We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,020)
Filter reviews
1,020 results
Traveller rating
563
274
103
48
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
563
274
103
48
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviews day club outdoor bar front desk within walking distance of downtown front street view of the water private beach cherry festival downtown area jennifer hunter bay wedding summer tc housekeeper michigan
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 1,020 reviews
Reviewed 5 October 2018 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for four days, three nights mid week. It was quintessential Holiday Inn: affordable, reasonably clean, modestly appointed, with friendly, courteous staff. We were lucky enough to negotiate a room with the usual partial view but with two floor to ceiling windows! Liked the kingsize bed but the mattress was nearly ready for retirement. The long firm sofa with a built-for-two footstool compensated for the mattress. We were one of the rooms assigned a 46” TV instead of the under 40” TVs we spotted in other rooms so we could watch TV from the sofa while looking out on Grand Traverse Bay. The closet door had been replaced with a shower curtain (no joke). The bathroom was tiny with counter space insufficient for toiletries for two adults. We discovered that hot water isn’t available between about 2 am - 6 am so don’t get the urge to really clean your hands in the middle of the night.

The most outstanding feature about this “resort” was the Thursday night jazz quartet featuring a fabulous woman saxophonist! They were so good we stayed for two full sets. They have a loyal following with very good taste.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank MCMatlock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
funandmemorable, Online Concierge at West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2018

Hello McMatlock, thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. We take all of our guests' candid comments to heart so we can always strive to provide exceptional service. We are delighted you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay including the affordability, friendly staff and beautiful bay views. We are sorry there were a few issues with cleanliness and the bathroom, and we are disappointed they were unsatisfactory. Please know we will pass this information forward to address these concerns. We are excited you enjoyed the resort's entertainment until the wee hours. Please feel free to give us a call directly to discuss any other questions or comments about your stay because we'd love to have the opportunity to welcome you back for a 5-star experience. -Bradley D.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2018

This is a great hotel - nice rooms, spacious parking, Jasmine at the front desk gave me directions around the hotel grounds, was really friendly, helped me find a quiet room, and really made the stay wonderful! Can't say enough about Jasmine - awesome.

Restaurant hotel has opportunity for better product and service. We ordered chips and salsa to munch on - it came 45 minutes later with potato chips and salsa. We asked where the tortilla chips were and the server said, "oh, we ran out". The bloody mary bar looked destroyed and dangerous - the server told us they set up in the morning and refill all day.

Norm the shuttle driver was very friendly and took us to restaurants down town and any where we wanted to go to see the city. Kudos to Norm and Jasmine!

Overall, this is a great location, rooms are really nice and comfortable, and I would definitely stay here again.

Mike S.

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
funandmemorable, Online Concierge at West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2018

Hello Mike, thanks so much for taking the time to leave us this great review! It will be a highlight to let Jasmine and Norm know they went over and above to provide you exceptional service. We are sorry about the chips and Bloody Mary bar. Issues like this are not the norm, and we really appreciate your letting us know. We truly hope you were able to find something else to fill your bellies from the menu. We are delighted you enjoyed the rest of your stay in our comfortable rooms, and we look forward to seeing you again soon. -Bradley D.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2018

We generally visit the West Bay Beach Hotel about every 3 months. The accommodations are very comfortable, and we enjoy the bar which is located lakeside as well as walks on the local beach. We also enjoy our breakfasts in the hotel and the wonderful service that we always receive from Jennifer.....

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobmcconnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
funandmemorable, Online Concierge at West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2018

Hello bobmcconnell, thank you so much for staying with us and for leaving us this great review! We really appreciate your loyalty to our hotel, and we are delighted you were pleased as usual. This is such a great time of year to be exploring the outdoors, and we are glad you were able to do so around the beautiful lake beaches. We look forward to seeing you again soon, and we'll be sure to mention to Jennifer that she was a super star. -Bradley D.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018

We've hosted a kick-off event for our major community event 3 years in a row now and each year the staff and Kimberly Weinrick are so easy to work with and very professional. They have great meeting and event space that is always clean and accessible.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Service
Thank saraejaved
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
funandmemorable, Online Concierge at West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2018

Hi sarajaved, thank you so much for staying with us and taking the time to leave us this nice review! We are delighted that your expectations were exceeded during your annual event. We look forward to letting Kimberly know she was an integral part of your great experience. We really appreciate your loyalty, and we look forward to seeing you again next year if not sooner! -Bradley D.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018

We arrived to our deluxe view room yesterday & to our surprise we ended up with a partial view of the bay with a large tree obstructing our view. A VERY dated room that is just OK, nothing special. I called down to the front desk letting the manager know that it was not what I expected & he said that this property had not full water views as stated on their web page.... I was extremely disappointed because, I wish we would have stayed at the Cherry Tree inn.

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank IcecreamgirlElsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi IcecreamgirlElsie,

Thank you for the review. I was concerned to see that you were not impressed with the view and condition of your room. Sorry if we do not have full water view rooms and for any other inconvenience you might have encountered. I understand your disappointment and this should not have been the case. I'll share your comments with our management team for improvements needed.

Again, thank you for the review and for staying with us. I hope that you would still consider staying with us again in the future.

Mike F.
Case Manager
IHGService

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews