We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (356)
Filter reviews
356 results
Traveller rating
67
126
96
46
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
67
126
96
46
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the concierge lounge front desk stayed at the marriott rooms are clean and comfortable full service indoor pool breakfast buffet room service hotel restaurant decent hotel lobby area king room business trip detroit barbara units highway
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 356 reviews
Reviewed 8 November 2017

This Marriott is a pretty standard business hotel adjacent to highway and nestled in between a lot of corporations. The lobby, ground floor and restaurants have been renovated and look modern.

Room renovations are mostly complete, so is the 6th floor lounge. Room renovations are modern, minimilistic. A fresh look compared to older decor rooms. The floors are laminate wood. I am not a fan of this floor. I would have preferred a nice carpet.

The bathroom is redone. Very large illuminated mirror.

The 6th floor concierge lounge is complete, has complimentary water, beverages. I only visited for breakfast and it was a decent continental breakfast with fresh fruit, real scrambled eggs (not from powder) and good coffee. There is a server at all times which was friendly. Large corner windows with views. Medium Sized, but plenty of seating.

Platinum welcome gift of 500 points. The lobby restaurant has happy hour M-Th, 5-7pm. Overall a good stay, comfortable.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ORD-TGU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2017

Couldn't get in to Troy Marriott so stayed in Southfield and commuted. Staff were pleasant and in-hotel restaurant OK for a night's stay, but rooms tired at best. Blue collar transient population and rooms reflect that tired (over-priced) status. Nice people but I suspect the Detroit auto downturn has made a casualty of this property. Toilet dirty with feces when I checked-in. Disappointing.

Room Tip: end of hall or high floor maybe. Cleanliness an issues for me on any floor.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JazzScuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew F, Director of Operations at Detroit Marriott Southfield, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

Good evening JazzScuba,

Thank you very much for your recent stay with us at the Marriott Southfield. As you may have noticed, we are in the process of a complete room renovation. Once completed, we are confident that this will provide our guests, like you, the highly functional spaces and stylish décor you come to expect. We strive to provide our guests with an outstanding service experience. On behalf of the hotel, I would like to apologize for falling short of meeting your expectations. I have shared your feedback with our department heads, who will be addressing with their teams to prevent this from happening again. We do look forward to another opportunity to regain your confidence in us.

Sincerely,

Andrew D. Franks
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017

Avoid this hotel at all costs. The remodeled rooms make Motel 6 look like a Ritz. Vinyl floors, no drawers for your clothes, not even a towel rack to hang your 2 towels on. To top it off the manager is totally clueless on what the Marriott brand means. When I told him the brand represented a promise he told me told me that was wrong because he had some sort of MBA. In summary poor management, really poor front desk help and awful rooms.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank orders53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew F, Director of Operations at Detroit Marriott Southfield, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Dear Orders53,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your feedback regarding your stay with us here at the Marriott Southfield. We greatly value the feedback of our guests such as yourself, as this helps us evolve and grow, and to learn from our mistakes. We pride ourselves in excellent guest service, recognizing the burden of expectation inherent in the Marriott and strive to meet, and indeed exceed, expectations. While we have been largely successful in these efforts, we fell short in your case, and for this on behalf of the leadership team, I sincerely apologize.

We are disappointed to hear that the décor of our renovated rooms did not meet your expectations. Further, as I'm sure you can imagine, all Marriott Southfield associates are expected to be friendly, helpful, and, above all else, courteous to all of our guests who are kind enough to grant us their business. With competition being what it is, we realize that service is one of the few elements that differentiate one hotel from another. Our associates are best known for going "above and beyond" to assist our guests, and we regularly hear from people who are impressed with the attitudes and actions of our personnel.. We are truly sorry that your experience was not indicative of the considerate and professional service that we strive to provide.

All in all, it is obvious that we have not scored a very "high grade" with you in regard to this situation, and we know that your confidence in our ability to serve you has been shaken. Please forgive us for offering less customer service than you deserve and allow us another opportunity to provide more than you expect. We look forward to another opportunity to regain your confidence in us.

Sincerely,

Andrew Franks
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

i would be lying if i said the room wasn't nice. If you wake up and go to your car and find ALL 4 TIRES missing that's a different story. Nightmare to a traveler. No thank you Marriott and you say you have Security!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jackiebester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew F, Director of Operations at Detroit Marriott Southfield, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Dear Jackiebester,

First and foremost, thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Marriott Southfield. We are delighted that you found our rooms to meet your expectations. We have staff on property, 24 hours a day who are committed to ensuring the safety and security of our guests. Please feel free to contact me personally to discuss the matter.

Sincerely,

Andrew Franks
Director of Operations
afranks@marriottsouthfield.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017 via mobile

This Southfield Marriott property is convenient and quiet. My 3rd floor room was worn. Hotel undergoing a major renovation, 4&5th floors were closed and under construction. Lobby, bar and restaurant are completed.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank RFk900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews