We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Detroit-Utica
Nearby Hotels
Comfort Inn Utica(Utica)(Great Value!)
US$90
US$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Quinta Inn & Suites Detroit Utica(Utica)(Great Value!)
US$101
La Quinta
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$129
US$110
TownePlace Suites
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$50
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
US$118
US$113
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (101)
Filter reviews
101 results
Traveller rating
37
42
8
8
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
37
42
8
8
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdave and bustersnice hotelstayed one nightbusiness staybiscuits and gravystaff was friendlynice stayomeletbed was comfortableelevatorhallwayhighwaymicrowavefuneralcouch
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 101 reviews
Reviewed 20 November 2017

Stayed recently in a suite with family for a funeral. 5 of us stayed in a suite, using the pullout couch. Room was fine but a bit noisy due to it being by the elevator which is why I rated 4 rather than 5. Had to go down and get face towels one day since none were left, think maid/housekeeping got interrupted and forgot. Room had a fridge and coffee maker.

Room Tip: stay away from the elevator
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Detroit-Utica, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2017

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express Utica, MI.

We appreciate your business and look forward to your return.

Tom Keller, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017

Disappointing cannot possibly sum up my experience at this hotel. It is such a dump. Usually stay at the Hyatt but unfortunately it was booked. So many problems at this place, don't know where to start.

1. Three buckets in lobby collecting water even though it's not raining out. Ceiling is stained, chunks falling onto the floor.

2. Asked for room on side of hotel away from highway. Wanted a quiet room. Front desk clerk could not figure out which rooms were on highway side. Had to get the manager, together they assigned the room. Guess what? Was on side of hotel near highway.

3. Hallway carpet stained, filthy.

4. One elevator, four floors, slow process. Crud built up in corners. Tiles near elevator all cracked and broken.

5. Room had crumbs all over the dirty, warped laminate wood flooring. Chex on carpet from previous traveler.

6. Bathroom floor all sticky and smelly.

7. Mold in shower, both black and orange.

8. Maintenance was actually using a leave blower to blow debris from center traffic lane of parking lot onto parked cars. Really?

Many hotel options in the area. Book early so you don't have to stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sparta-nj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Detroit-Utica, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2017

Dear Sparta-n

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay. I am sorry that you were disappointed with our Hotel. We strive to provide the best accommodations and service for all of our guests. I will certainly have that room looked at, as well as get the corridor carpet cleaned.

We sure hope that you will consider staying with us again, and giving us another try to make it right.

T.Keller
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017

Nice hotel, very friendly staff! Light colored wood was refreshing and cheery! Slept great and good breakfast! Would definitely stay there again! They are redoing rooms, but we didn't experience any noise. Stayed there 4 days.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank skidoocarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Detroit-Utica, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2017

Thank you for taking the time to share your kind comments about your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express in Utica MI.

We appreciate your business, and look forward to your return.

T.Keller/General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2017

The room has new Wood floors, half inch opening under door allow all hallway noise to interrupt sleep. Other customers roamed the floors well past 1:00 am and you might as well have been standing next to them.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Detroit-Utica, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2017

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay. I am sorry that you were disappointed with the noise level of your room. I will share your comments with the Hotel ownership so that they have information that could make our hotels more soundproof in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again if your travels bring you to the area.

T. Keller/ General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2017

Renovations ongoing make it noisy and dusty.
The rooms are good. The bathroom is terrible. Tiny toilets not suitable for adult male use. Bring a donut.

Breakfast plentiful if quality of meat and fake egg omelettes are ignored.

Room Tip: Higher is better
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zeczeczec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Detroit-Utica, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2017

Hello zeczeczec,

Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. I am happy that our location worked for your travel needs. It is unfortunate that the on- going renovations and the food quality negatively affected your overall satisfaction. Please accept our sincerest apologies for any inconvenience these may have caused you. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. Rest assured, your comments will be used for review and actions will be taken accordingly to ensure similar incidents could be avoided.

Again, thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to show you how great our hotel is.

Best Regards,

John O
Case Manager
IHGService

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews