We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice”
Review of Hotel des Berges

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel des Berges
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Illhaeusern
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 August 2017

fantastic service, good sized room however strange bed that did not stay during the night ( 2 separated beds made to one double..)
Horrible hairdryer - be aware ladies - bring your own.
Staff was outstanding and so was the coffee.

Room Tip: room with view of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Asakatrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (185)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 185 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2017

Molecular gastronomy is an exciting flashy and amazing concept: fun to eat, a vision for the eye and a delight on the palate. I applaud all those who revel in it and practice it. Over the past few years so many restaurants have gone the Degustation route it’s almost automatic to sit down and leave all the choices to the chef. It was our first reaction as well when we were handed the Hotel des Berges menu. There was a Degustation menu listed on the top of the second page of the menu and it was automatically going to be our first choice. But then, we looked further down the list of a la carte items and our mouths watered at the thought of salmon mousse, chicken consommé, roast sole, foie gras, veal sweetbreads, veal fillet, roast whole duck for two persons, etc. items so rarely seen on menus any more but every one an example of fine French tradition along with being the basis for every variety of cuisine to follow.
It wasn’t hard to skip the Menu Degustation and choose the Chicken consommé in a bento box along with the tripe and foie salad. So few restaurants even offer a consommé which takes time and skill to produce and when done correctly is a delight. The Hotel des Berges’s offering of elevated the humble fowl to ethereal levels of delight when the accompanying consommé was enhanced with pure white medallions of placed chicken breast topped with a thin slice of black truffle. This is an example of true art in the kitchen.
Being used to degustation portions we ordered the Roast Sole for two AND the filet mignon of veal and the noir of Ris de Veau. The wise Maitre d’ asked if we were hungry. We were, we skipped lunch in preparation for our dinner. He nodded and suggested he give the kitchen an order for a half portion of both veal dishes and if we were still hungry we could always have the other half. Can’t tell you how grateful we were for his suggestion. The sole was a magnificent beast fillets table side which gave us both two large fillets each with a lovely fish sauce and tiny poached mussels. By this time we were getting full but nothing was gong to deter us from the veal. Both the filet mignon and the sweetbreads were done perfectly with little fuss over accompaniments except for girolles with the filet. Now we were full. It was heartbreaking we had to abandon our dessert order but we just couldn’t manage it. We opted for coffees which came with petit fours which we took with us for later.
The dining room was a smooth running operation of wait staff, most of whom seemed to know the other customers. We were impressed by all the dishes that passed us on the way to other tables and pledged we’d be back to try the Roast Duck for two which we saw carved at a nearby table. On our way back to our room we passed two other dining rooms which were all occupied. Kudos to a kitchen that can produce such quality food for so may covers.
The wines we had with our meal were: a Riesling Mann Schlossberg Gd. Cru 2010 and a Pinot Noir Mure Clos Saint Landelin 2012.
We stayed the night at the Hotel. Our room was the Perfecto. All rooms are named after cigars even though there’s a no smoking policy. The room was comfy and had a beautiful view over the river. The next mornings breakfast which we were barely hungry for was a delight. It wasn’t a cooked breakfast but neither was it a weedy Continental breakfast. There was: a tiny creme brûlée, fresh squeezed orange juice, the best cafe au lait, a quartet of homemade jams, an overflowing basket of baked goods still warm, a fresh fruit compote and a dish of house made charcuterie that included slices of ham, terrine, sausages and salamis. We were assured by the smiling wait staff that there was more of everything if we wanted.
This is one of my very few five star rated restaurants. Just so you know I don’t give out stars randomly or just because I ate in a certain restaurant or stayed in a particular hotel. Each establishment has to earn their stars. The Hotel ds Berges certainly does that.

Stayed: December 2016
Thank DiningStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2016 via mobile

The Hotel Des Berges and Marco Baumann and family is a hotel clads of its own. We have stayed there few times and each time was special. All elements from the environment, the rooms, the atmosphere, the service and the utilities were enchanting - the best ! Bravo Marco !

Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Markel52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2016

Hotel des Berges is in a class by itself. My husband, our dog & i stayed here in early October. We were in the new junior suites located over the spa- they are some of the most perfectly designed rooms i've ever been in- modern, clean lines- everything is thought out for you. I'm sure this new addition will be awarded many honors. The grounds are a dream- walking along the stream under the willow trees.
I must say the highlight was getting breakfast served in our room- the girls set up the food perfectly. It was the best croissant I have ever had in my life. Parking is easy behind the spa. Extremely dog friendly. It is very much a family run establishment- that comes through in the caring service we received.
Luxury at its finest. I look forward to our return.

Room Tip: I loved the new junior suites- modern, luxury and beauty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MissDixiesDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2016

I would have loved to get a 5 to this place which deserves it as for the service and the staff kindness. We stayed in "La maison du pêcheur" which is a separate 2 floor suite located along the river. The suite itself was in fact under the level of comfort and building equipment we expect in a 5 star hotel. As an example:
-we had some problems with the wi-fi that would work from time to time only.
-the bedroom upstairs is rather narrow and there is only one nightstand next to the bed when one on each side seems to be the minimum.
It might be that the style chosen for that suite (cabane next to the river) is not what we like when other people may love it.
Still this is a very good place run by very professional people. We were lucky to book the romantic breakfast on the river that we highly recommend. It comes with the excellent hotel breakfast and the 2 boatmen explain a lot about the river and the region.
Very happy with our stay!

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KUSNACHT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Illhaeusern
6.2 km away
Resort Barriere Ribeauville
Resort Barriere Ribeauville
#1 of 11 in Ribeauville
1,240 reviews
29.6 km away
Hostellerie La Cheneaudiere - Relais & Chateaux
13.3 km away
Chambard
Chambard
#1 of 5 in Kaysersberg
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.4 km away
Hostellerie des Chateaux & Spa
26.6 km away
Chateau d'Isenbourg
Chateau d'Isenbourg
#1 of 4 in Rouffach
710 reviews
25.1 km away
5 Terres Hotel & Spa Mgallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Berges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Berges

Address: 3 rue de Collonges au Mont D Or, 68970 Illhaeusern, France
Region: France > Grand Est > Haut-Rhin > Illhaeusern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Illhaeusern
Price Range: RM1,440 - RM2,167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel des Berges 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel des Berges is situated in the heart of the small village of Illhausern, in Alsace, between Colmar and Strasbourg, in the garden of the Auberge de l'Ill. Marco Baumann and Danielle, his wife, have created the spirit of an Alsatian farm with its tobacco shed, particular to this area of the Ried. Eight bedrooms, four suites and the Fisherman's Cottage will immerse you in a country ambience of Havana scents. Staying at the edge of the Ill river to find again authenticity mixed with the real pleasure of a family's tradition...this you find at the 5 star hotel, where each bedroom has its own decor, its own ambience. And once looking outside...you feel like at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Hotel des Berges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing