We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”
Review of Chateau Bavolier

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chateau Bavolier
Ranked #4 of 8 Blaye B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 September 2016

A beautiful place to stay and enjoy Ann's fantastic hospitality. The attention to detail is certainly worth revisiting to discover the next chapter in this amazing place.
Ann's suggestions for dinner and local activities was very helpful.

Room Tip: All rooms are great
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (10)
There are newer reviews for Chateau Bavolier
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 10 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2015

The welcome we received from Ann at Chateau Bavolier was tremendous, just what we needed after a long day riding in the heat - a welcome glass (or three) of fizz in the beautiful garden! The rooms were immaculate, and the whole chateau had a big 'wow' factor, particularly because we had it all to ourselves. The wifi was strong, the beds were comfy, the parking was secure, the surroundings were peaceful, the grounds were shabby-chic and the candle-lit dinner was well worth the money. I can't fault it. We had a fabulous stay.

Room Tip: The master suite is breath-takingly awesome, but the 'normal' room is pretty excellent too.
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2015

After 5 weeks traveling around France staying in Hotels and renting apartments this was the first time we booked to stay in what is really someone's home, albeit a Chateau. We booked for 2 nights and now wished we had booked for the week. We were welcomed by Ann and after showing us our beautiful room she invited us to share a bottle of Bubbles on the terrace. Would highly recommend this to anyone who is looking for a little peace and quiet yet still be close to the major wine areas of Bordeaux.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2015

A three night stay at Chateau Bavolier in June 2015 was a delightful experience.
After a long flight from Australia, it was no trouble for Ann to supply an evening meal of exceptional standard. Breakfast was just a good. The rooms were excellent, & very clean..
The chateau décor takes you back into the past & is tastefully done.
The large garden gives you a sense, of being on your own.
Ann is a great host, & we would recommend a stay to all..
Cheers to you Ann,
from
4 Old Farts

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Donan19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2015

I really don't want everyone to find out about this place, I want to keep it a secret all for myself, but I would be doing a great disservice to Ann and her wonderful Chateau Bavolier.

Firstly, we arrived up at Chateau Bavolier after a long, 18 hour overnight drive from the south of Spain. Ann greeted me like an old friend, brought us to our room and while we brought in the bags, she came back with a beautiful bottle of red for us, and a cold drink for the boys - she just knew what we needed, and when we needed it!

The room..the room, what can I say? The room..we had the Master Suite, which Ann had put two more beds in for the two boys. It was magnificent. The room was huge, with carpets you sink into, a gorgeous four poster bed, a white sofa, beautiful armoirs. A few steps lead up the bathroom...and the bathroom does not disappoint! It truly is a room with a view - you step up to the bath, and sink down into the bath, directly overlooking the garden.

The following morning, we had a great breakfast to set us up for another long drive, melon to start, eggs, toast, croissants, pain au choc, copious amounts of coffee and hot chocolate, fruit, yogurts. We wandered for a while that morning, walked around the grounds, sat in the lounge - everything to put off the moment when we had to leave.

Ann has done the most amazing job bringing this house to its full potential - it's a house that's been decorated with great care and attention to detail, and it's Ann herself that has brought the house to life.

What can I say - we have travelled the world with our boys, Europe, Asia and the US, - our 10 year old said it's a joint No. 1 with the hotel in Shanghai, and for myself and the 12 year old, it has become the outright number 1!

I can't hesitate to recommend Chateau Bavolier - it's just beautiful, elegant, peaceful, wonderful. I would go back in a heartbeat - in fact I'm trying to see if there's any way I can swing a weekend there sans enfants!!!

Room Tip: We had the Master Suite - magnificent.
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Adi1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blaye
20.6 km away
Chateau Cordeillan-Bages
12.9 km away
Villa Premayac
Villa Premayac
#4 of 4 in Blaye
45 reviews
13.1 km away
Logis La Citadelle de Blaye
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 km away
La Closerie des Vignes
La Closerie des Vignes
#1 of 1 in Saint-Ciers-De-Canesse
45 reviews
27.2 km away
Chateau de Mirambeau
Chateau de Mirambeau
#1 of 1 in Mirambeau
282 reviews
35.0 km away
Chateau Grand Barrail
Chateau Grand Barrail
#1 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Bavolier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Bavolier

Address: Chateau Bavolier | 2 Lieu-Dit-Bavolier, 33920, Blaye, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Blaye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Blaye
Price Range: RM662 - RM913 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chateau Bavolier offers 2 luxury double ensuite bedrooms and our breath taking Master Suite (80sq meters) with 4 poster king size bed, sunken bath and 7ft drop chandelier. All our rooms benefit from luxury white crisp cotton bedlinen. Hairdryers, bubble bath, candles and luxury white cotton towels....... Sheer Decadence.. The formal lounge has original hand painted panels adorning the walls, baby grand piano with huge comfortable sofas. Chateau Bavolier sits in 6 acres of grounds, all of which are yours to explore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Chateau Bavolier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing