We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Comfort Inn(Ludington)
US$178
US$164
ComfortInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nader's Motel & Suites(Ludington)(Great Value!)
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lighthouse Motel(Ludington)(Great Value!)
US$128
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ludington Pier House Motel(Ludington)(Great Value!)
US$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$165
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ludington House Bed And Breakfast(Ludington)(Great Value!)
US$115
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (23)
Filter reviews
23 results
Traveller rating
10
3
1
3
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
10
3
1
3
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgoatfresh eggsmemorial weekendfor saleliving roomfirewoodrvcabinplaygroundmichigan
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 23 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2017

I was surprised by all the positive reviews of this KOA. This was our 3rd KOA experience in the state of Michigan and it's not up to par with the rest. First, while they have Wifi, the service is very poor. They should take note from the setup that Gaylord KOA has. They have multiple towers throughout the park with wifi antennas and outstanding bandwidth. From our site, we had frequent drop outs and speeds less than .050 Mbps. pretty much dial-up speeds. Second, no cable TV. I should have paid closer attention when booking. Your better off taking a 45 mile trip up north from there and staying at Traverse City KOA. They have both great Wifi and Cable TV and all the perks you would expect from full-hookup. We would consider going back if they installed Cable TV and better wifi connection to the sites. Note this is about 20 miles outside of the Ludington area.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Escapetogym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lydia F, General Manager at KOA Ludington East, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

We are a bit of the beat and path making us different in many ways from from other campgrounds. Being in the middle of the 1.2 million acers of the national forest gives way to many benefits! Hiking, canoeing, fishing and many other outdoor wonders. Now wifi, cable and other such amminities are not a given here. We do have a great wifi hot spot outside the camp store that is always strong. As someone explained to me you can only push out via antennas what you are getting in. We have one company in the area that produces at a max of 12 MGB. Just not enough to keep the signal strong for everyone. As we continue to work with our area to continue to develop the utilities offered to the community and our campers, don't forget the outdoor wonders our campground offers to all our guests. We hope you can returned and enjoy some of these another time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017 via mobile

Nice campground that's very secluded in the woods of the Manistee National Forest. About a 5 minute drive to the Pere Marquette. Facilities were good and activities for the kids plentiful. Very minimal mosquitoes which was nice. We did not have a problem with the staff as a previous reviewer had. They were fantastic at each interaction. Only drawback was the wifi was very spotty but we've come to expect that from just about all campgrounds.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Brad K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017

We recently got back from the Ludington East KOA after a stay of a couple days. We have stayed at many campgrounds in the area and this one is definitely a work in progress. Its location isn’t exactly ideal if you want to do a lot of activities (Ludington is 20 miles away), but if you want to chill out and get away from it all, it has some potential. It’s a rather small campground with one set of centrally located bathrooms, and the owners are obviously putting some investment in it as the pool was quite new. That said, they do need to work a little harder to keep things fresh - the “Christmas in July” theme was getting a little stale considering it was still going on well into August.

It appears the owners are trying to appease the hardened RV-warrior camper, as well as supply the “glamping” experience, with rental RVs, cabins, special blinged-up tents, and the like. Yet they aren’t exactly welcoming to the inexperienced campers . Specifically, on multiple occasions, we witnessed one of the staff (the owner Joel?) zipping around on his golf cart berating and condescending folks for things I wouldn’t consider obvious. Here’s a tip: not every camper doing something “wrong” is doing so willfully, many just don’t understand the unwritten rules of life on a campground. Not everyone is an idiot trying to wreck your precious investment, and the new, uneducated guests are just as important as your regulars who know the system. That being said, his attitude was a direct opposite of the ladies manning the front desk, who were extremely cordial, helpful, and went out of their way to be welcoming and understanding of any issue.

I can’t really recommend this campground now… maybe with a few more years of seasoning (and a customer service class or two for Mr. Golf Cart).

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017 via mobile

We have stayed ALL over Michigan. Upper and Lower. Hands down, this is the best campground we've been at. Normally, we camp in our RV, but this time, I took the kids to cabin camp. The cabin was spotless. The campground is DEEP in the woods and there were virtually zero bugs. No kidding. But the best part, the staff. Quite possibly the best I've encountered. All of them. The sites were widely spaced. The bathrooms were very clean for a campground. The firewood was dry. I could go on and on. Worth the money.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank tazdev71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2017

We stayed at this KOA once in 2016 and again in 2017. There were many improvements and additions made since 2016 - more cabins, rental RVs, they are building a swiming pool. They had live music one night and a beergarden, hayrides, petting farm ( fresh eggs for sale), pancake breakfast. There is so much going on here and the owners are really hard working and helpful. This KOA is nestled in a forest - surrounded by trees so there is a lot of solitude. Our delux patio site was on the "road" so I was a little concerned at first but the "road" is a 1 lane dirt road that really the only people who drive on it are people staying at this KOA. The site was fine - just as quiet as the rest of the campground. We will stay here again!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annette J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews