We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The lowest rate in the area at the last minute...”
Review of Sierra Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sierra Motel
Ranked #20 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 August 2016

Nice but small for 2 couples... bathroom had a broken lock. Breakfast - coffee, juices, muffins... good. A/C, nice parking spaces, refrigerator (should have requested to have it turned on prior to our arrival), microwave... nice for one-night travelers.

Room Tip: Last minute plans with motorcycle bikers riding around Lake Michigan
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Aruba2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 123 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2016 via mobile

We travel to Traverse City for a long weekend every year in August along with a few short trips to visit with my aging grandmother. Needless to say, we have stayed in alot of hotels in the area. We will be staying at Sierra from now on. Great family owned and operated motel with the best prices in town. Rooms are clean, has a fridge and microwave, chairs in front of the room and has easy access to downtown and the beach. In the morning they offer muffins and coffee house quality coffee. This mother and son team are the friendliest people you will meet on your trip. In fact, we rode the motorcycle up in the rain and they offered a towel to dry the bike off the following morning. The love they have for their buisness is such that you won't find in a corporate chain and shows in everything they do and the presentation of the property. Thank you Sierra Motel for a great trip.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Benjamin815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2016 via mobile

The motel was a nice clean place to stay. Our room was a large room with 2 queen beds. It had a refrigerator and microwave. The owners and staff were very friendly. Had outdoor seating to enjoy outside from your room. Also in front of the motel. Sierra is also one level which was nice as well.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank lighthousechic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
constanza d, Owner at Sierra Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2016

Thank you, we hope to see you soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2016

Sierra is a very old time family owned place, but they are fanatical in their cleaning and make their guests comfortable. It was quiet when we were there; the shower head was a little rough as I couldn't get my head under it and had to lift it to use it, other than that no complaints.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank pifflongbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2016

We stayed here on our honeymoon and loved the people and place so much that we stayed here on our way back home.

The owners are friendly, accommodating and helpful. The rooms were clean and well kept. Loved having coffee in our room. The grounds and the outside of the motel are also well kept. We would recommend this place for anyone traveling to Traverse City and would like a reasonably priced place to stay.

Thanks again to the owners for their hospitality!

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Outallover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
0.4 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
3.8 km away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City
4.8 km away
Traverse Bay Inn
Traverse Bay Inn
#22 of 40 in Traverse City
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Best Western Plus Traverse City
Best Western Plus Traverse City
#2 of 40 in Traverse City
421 reviews
0.5 km away
Comfort Inn Traverse City
Comfort Inn Traverse City
#8 of 40 in Traverse City
389 reviews
2.8 km away
Hampton Inn Traverse City
Hampton Inn Traverse City
#10 of 40 in Traverse City
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sierra Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sierra Motel

Address: 230 Munson Ave, Traverse City, MI 49686-3039
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Price Range: RM296 - RM346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sierra Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing