We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$72
US$59
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$129
US$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Howe Inn(Howe)(Great Value!)
US$110
US$99
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$56
US$54
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Van Buren Hotel(Shipshewana)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$90
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$98/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Farmstead Inn(Shipshewana)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$104
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (20)
Filter reviews
20 results
Traveller rating
3
3
2
0
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
3
3
2
0
12
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 20 reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2015

Do not use this hotel until they clean up their act and their rooms. Website does not reflect issues there. Based on a Saturday night stay under unusual conditions we had people staying there. Area hotel availability was at a premium but we found rooms here. Bugs in the sink and more than 5 condemned rooms (signs on doors.) Cannot recommend, period.

Room Tip: Pick one that isn't condemned?
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tej219, Manager at Country Hearth Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2015

Thank you for your review and we are sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. We are trying very hard to improve the standards at our hotel for the safety and satisfaction of all guests. We will continue to diligently work towards that goal. The signs are there in place only temporary for precaution only and there is no danger to any guests what so ever. We hope you will give us another chance in the near future to show you how much we have improved. Thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Checked in after a long days drive. Went to eat and gas up and when we entered the room we were immediately hit with a stale, moldy smell. There were flies in the room, but house flies and nats. We opened a drawer and found multiple roaches. The rancid looking carpeted floor was wet in spots, but not near the bathroom. Only near the beds.

It was about 10 pm and we packed up and went back to the office to get a new room. It was locked, dark and no one answered when we rang the bell. We left a note and the key explaining that we couldn't stay in that room and since we couldn't check on another room we went to another nearby hotel.

The owner still had the nerve to still charge us and even after multiple calls, they still refuse to give us a credit. We had to call our credit card company to dispute the charge.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Robert N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tej219, Manager at Country Hearth Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2015

Thank you for your review and we are sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. We are trying very hard to improve the standards at our hotel for the safety and satisfaction of all guests. We will continue to diligently work towards that goal. We hope you will give us another chance in the near future to show you how much we have improved. Thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

Well we got there and immediately could tell it was a joke. It just looked run down. After a long days work we got our rooms and went into our rooms to shower. Only to find mold in the shower and nails/screws sticking out of the tac strip in the carpet. Even trying to charge your phone was hectic. There was only one available outlet in the room which was in the bathroom. Then i found bugs on the bed and in the room. People staying around us looked very sketchy. Including people on the balcony above us drinking a forty ounce and blaring rap music. I wouldn't set foot in that place again.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Birchmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tej219, Manager at Country Hearth Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2015

Thank you for the review of your stay at our property. Since your stay at the hotel, we have updated the hotel policies so this does not happen again. Furthermore we have took the necessary steps to eliminate any pests or bugs in the guest rooms. We are sorry for the bad experience at our hotel and we hope you will give us another chance in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This was one of the dirtiest motels I've stayed in. It smelled musty and smoky. The window to the courtyard was broken and didn't lock. We asked for a different room when the first one reeked of smoke despite the clerks protest that it was non smoking. The room she sent us to had a bad lock on the door. The mattresses were stained and looked to be original to 1950. Pillows hard as rocks. Our clothes smelled for two days after. We dubbed it the original Bates Motel.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Liz D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tej219, Manager at Country Hearth Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2015

I want to thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel and I am disappointed to find that you did not have a pleasant stay at our hotel. We have since your last stay here, fixed all the issues you mentioned and have renovated the guest rooms with new furniture and bedding and linens to ensure that it does not happen again. We hope you will give us another chance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We booked our reservation here through Booking.com because it was a pet friendly hotel with a pool, free breakfast and spacious rooms. My BF was taking a class in the area and this would be a nice place, we thought, for me to spend the time while he was in class. When we got to the hotel, we noticed that the pool had no water in it, and we were told that they had no rooms available because of a water heater failure. We were never called or notified prior to arriving with our pets. The hotel clerk, Tejal, offered no apology but instead blamed it on Booking.com. REALLY??? She called around and did find us another pet friendly room in town, but it was more expensive truck stop-like motel with no pool, no breakfast and a room smaller than my bedroom at home. Extremely disappointed and unhappy. :(

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tej219, Manager at Country Hearth Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2015

Our sincerest apology for the mistake on our part. We have changed our listing with booking.com to not advertise a pool and have updated pet policy. We have also better trained all staff members so this does not happen again. I apologize for the bad experience at our hotel and we hope you will give us another chance in the near future. Thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews