We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Lake Resort
Nearby Hotels
Driftwood Motel(Rogers City)(Great Value!)
US$109
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$67
US$57
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Days Inn Alpena(Alpena)(Great Value!)
US$57
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$97
US$94
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Of Alpena(Alpena)(Great Value!)
US$80
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Thunder Bay Resort(Hillman)(Great Value!)
US$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$115
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (25)
Filter reviews
25 results
Traveller rating
17
7
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
17
7
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfire pitrogers citychristieclubhousemontagekitchenetteaccommodationspontoonguestscleanliness
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 25 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2017

A hidden gem for sure. The hotel room was well maintained and clean. The grounds are well landscaped as well. Location was great and the owners are super friendly and really show a pride of ownership. Lots of added things make this place special. A "rec room" for use of all the guests was a great bonus and there are a couple docks that you can utilize if you bring your own boat. Very impressed and wouldn't hesitate to spend a week here. My only minor negative would be the beds are rough, but nothing that would keep me from coming back.

Room Tip: Rooms 6,7,8 with the lake view are worth any increased price. You have a large deck and great view. (I stayed in 3, and no complaints)
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017 via mobile

Spent the night on the way to the UP. Room was small but comfortable, shower nice & hot. View of lake and the property all very beautiful. Bed a bit rough but that wouldn't keep me away. Definitely worth the effort. Owners are very nice and easy to work with.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank sanduskywiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017

Our family was staying there for a wedding and had a fabulous time! The owners are so helpful and friendly. The clubhouse was fun to hang out in. The rooms were clean and it was great to have the kitchenette. Nothing beat the view of the lake and renting a pontoon for the day. So much fun we can't wait to come back just to stay here :)

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sheri O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2017 via mobile

This place is great we are a family of five. Booking, check in, and checkout were a breeze. We got room 1 in the front. Our room was very clean and smelled nice. My husband said the owner is kind and gave us the scoop on the area. I enjoyed our room being on the end. Having kids moments can get loud so not being in the middle of the resort was good. Only downfall to a farther room you have to walk outside in order to connect to WiFi and the TVs are very small (10 inch tube style) works great though just small. We didnt get a chance to use the clubhouse but hope to next time. This resort is exactly in between Alpena and Rogers City.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank shoff917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
randy p, Owner at Grand Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for the nice review we do have new flat screen tv's now. Looking forward to your return trip!!

Randy & Christie
Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2017

If you are looking for a clean, room no frills room and friendly owners this is the place. They offer road side as well as lake side rooms. Just looking for a place to sleep and the road side was a good value. It is a quaint and during our stay was very quiet. They do offer internet access.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews