We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One Of Our Favorite Romantic Small Hotels”
Review of Hotel des Berges

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel des Berges
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Illhaeusern
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 December 2017 via mobile

Hotel des Berges is nothing less than terrific. Top notch friendly staff. An incredibly beautiful setting on the L’Ill River adjoining the magnificant Auberge d’Ill, one of the world’s greatest restaurants, part of the same family ownership. Beautiful grounds for a walk in this picture perfect small village in Alsace. All the modern conveniences in beautifully decorated rooms; full tub and separate shower and WC. A deck with a very comofortable cane rocker overlooking the river. Mesmerizing to watch the river wander by. They also have a new spa; swimming pool, etc. What a gorgeous place to spend three nights with dinners at Auberge d’Ill and Restaurant a la Truite, a short walk across the picturesque bridge. A short drive to the Marches de Noel in Colmar and Riquewihr, and of course, the Alsace wine area attractions. Highly recommend!!!!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Conseiller99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (185)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 185 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2017

My husband and I spent one night at this 5-star luxury hotel at the end of October. Our very well-furnished room was spacious, comfortable, tastefully decorated and elegant. It had a nice balcony overlooking the river and the view was astonishing, at night as well as in the morning. There were flowers and fresh fruit on the table. The spacious bathroom had a large window with a nice view, separate shower and bathtub, and amenities from Hermès. The staff were highly professional, friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sabrina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2017

One really does need a decent place to rest one's head after visiting one of the great restaurants. One finds it here! A very pleasant and informative welcome precedes the disappearance of the car and the arrival of kit in a very comfortable and well-appointed suite. From the balcony the views of the Ill (fishermen included) and the garden, including the stork, delight. The public rooms are comfortable. The whole operation is subtly understated but one knows that should one want something it'll be there. It is very much a family affair and brings in husbands and wives when they fit the requirements. You can even buy a watercolour of the hotel by a talented member! It's a very professional operation by people who know exactly what they are doing.

Stayed: August 2017
Thank JCW394568
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017

One of the friendliest and nicest places we have stayed. A family run business who goes the extra mile to take care of its guests. Beautiful & spacious guest rooms, lovely gardens next to a lazy river, beautiful art decor throughout the hotel, plus a fabulous spa and pool. Charming hotel with first class service. Wonderful fresh breakfasts selections each morning. We also had a world class meal at their family owned (3 Star Michelin) restaurant - over the top amazing dining experience! See separate review of Auberge de I'lll.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Deb K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017 via mobile

We visited the Alsace region of France in August 2017.

We regularly get massages so asked our hosts to recommend a place to get a massage.

They recommended the spa at the Hôtel des Berges in Illhausern.

The spa is modern, beautiful and well equipped.

My husband and I had massages one after the other. The coed locker room was set up well with private toilets, showers, and dressing rooms.

We like to visit different spas when we travel under the philosophy that all massages are good yet some are better than others. This experience was definitely better than others.

The massage room was quite warm when I walked in. When I mentioned it to the therapist, the temperature was adjusted and cooled down quickly.

The massage table was large and comfortable and had a hole to put your face in when lying face down.

The therapist used techniques we had not experienced before which was fine. Both my husband felt relaxed and refreshed after our massages.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank bluebingo52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Illhaeusern
6.2 km away
Resort Barriere Ribeauville
Resort Barriere Ribeauville
#1 of 11 in Ribeauville
1,240 reviews
29.6 km away
Hostellerie La Cheneaudiere - Relais & Chateaux
13.3 km away
Chambard
Chambard
#1 of 5 in Kaysersberg
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.4 km away
Hostellerie des Chateaux & Spa
26.6 km away
Chateau d'Isenbourg
Chateau d'Isenbourg
#1 of 4 in Rouffach
710 reviews
25.1 km away
5 Terres Hotel & Spa Mgallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Berges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Berges

Address: 3 rue de Collonges au Mont D Or, 68970 Illhaeusern, France
Region: France > Grand Est > Haut-Rhin > Illhaeusern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Illhaeusern
Price Range: RM1,449 - RM2,176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel des Berges 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel des Berges is situated in the heart of the small village of Illhausern, in Alsace, between Colmar and Strasbourg, in the garden of the Auberge de l'Ill. Marco Baumann and Danielle, his wife, have created the spirit of an Alsatian farm with its tobacco shed, particular to this area of the Ried. Eight bedrooms, four suites and the Fisherman's Cottage will immerse you in a country ambience of Havana scents. Staying at the edge of the Ill river to find again authenticity mixed with the real pleasure of a family's tradition...this you find at the 5 star hotel, where each bedroom has its own decor, its own ambience. And once looking outside...you feel like at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Hotel des Berges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing