We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and Friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Detroit / Utica - Shelby Township
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Shelby Township
Certificate of Excellence
London, Canada
Level Contributor
89 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Clean and Friendly”
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights. Room was clean and spacious. The front desk staff were uniformly friendly and helpful. Breakfast was tasty although a bit slow to replenish when it was clearly a busy morning with a lot of guests. Pool was an odd shade of green but we didn't ask why. There were kids swimming and seemed to be having fun. I found the bathroom counter very high and set back - must have been someone tall who designed it. Did have noise from the room above and next door. Otherwise a good value and would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank USCanTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    288
    61
    18
    6
    3
See reviews for
149
58
16
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
michigan
Level Contributor
212 reviews
142 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2011

I am a repeat guest at this hotel as it is conveniently located to the areas in which I work. The hotel is in a quiet location close to Utica, Shelby Twp. Chesterfield, and Rochester. The rooms are clean and it is your typical Hampton Inn. My only complaint with this hotel is the front desk staff. They are not welcoming or professional and I am never acknowledged as an Hilton Honors member as at other Hilton properties.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hobiecatsailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2011

It only took us about 2 minutes to check into this hotel, which is a huge plus... even with two wedding parties occupying plenty of rooms. The room itself was immaculate with a modern style...very quiet and comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sherriwiz22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2011

We made a reservation for two rooms a month in advance for a wedding. I kept the confirmation number handy and the day before arrival called to confirm. Everthing was fine at this time. When some of the guests began to arrive they checked on our rooms and called us to let us know there were no reservations for us. I called to find out what happened and was told that their system cancelled our reservation by mistake and to call back when the manager arrived. When I spoke to him he said sorry the hotel was fully booked and if a room became available he would let me know. Nice way to do business! After talking at length with him he became rude and said OK, how many rooms do you need? The same two that I reserved in the first place. He again told me in his irritated voice to just come in and he would find a room for our parties. We found out later that one of the guests was upgraded to a larger room with a kitchenette and all kinds of amenities. When we arrived we got an apology from the clerk at the counter but never saw the manager at all. Aside from this stressfull beginning the rest of the stay was beautiful. The hotel is really nice and the staff was great. The manager could learn a few things from the rest of the crew. Thanks to the rest of the staff for making our stay a good one.

Room Tip: We always love a top floor room so no one is on top of us walking around
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank johnmcalski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

Nothing out of the ordinary. It's a Hampton. Not sure what all the big reviews are about.
I stayed here on business for one night and I could shoot a cannon down the hall and no one would have heard. Basically deserted?! Hmmm
The hotel must be new as the Hampton-issue carpet wasn't overly dirty yet.
The free internet was fast and the breakfast was OK.
My TV remote control didn't work.
There is no restaurant or bar at this property, so if you are in town for business it would not make a good choice.
Sadly, nothing special. I'm not sure if I will be back or not

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SammyBaby22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela G, Manager at Hampton Inn Detroit / Utica - Shelby Township, responded to this review, 7 October 2011
Thank you for your feedback. I will be sure to follow-up with the correct departments to see that these issues are attended to. We are a two-year award winning hotel and the newest hotel in the area. We pride ourselves on our guest services and cleanliness. We do cater to business travelers and therefore, have a noise policy in place to maintain a nice, quiet environment for our guests. Sorry I do not have more of a solution to your problem, as we do strive to maintain a quiet property for business travel convenience. Even though we do not have a restuarant/bar on-site, we are more than happy to direct you or shuttle you to nearby restuarants and bars that will offer discounts for staying at our Hampton Inn. I hope that you will stay with us again during your next visit to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shelby Township
5.0 km away
Hyatt Place Detroit / Utica
5.2 km away
Comfort Inn Utica
Comfort Inn Utica
#3 of 7 in Utica
206 reviews
4.7 km away
Staybridge Suites Detroit-Utica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Detroit Utica
4.7 km away
Courtyard Detroit Utica
4.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Detroit-Utica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Detroit / Utica - Shelby Township? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Detroit / Utica - Shelby Township

Property: Hampton Inn Detroit / Utica - Shelby Township
Address: 51620 Shelby Parkway, Shelby Township, MI 48315
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Shelby Township
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Shelby Township
Price range (per night): RM488 - RM788
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Detroit / Utica - Shelby Township 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampton Inn-Detroit-Utica/Shelby Township with Complimentary Shuttle Service, free hot breakfast, business center, fitness center and pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Detroit / Utica - Shelby Township reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Detroit / Utica - Shelby Township Hotel Shelby Township

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing