We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“couples get-away”
Review of Silver Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Silver Beach Hotel
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Saint Joseph
Reviewed 15 September 2012

We stayed Mo,Tu; Sept 10,11. We must have hit the jackpot compared to the other recent reviews during the same time frame. Entire property is dated from days gone by but very well kept. The only reason not rating excellent is that the lounge does not serve meals other than pizza, fast-food, etc...but many local restaurants and cafes within walking distance. Room was on 6th floor facing the beach; had a very small but adequate balcony. Elevators were very unique in decor - would not exchange them for "speedier" models ever!!! Pool area was in need of detailed cleaning but pool itself was very clean (but could have been a little bit warmer) We have stayed at several hotels in St Joe area over the past few years including Holiday Inn, Hampton, various suites: Silver Beach Hotel surpasses them all! We will return again and again for sure.

Room Tip: We didn't witness any of the negativity listed in other reviews about this hotel. Upper floor r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mlheili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (522)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

309 - 313 of 522 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2012

My fiancee left her ID and Debit card on the night stand next to the bed. Went back about an hour later and the ID was stuffed into one of the magazines on the night stand and the debit card was missing. Don't leave anything of value in your rooms it might just end up missing.

Also lobby has a foul smell and it is only masked by air freshener for most of the day.

No water pressure in the showers and the height of the shower head was designed for a 5' tall person.

Also "Balcony" was actually the roof of the lobby/bar on second floor.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

Rooms are NOT anything Iike the brochure! Rooms were smelly, like that of carpet cleaning solution, the rugs were dirty and disgusting! The beds were of poor quality and cheap foam type that tipped over when sitting on the end. The shower was only 5 ft high and hard to use. A chep coffe maker in the bathroom, an old tube TV from the 1980's.

This place has not done anything to update the look feel and cleanliness of the rooms.

I won't ever go back!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jcs323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

..... We would like to disagree. The lobby was nicely renovated, but that is IT! The moment we walked in our room it went downhill, FAST. The view out the "lakeside" of the hotel was a parking lot and buildings that just so happened to be worked on and it was a lovely sound to wake up to in the morning. Who doesn't love hearing the sound of construction trucks first thing in the morning? We had "peek a boo" views of the lake. Greeting us in our room was the most discusting smell that I canNOT even begin to explain. We had to keep our sliding door open when we were there because it was so overwhelming! The shower was by far the worst we've ever had. It was hot, then cold, then hot, then cold ( I think you get the idea!) The dirty, worn, OLD and nasty carpeting made me sick. We all wore our shoes during the entire stay. We decided it was in our best interest to stay away from the pool and the bar (that was in desperate need of updating) since they were so dated and both looked a little rough for our family. The breakfast included in our stay was less than desirable as well. Overall, this was a big huge mistake. For $80 more (we had 2 rooms, so $40/room) we should have stayed at one of the other hotels. I love St. Joseph, but not this hotel. I am so sorry for being so negative, but it was one the list of top 5 worst hotels we've stayed at....

Room Tip: Try a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mamat2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Very much misrepresented on theire web site, Way over priced & would never return to this hotel Hot tub was not working, ONE ICE MACHINE for all seven floors (it was located on the ground level) raggity curtains, many small holes very aged material Was looking forward to a beautiful hotel and was expecting a wonderful room! Did not happen, we will be telling anyone who's staying near ST. JOE"S to stay elsewhere

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Diana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Joseph
0.7 km away
The Inn at Harbor Shores
The Inn at Harbor Shores
#2 of 6 in Saint Joseph
220 reviews
3.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express St. Joseph
0.4 km away
Boulevard Inn
Boulevard Inn
#3 of 6 in Saint Joseph
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#4 of 6 in Saint Joseph
75 reviews
6.1 km away
Days Inn & Suites Benton Harbor MI
9.4 km away
Comfort Suites St.Joseph / Stevensville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Beach Hotel

Address: 100 Main St, Saint Joseph, MI 49085-1108
Region: United States > Michigan > Berrien County > Saint Joseph
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Saint Joseph
Price Range: RM304 - RM457 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Silver Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Silver Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Beach Saint Joseph
Hotel Silver Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing