We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right on beautiful Torch Lake!”

Northwind Resort Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rapid City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Northwind Resort Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rapid City
Reviewed 12 May 2016

A wonderful place to stay for a weekend get away on one of the most beautifully clean lakes in Michigan. The rooms are clean and comfortable with kitchenettes. And the owners are kind and helpful. My friend and I have stayed there for many years and it never fails to satisfy. I am always sad to leave. Also, check out the sunrises.

Room Tip: Call very early in the year as rooms are snatched up quickly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
    • Service
2  Thank lookingtorelax52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (19)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 19 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2015

I would really like to keep this hidden gem all to myself! We stayed at Northwind Resort the first week of June, & could not have had a more positive experience. The location is perfect, it's on the Northwest tip of Torch Lake, near the Torch River Bridge & Marina. There are nine 1 bedroom efficiencies, three with water views. We loved our water view room, which was just steps from the water. Our room actually opened up to the deck & the dock. Each morning we would sit out on the spacious deck, in our PJ's, & watch the magnificent sunrise, while having our coffee. There are outdoor grills, a fire pit, a swing, & umbrella tables on the deck. Our room had a microwave, coffee maker...bring your own filters though; silverware, dishes, & bath towels are provided. It was easy to launch our kayak from the shore, or dock. Also, the location is great for day trips into Traverse City, Petoskey, Alden, & other nearby areas. The Dockside Restaurant is only a 15 minute drive. It is family owned, & we enjoyed meeting one of the sisters, Pamela, & her husband Marty, who were operating the resort while we were there. We can't wait to return. It's the perfect place for a fun time with friends, & family!

Room Tip: Get a water view room, you won't be disappointed! Torch Lake is simply spectacular, & almost...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank illegallyblonde2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2015 via mobile

This is our 4th year in a row to this resort. It is my favorite summer vacation. Torch lake is the most beautiful special lake I've ever boated on. The sand bar is so much fun. We love going down the torch river and up to clam lake. This resort is the perfect location for everything. I love sitting on the patio watching the different boats launching at the nearby boat launch and going down torch river. The rooms are very clean. We stayed in room 5 this year and they had remodeled it over the winter. It had new carpeting and a flat screen tv. I still love room 6 as it has a window that gets a lovely breeze. We reserved it next year for a $50 deposit. This resort is a great value for the lawn rooms for $155 a night. There is no other rooms on the lake you can get for this price.

Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
2  Thank kdxdana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2014

First off, I would like to say I read all the wonderful reviews about this place and was very hopeful coming here. My husband booked it and assured me everything on this lake is nice. WRONG! Don't get me wrong, location was wonderful, however, the room was DISGUSTING! As soon as you walked in the door you got a blow of Mold smell in your face. The kind that hurts your throat and it doesn't go away. Everything we packed smelled after staying there for two days. I felt so uncomfortable that I did not even want to take my socks off to walk on the carpet. The bathroom was dirty where I did not even feel clean after taking shower. I brought a blanket of my own that I literally cocooned myself in because I did not want to touch anything. Before I went to bed, I sat up against the headboard of the bed and got a strong odor of what smelled like skunk. A short time later I realized it was just a strong mold/mildew odor coming from behind the bed...it was absolutely horrible. I will never ever stay there again!!!! Not sure if room 8 and 9 are better as previously reviewed, but we stayed in room 5 and it was disgusting....feeling uncomfortable where you're sleeping is one of the worst feelings...I hated it. So gross. Not sure if I mentioned the disgusting smell but it was horrid.

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank am616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We got so lucky to do a road trip to Torch Lake without any plans and found this gem that had vacancy. During check in, Michelle, one of the owners who is so kind, explained some people book a year in advance, especially for the lake front room...and I understand why!!!! If you are able to get room 9 (8 looks awesome too)..take it!! The room over looks the channel where the boats pass through as well as the sand bar. The room has a fridge, microwave and coffee maker but lacks a decent sink. That is the ONLY thing I can find wrong. Room comes stocked with dishes so you are able to eat meals in the room. OR on one of the tables outside. They also have grills!!! This really is a family place, if you are looking for a place to have a reunion or just get a large group together, I highly recommend it. I don't know what the lawn rooms look like but I'm sure they are clean! I almost forgot to say how CLEAN the rooms are!!! Across the street is the marina as well as a party store that rents pontoon boats. We planned on doing so but it was too windy. I wish I could remember the name of the place..the owners are so nice!!! I cannot wait to book our room for next year for a week!!!

Room Tip: The lake front rooms are awesome but I bet they can get loud when the sand bar is busy. Rooms 8 and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ktrost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rapid City
16.8 km away
Sleep Inn & Suites Acme - Traverse City
20.3 km away
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
#12 of 40 in Traverse City
367 reviews
22.4 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 km away
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
#2 of 40 in Traverse City
3,345 reviews
22.5 km away
Best Western Plus Traverse City
Best Western Plus Traverse City
#3 of 40 in Traverse City
406 reviews
20.8 km away
Parkshore Resort
Parkshore Resort
#26 of 40 in Traverse City
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northwind Resort Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northwind Resort Motel

Address: 12553 SW Torch Lake Dr, Rapid City, MI 49676-9333
Region: United States > Michigan > Kalkaska County > Rapid City
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rapid City
Number of rooms: 9

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing