We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
US$316
View deal
Booking.com
US$305
View deal
Free cancellation until 02/10/22
Hotels.com
US$316
View deal
PricelineUS$305
TravelocityUS$316
FindHotelUS$305
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,312)
Filter reviews
2,314 results
Traveller rating
1,401
554
204
97
58
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
1,401
554
204
97
58
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the grill ice house front porch fire pit bike rental close to downtown perfect location rocking chairs pool and hot tub breakfast buffet dining room beautiful hotel rooms are small third floor the hustle and bustle your luggage the wait staff
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
148 - 153 of 2,314 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2022 via mobile

Well it’s not bad but for $300/night I expect better. There are several places throughout the hotel where the carpet was literally worn through the threads. The lobby furniture was just as shabby and smelled like grandmas parlor. Room was fine, but you can hear everyone and everything, the staff starts working before 8am vacuuming. Bought the discounted ferry tickets but felt duped because the ticket for the return from the island was not on the fast boat but the slow one. Doubt the tickets were actually discounted at all. Get them through AAA or something.
Overall it was fine but truly don’t see the value.

Date of stay: June 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank G2763DOtinab
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Heather Tamlyn, Marketing at Island House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2022

I'm surprised you didn't like the new lobby that everyone is raving about!

As the oldest hotel on Mackinac Island, it can be challenging to maintain the balance between preserving the Island House's historic appeal and meeting modern guest expectations. Most guests find unparalleled value in our excellent service, convenient location, stunning view, and contemporary amenities.

We are sorry to hear that you did find value in the discount ferry tickets that you purchased. Star Line will occasionally schedule departures on a classic ferry, if you prefer to take the faster ferry you can always wait a half hour for the faster boat. How they schedule their departures is out of our control.

We certainly hope that you were able find some positive ways to enjoy your time on Mackinac Island.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2022

The Island House staff is amazing and rooms are clean and nice. They have a lovely space out front with chairs and a fire to the view of the lake, so relaxing! The 1952 Grill Room is excellent and has amazing food! We had a large party and service was quick and our server was so nice! I enjoyed my stay and would recommend to anyone traveling to the Island!

Date of stay: June 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank shernly2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Heather Tamlyn, Marketing at Island House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2022

We are pleased that you enjoyed our first-rate service, ideal location, exquisite dining, and convenient amenities. Thank you for sharing your experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2022

Booked this room during cyber Monday. Good price. Rooms have been updated since last staying here. Very friendly staff. Earning 906 rewards was a plus. Warm atmospheres and the front porch is great for relaxing.

Date of stay: June 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Heather Tamlyn, Marketing at Island House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2022

We are pleased that you enjoyed our first-rate service, ideal location, exquisite dining, and convenient amenities. Thank you for sharing your experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2022

Amazing views, great customer relations.., I can’t say enough about island house hotel. It was a last minute decision and Only
for the night . Get a room with a view!! So worth it !! Our room was huge and well Appointed. We loved every attention to detail .

Date of stay: May 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank funnybunnyGa
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Heather Tamlyn, Marketing at Island House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2022

We are pleased that you enjoyed our first-rate service, ideal location, exquisite dining, and convenient amenities. Thank you for sharing your experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2022

We stayed in the Island House Hotel before Memorial day so a number of the facilities were not open yet, eg swimming pool and Ice House BBQ. The Hotel is a member of the Historic Homes of America and is a lovely old building with a great veranda for sitting admiring the view. It has a very good location close to the end of town. As the Ice House was not open there was no bar or casual dinning. The restaurant is very nice but is fine dinning. Our room was in the loft area with a very slanted roof which we repeatedly bumped our heads on. Bed was comfortable. Bathroom was dated and average. There are definite pros and cons for this hotel and the history and location of the hotel compensate for its shortcomings.

Date of stay: May 2022
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Duncan281
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Heather Tamlyn, Marketing at Island House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2022

As the oldest hotel on Mackinac Island, it can be challenging to maintain the balance between preserving the Island House's historic appeal and meeting modern guest expectations. Most guests find unparalleled value in our excellent service, convenient location, stunning view, and contemporary amenities. We feel that this historic property's unique spaces enhance the once-in-a-lifetime experience of staying on Mackinac Island. The traditional rooms on the 4th floor are the smallest and most economical. However, we offer a variety of room sizes and views at various price points. We'd be happy to find a room that better fits your needs for your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews