We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good despite constuction”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Detroit Marriott Southfield
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Southfield
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 10 November 2017

This is a nice hotel. Unlike some of the other reviewers, I appreciated that there was no carpet in the room - it's cleaner and I'm not so worried what previous guests might have left behind on the floor. The staff were friendly and accommodating

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Bindy5London_Ontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (331)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 331 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2017

This Marriott is a pretty standard business hotel adjacent to highway and nestled in between a lot of corporations. The lobby, ground floor and restaurants have been renovated and look modern.

Room renovations are mostly complete, so is the 6th floor lounge. Room renovations are modern, minimilistic. A fresh look compared to older decor rooms. The floors are laminate wood. I am not a fan of this floor. I would have preferred a nice carpet.

The bathroom is redone. Very large illuminated mirror.

The 6th floor concierge lounge is complete, has complimentary water, beverages. I only visited for breakfast and it was a decent continental breakfast with fresh fruit, real scrambled eggs (not from powder) and good coffee. There is a server at all times which was friendly. Large corner windows with views. Medium Sized, but plenty of seating.

Platinum welcome gift of 500 points. The lobby restaurant has happy hour M-Th, 5-7pm. Overall a good stay, comfortable.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ORD-TGU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2017

Couldn't get in to Troy Marriott so stayed in Southfield and commuted. Staff were pleasant and in-hotel restaurant OK for a night's stay, but rooms tired at best. Blue collar transient population and rooms reflect that tired (over-priced) status. Nice people but I suspect the Detroit auto downturn has made a casualty of this property. Toilet dirty with feces when I checked-in. Disappointing.

Room Tip: end of hall or high floor maybe. Cleanliness an issues for me on any floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JazzScuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew F, Director of Operations at Detroit Marriott Southfield, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

Good evening JazzScuba,

Thank you very much for your recent stay with us at the Marriott Southfield. As you may have noticed, we are in the process of a complete room renovation. Once completed, we are confident that this will provide our guests, like you, the highly functional spaces and stylish décor you come to expect. We strive to provide our guests with an outstanding service experience. On behalf of the hotel, I would like to apologize for falling short of meeting your expectations. I have shared your feedback with our department heads, who will be addressing with their teams to prevent this from happening again. We do look forward to another opportunity to regain your confidence in us.

Sincerely,

Andrew D. Franks
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017

Avoid this hotel at all costs. The remodeled rooms make Motel 6 look like a Ritz. Vinyl floors, no drawers for your clothes, not even a towel rack to hang your 2 towels on. To top it off the manager is totally clueless on what the Marriott brand means. When I told him the brand represented a promise he told me told me that was wrong because he had some sort of MBA. In summary poor management, really poor front desk help and awful rooms.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank orders53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew F, Director of Operations at Detroit Marriott Southfield, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Dear Orders53,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your feedback regarding your stay with us here at the Marriott Southfield. We greatly value the feedback of our guests such as yourself, as this helps us evolve and grow, and to learn from our mistakes. We pride ourselves in excellent guest service, recognizing the burden of expectation inherent in the Marriott and strive to meet, and indeed exceed, expectations. While we have been largely successful in these efforts, we fell short in your case, and for this on behalf of the leadership team, I sincerely apologize.

We are disappointed to hear that the décor of our renovated rooms did not meet your expectations. Further, as I'm sure you can imagine, all Marriott Southfield associates are expected to be friendly, helpful, and, above all else, courteous to all of our guests who are kind enough to grant us their business. With competition being what it is, we realize that service is one of the few elements that differentiate one hotel from another. Our associates are best known for going "above and beyond" to assist our guests, and we regularly hear from people who are impressed with the attitudes and actions of our personnel.. We are truly sorry that your experience was not indicative of the considerate and professional service that we strive to provide.

All in all, it is obvious that we have not scored a very "high grade" with you in regard to this situation, and we know that your confidence in our ability to serve you has been shaken. Please forgive us for offering less customer service than you deserve and allow us another opportunity to provide more than you expect. We look forward to another opportunity to regain your confidence in us.

Sincerely,

Andrew Franks
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

i would be lying if i said the room wasn't nice. If you wake up and go to your car and find ALL 4 TIRES missing that's a different story. Nightmare to a traveler. No thank you Marriott and you say you have Security!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jackiebester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew F, Director of Operations at Detroit Marriott Southfield, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Dear Jackiebester,

First and foremost, thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Marriott Southfield. We are delighted that you found our rooms to meet your expectations. We have staff on property, 24 hours a day who are committed to ensuring the safety and security of our guests. Please feel free to contact me personally to discuss the matter.

Sincerely,

Andrew Franks
Director of Operations
afranks@marriottsouthfield.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southfield hotels
0.1 km away
Courtyard Detroit Southfield
Courtyard Detroit Southfield
#4 of 20 in Southfield
255 reviews
2.8 km away
The Westin Southfield Detroit
2 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit-Southfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
Comfort Suites Southfield
Comfort Suites Southfield
#2 of 20 in Southfield
301 reviews
0.7 km away
Best Western Premier Detroit Southfield Hotel
2.1 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Southfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Detroit Marriott Southfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Detroit Marriott Southfield

Address: 27033 Northwestern Hwy, Southfield, MI 48033-6235
Region: United States > Michigan > Southfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Southfield
Price Range: RM392 - RM946 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Detroit Marriott Southfield 3.5*
Number of rooms: 225
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Detroit Marriott Southfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Detroit Marriott Southfield Hotel Southfield
Marriott Southfield
Southfield Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing