We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (219)
Filter reviews
219 results
Traveller rating
190
17
11
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
190
17
11
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews overlooking the river star michelin three star see separate review boutique hotel michelin restaurant fabulous hotel nice balcony family owned small hotel beautiful setting croissants lazy river spa building luxury suite alsace
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 219 reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2016

I would have loved to get a 5 to this place which deserves it as for the service and the staff kindness. We stayed in "La maison du pêcheur" which is a separate 2 floor suite located along the river. The suite itself was in fact under the level of comfort and building equipment we expect in a 5 star hotel. As an example:
-we had some problems with the wi-fi that would work from time to time only.
-the bedroom upstairs is rather narrow and there is only one nightstand next to the bed when one on each side seems to be the minimum.
It might be that the style chosen for that suite (cabane next to the river) is not what we like when other people may love it.
Still this is a very good place run by very professional people. We were lucky to book the romantic breakfast on the river that we highly recommend. It comes with the excellent hotel breakfast and the 2 boatmen explain a lot about the river and the region.
Very happy with our stay!

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KUSNACHT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2016 via mobile

Camping in pure luxury. This was our first time camping. It has set the level for any future camping. The setting is so so beautiful. A really beautiful and very special place! Marco, the owner, welcomed us so warmly. Staff on top of everything. Staff alwAys offering more and very attentive. Spa and pool is new and very beautiful. Marco loves what he does and it shows. He has a real passion for what he does. Marco and his staff made us feel so extra special. This is the place to spend s special occasion. We highly recommend and will come back soon

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank RJ D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed in one of the brand new contemporary junior suites over the spa. The rooms are exceptional: beautiful Scandinavian design, stunning views of the garden and river Ill, lovely modern bathroom with shower and bathtub (and Hermes toiletries!)

The food at L'Auberge (although eye-watering let expensive) is phenomenal and deserving of at least one Michelin star.

The owner can be seen walking around the hotel during the day, greeting everyone pleasantly. In fact, all staff were very polite, friendly, and helpful.

Parking underground costs an additional €18/day but there is parking near the church if you want to avoid this.

The spa is great, blending wooden and concrete elements.

Breakfast is delightful in the beautiful gardens overlooking the river.

Can't wait to go back!

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kassandra_K2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2016 via mobile

What to say? This is simply my preferred hotel in the world! Calm, serene, beautiful! And with a warm welcome from a highly committed team! Of course the wonderful 3 Michelin star restaurant which is part of the same complex adds to the attraction. But make no mistake: the hotel is an experience in itself. Addictive....!

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank Carstenerick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2016

First of all: this hotel isn't cheap. It doesn't have any reason to be, after all, it's where one preferably stays after a dinner at the Auberge de l'Ill. That, however, also raises the bar significantly. The Hôtel des Berges rises to the occasion with considerable flair, style and great hospitality. The all-over friendliness and genuine charm of the staff is heart-warming. Our room was wonderful, tastefully decorated and beautifully situated with a balcony overlooking the river. The bathroom, likewise, was stylish if maybe slightly--and charmingly--dated, the one real setback being that the shower cabin was smallish and the shower head was slightly low for my 6'5". It should be noted that here, the old tradition of "opening the bed" for guests is still alive: a very nice touch.
A special mention for the breakfast, served al fresco on a terrace right next to the river, with a beautiful selection of cold cuts, fruit, baked goodies and a fabulous homemade yoghurt--what's not to love?
A note about the--complimentary--spa: whilst this is beautiful and elegant and offers a wonderful experience in general, some function appears to have been sacrificed to form. Especially getting into and out of the pool requires some prowess and we'd really have preferred a slightly more conventional ladder rather than the stylishly invisible outfit we had to battle. :-)

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eetschrijver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews