stay. One day they did not bother to leave a new shampoo. The housekeepers were definitely not in the military, they have no idea what a "made" bed should look like. The icing on the cake was leaving the Saturday night trash so that I could enjoy it again on Sunday night and all the way up till departure on Monday. Aside from the above, don't plan to charge any electrical equipment in your room. Cords fall out of the plugs - they NEED to be upgraded. How do you ruin a standard Holiday Inn Breakfast. Well, this location is able to do that quite well. We are Spire Elite Members, we stay in IHG properties around the world. This facility needs a serious staff makeover - from top to bottom. I'm sure there are people in the area looking for work who could care more about their work than the staff at this location on Cork Street.

Room Tip: Handicapped travelers should request rooms near the center of the hotel using front parking. End ha...
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank briardmom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kalamazoo, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2017

Hello briardmom1!

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Holiday Inn Express Kalamazoo, MI. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. I'm sorry we fell below your expectation regarding cleanliness, housekeeping and maintenance. We will address these concerns. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGService

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (202)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kalamazoo
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 202 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2017

The good news first. This is a typical HIE in layout; it is newer, and well maintained, situated right off the freeway. The dining room is bright, cheery, and well appointed. There is a wall TV running, but thankfully the volume is kept at a moderate level. There is a wide variety of breakfast items offered, warm and cold, kept well stocked at all times. We enjoyed good breakfasts both days we stayed there. When we arrived we were quickly greeted and assigned our room with no delay. It was neat and clean and well and tastefully appointed. The A/C worked fine (there is a separate wall thermostat); the bathroom was good sized, very clean upon arrival; the water ample and as hot as you’d like. The king-size bed was extremely comfortable. We slept very well.

On the first night, there were kids running up and down the corridor, shouting to each other, around 10:30 pm (there were several travel soccer teams staying at the hotel); we called the front desk, and the night clerk came upstairs right away and quieted them down.

The major issue with our stay was that our room was not properly cleaned by the time we came back to it around 3 pm on day one after travelling back from the Allegan county antiques show. The bed had been (poorly) made, and the room had not been vacuumed, the bathroom had not been cleaned, and there were dirty towels left on the floor or hanging from a hook, and a wet towel slung across the bed. (We had NOT by the way left out the little card that said don’t do housekeeping.) We were paying top $ for this suite (which was fine) but we did expect housekeeping to make the bed properly, to change the towels, to resupply the toilet paper, and to clean the rooms and bathroom. Then, on the next day, around 9:30am as we were packing to leave, the maid service knocked on the door to see if we were gone yet, so they could get in! But checkout time was noon, not for another 21/2 hrs. If I hadn't answered the door and sent them away, they might have let themselves in and invaded our privacy.

Recommendations: get a room in the middle of a corridor, away from the (very) noisy elevator and the stairwells. In your room turn the A/C on to ‘constant blower’ at night. Otherwise, when it turns itself off and on periodically during the night, it may wake you up.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank gpp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kalamazoo, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2017

Dear gpp,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. I am very glad to know you liked the breakfast selections we offer and the room you received. On the other hand, I am very sorry for the level of housekeeping services you received and the noise which affected your stay. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and guest services are superior and strive to be the best hotel around. For that reason, the comments are troubling and will certainly be looked into. Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGService

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2017

The place was clean but the interior was average. The beds were soft and the morning breakfast was nothing to rave about. It does sit near the expressway but you really cannot hear the traffic. Has a small exercise room and small pool but I didn't partake.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank cldkjw4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kalamazoo, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2017

We are delighted that you stayed with us recently. We continually grow everyday as a company and a group of co-workers with people's comments. They absolutely help us see a guests stay through their eyes. We would enjoy seeing you again in Kalamazoo at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2017

You must sign a quiet time agreement. It states that quiet time is form 9:00PM to 8:00AM. Nine adults and 9 kids were in the breaskfast serving room playing cards and about 9:10 the girl from the front desk told us to go to our rooms. Pool is open till 11:00 can't go in there unless you are swimming. Can only drink and party in your rooms but the rooms next to you will be complaining. Breakfast also starts before quiet time is over. Little kids yelling in hallway before 8:00AM. Will never stay there again, don't like being told when I have to go to my room.

Room Tip: Long as all you want to do is sit in your room any are OK.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tamirrtt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kalamazoo, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2017

I am sorry that you did not agree with our peaceful stay requirements that we have for all the guests comfort. We do not have it to make you stay in your room, we just want everyone to have an excellent stay. I would love to talk more with you and find out more about your group being in the Great Room at a time convenient to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2017 via mobile

We stayed one night in Room 102. I don't know if just this particular room is in need of refurbishing. Maybe it has been rented out more than others. But right off, I noticed tape residue/stain on the run-down carpet. It was not clean-looking carpeting, and I kept my feet covered my entire stay. The room faces the highway, and it was noisy, because the window did not close completely. The bathroom door (wood) was very chipped and scuffed and looked as though beverages had been spilled down it and never wiped off. On the plus side, beds and pillows were very comfortable and the high-definition TV had a spectacular picture. And towels were fluffy and plentiful. Standard complimentary breakfast. We have had better experiences at other Holiday Inn Express hotels.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank MakeupMaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kalamazoo, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2017

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay. I have my maintenance team on the items you spoke about and hope you stay with us again and see the difference.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kalamazoo hotels
5.5 km away
Radisson Plaza Hotel at Kalamazoo Center
12.0 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kalamazoo
0.1 km away
Four Points by Sheraton Kalamazoo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Hampton Inn Kalamazoo
Hampton Inn Kalamazoo
#3 of 31 in Kalamazoo
224 reviews
9.9 km away
Holiday Inn Kalamazoo-West
Holiday Inn Kalamazoo-West
#15 of 31 in Kalamazoo
287 reviews
11.8 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Kalamazoo - Oshtemo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kalamazoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kalamazoo

Address: 3630 E Cork St, Kalamazoo, MI 49001-4645
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Kalamazoo County > Kalamazoo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kalamazoo
#9 Business Hotel in Kalamazoo
Price Range: RM474 - RM985 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kalamazoo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are only minutes from downtown, K-Wings Stadium, Kalamazoo County Expo Center and Fairgrounds as well as the awesome full-motion flight simulators at the Kalamazoo Air Zoo. All our guests enjoy our complimentary Express Start Breakfast. Enjoy warm buttermilk biscuits, one fluffy egg selection, sizzling meat selections, and our trademark mouth-watering cinnamon rolls. Don't forget our one of a kind pancake machine and multiple healthy start options such as yogurt and oatmeal. Our spacious guest rooms feature access to Charter Cable with many HD channels including HBO for your viewing pleasure. We offer free and fast Internet as well as 24 hour access to our business center. Businesses near hotel: Eaton, Consumers Energy, Stryker, Pfizer, as well as Bronson and Borgess Medical Centers. Attractions near hotel: Firekeeper's Casino, The Miller Auditorium, The Crossroads Mall, Kalamazoo County Fairgrounds, Air Zoo, Kalamazoo Institute of the Arts, Kalamazoo Valley Museum, Kalamazoo College and Western Michigan University. Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Kalamazoo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kalamazoo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Kalamazoo Hotel Kalamazoo
Holiday Inn Kalamazoo
Kalamazoo Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing